We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average accommodation worth what we paid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bonnington Beach Hotel
Ranked #114 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Booked last minute as we were attending a funeral nearby. Paid £35 which included parking. I actually booked the wrong night by mistake, but the staff were helpful enough to switch the booking without charging us the cancellation fee. Our room was clean with 3 lovely big windows and a bit of a sea view. The bathroom would have benefited from a wall mounted shower, but the water was hot. Breakfast was nice enough, nothing fancy but came quick and was all cooked well. Would have liked filter coffee, but for the price paid am not grumbling. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Bonnington Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 383 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Location - Perfect if you are going to a concert at the BIC, it's within walking distance. Lots of restaurants / bars within walking distance

Quality of hotel - Absolutely fine if you are looking for something 'cheap and cheerful'. Very clean

Staff - really friendly, welcoming and accommodating

Rooms - the rooms are fine, nothing special, but if you are just looking for a bed for the night, this will suit you just fine

For what we paid we were very impressed. Personally I would use this hotel again if I was going to another concert at the BIC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EventsBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed for two nights in this hotel. The room was minut with 4 single beds which meant that we couldn't even pass each other to get in and out but had to climb over the beds. We had a glitter ball? Cracked sink in the bathroom, no fixing for the shower head and you then had to run around the bath to try and catch the water to wash., curtains that didn't fit. All this luxury (not) for the price of £320 absolute rip off. On the plus the breakfast was okay and the sheets clean. We did though fair a bit better than some others in our party who had the most disgusting dirty room I have ever seen with ants, cobwebs, holes in the wall, sticky floor, no opening windows and a curtain that was too short.

Room Tip: There aren't any tips I could give
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WalesSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah b, Public Relations Manager at Bonnington Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello thank you for your review
When you arrived you brought with you what seemed like a brewery when you fell out of your minibus most of you were drunk all of you were abusive and compared to the rest of the groups we had in you were by far the worst.What we normally do is give best rooms to the nicest guests and the worst un refurbed rooms to the drunk rowdy and abusive guests.You fitted all three catagories which is why we put you in the worst rooms.The whole time you were here you were a knightmare losing face masks shouting being abusive and being sick.
I just kept telling the staff don't worry they will be gone on sunday and how relieved we were when your minibus turned up and you fell out of our door and on the bus back to Wales.It is a shame because everybody else had a great weekend apart from you guys.
Have a great wedding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night Easter Sunday as were attending a concert at the BIC.
Good point - close to the BIC so a quick walk and we were there.
Bad points - family room, poorly furnished and if I had my family with me would have returned home! Very uncomfortable double bed, stained carpet, poor condition furniture, overall dirty and grubby, poor wiring with two electric heaters. (no central heating)
Bathroom - dirty, no hot water, very small sink - unable to get kettle under the tap to fill for a much needed cuppa.
Bedroom window overlooking main road - this in itself was not a problem but the flat roof outside housed two large lights which illuminated the hotel signage. When I woke at 3.30am, it appeared to be mid morning due to the light outside.The room would definitely benefit from a black out blind!
We both woke having barely slept, did not bother with breakfast so unable to comment on the quality.
We paid £60.00 which is a lot for the room - definitely would not recommend to any friends.

Room Tip: Say no to A10!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALISON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah b, Public Relations Manager at Bonnington Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your review
we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay ,we are like wise sorry that you could not fill the kettle from your tap in the bathroom.It is a pity you never came down as we could have swopped your rooms about as the room you were in has a bunk bed in it and we could have swopped you to a double.The view I can do nothing about but we do take on board your comments and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Not sure if this is typical of B & B Hotels in Bournemouth or not. The room was small and very sparsely furnished and decorated. But it was clean. The strange thing was the disco glitter ball above the bed! Likewise the bathroom was ok except for the dripping shower which could have been a problem when trying to sleep. Towels were very small also and only one each.
The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful particularly regarding the parking which was a nightmare. A tip here is to book parking when booking the room and get there early.
A nice breakfast in relaxed surroundings was a most welcome to start the day. All in all a good hotel for an overnight stay, particularly for access to the BIC, which was why we were there., but I wouldn’t want to stay longer.

Room Tip: Get the room with the Disco Ball and train the single bed light on it for added fun................
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorbertSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

we stayed here on a budget girls night out. It was cheap, £25 each including breakfast but was unloved and a bit tired and basic cleanliness. Breakfast was ok but avoid the coffee. Staff fairly friendly but not smiley. Very limited parking, no lightshade in our Bedroom? Needs a makeover

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum2three2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had read reviews on here before visiting and feared the worst. However, for £38 a night we thought it represented good value. What is expected for £38 - for us a clean room and a comfortable bed, if we wanted more we'd expect to pay more and guess what - our room was clean and we slept well each night. The staff were friendly and helpful, there is car parking (we paid £5 per day) which is tight but cheaper than public car parks. The breakfast is freshly cooked and was very nice thankyou, wi-fi is free although we were not able to get access in our room (we were advised it was unlikely on check in). It is a short walk to both the seafront and pier and the town centre. Assuming we are visiting Bournemouth again we would certainly consider re-visiting. The one drawback was we noticed a strong smell of bleach or disinfectant each time we entered the room but it wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got room 14, although it overlooked the main road we were not disturbe...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedsfansontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 67 in Bournemouth
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#38 of 67 in Bournemouth
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#72 of 133 in Bournemouth
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#25 of 133 in Bournemouth
198 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#37 of 133 in Bournemouth
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnington Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnington Beach Hotel

Address: 44 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $41 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bonnington Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bonnington Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing