We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Gem”
Review of The Winter Dene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Winter Dene
Ranked #44 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our 3rd stay at the Winter Dean and we wouldn`t want to stay anywhere else in Bournemouth. Very welcoming, delightful rooms that are spotless clean and a great breakfast that sets you up for the day. Few minutes from the beach , just perfect. Deserves its 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldwellMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 114 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

My friend and I have just enjoyed our 4th visit to the Winter Dene. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bournemouth. There is a lovely atmosphere at this hotel which has very high standards throughout. The rooms are very spacious and charmingly furnished. The food is excellent with a good choice at breakfast. The sea front, gardens and shops are just a short walk away. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Been here a few times great hotel, very quite, all the rooms are good value, breakfast is just how it should be. Very friendly
But you are left alone to enjoy your stay. Only usually have bed and breakfast as there are plenty of places to eat out later.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the wonderful reviews and we were not disappointed. We booked on the HB 3 night offer £190pp (4 nights only £240 high season). Our double room on the first floor was huge with an extra single bed as well and 2 ensuite bathrooms. It overlooked the lovely, flower filled back garden. The old pine furniture and antique armchairs made a nice change from the uniform Ikea style of other places. Everywhere in the hotel is very clean and tidy.

Meals were delicious, gargantuan and beautifully cooked by Heather. Good quality, fresh ingredients are used. Renzo recommended some excellent wines by the bottle, which were very reasonably priced. This was much more relaxing than eating in noisy restaurants and pubs. Heather and Renzo are very welcoming and charming.

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the bus stop to the town centre and rail/bus stations (Route 2a and 2b) and 5 minutes walk to The Square where more buses leave for other destinations. We went to Poole, which is well worth a visit with its quaint streets and tiny pubs. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the beach which stretches for miles. Turn right and walk towards Alum Chine or left to Boscombe.

We look forward to returning to this lovely hotel. My husband wanted to stay an extra night......

Room Tip: There is no lift, so avoid the second floor if you have mobility problems. Although some reviewers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalcatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

John and Val Cheshire
First time in Bournemouth returned 2nd july after a 4 day break.We had a large well furnished first floor room overlooking the front garden and road. This hotel is a quiet haven in what can be a lively resort, very friendly ,clean ,good food and excellent wine at a reasonable cost.A lot of large hotels charge for parking its included here and very central with easy distance to the centre
Of Bournemouth.We choose it through this site and it worked!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great stay, very clean and comfortable room. Lovely breakfast. good position

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasgo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have had a few days at the Winter Dene, very clean, nicely cooked meals, and good choice for cooked breakfast. Not the friendliest of welcomes, no offer of help with luggage, but we were on the ground floor so ok. The room was large with kingsize bed, but whoever made the bed put the sheets the wrong way round, side to side instead of top to bottom! So the sheet and blankets only came half way up our arms! Had my suspicions that they weren't freshly laundered and certainly weren't "premium quality" as claimed. Wednesday the bed was changed and made correctly with sheets and blankets covering us correctly. I hate sheets and blankets. At dinner we weren't offered a drink or wine list, we had to ask, and we didn't see anyone else offered a wine list, though again as claimed Renzo has a comprehensive one. Overall disappointed and won't go again. Not in the best position either on a roundabout of 3 roads.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaParkerDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

We are sorry you were unhappy with your bed linen. Most of our rooms have duvets and had you told us you prefer a duvet it would have taken us five minutes to swap over. It is always a shame to hear somebody has been unhappy when it is too late to remedy things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winter Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $99 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated in 2016 by Visit Britain as 4 Star Guest Accommodation with Silver Award and Breakfast Award. An elegant Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc. All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Superior doubles and family rooms have king size or superkingsize beds. Large car park within hotel garden. Refrigerator for guest use and ice. Free WIFI. Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing