We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.... We would recommend to anyone... The most friendly and welcoming staff ever :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonnington Beach Hotel
Ranked #118 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic.... We would recommend to anyone... The most friendly and welcoming staff ever :)”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked a last minute stay at this hotel, we just wanted to get away from the January blues... Weren't expecting anything than a cheap and clean bed for the night.... We were a little unsure after reading some reviews especially as we are a lesbian couple and do still get negative welcomes... Well i need not have worried at all... We arrived and were welcomed by the very friendly manager, she said as it was quiet we could chose our room from 2... We picked one and went out for a wander after having another little chat with the manager. We got our bairings 5 minute walk to beach, 8 minute walk to town perfect location. When we got back to the hotel the manager said that she had upgraded us to their best room just because we were nice :) So we moved into a large room with all the mirrors 2 girls could wish for :) We then discussed the offer we saw to use a spa for £2.50 and the lady told us we could use the Marriot hotel facilities for 2 hours so off we went for some chill out time... When we got back the manager had put an extra heater in the room as it was -6 and a large room bless her.... We then went for a drink in the hotel bar and decided to go over the road for a fantastic Indian, what was even better was that our manager had rung across and told them we were coming so they had a table ready and we got 10% off the bill :) The hotel was clean, funky, minimal but very very good for a budget hotel... The breakfast was yummy with choice of cereals and full English with juices and tea or coffee.... And as for the attitude of the staff I would give 20 out of 10 :) Will definitely be back x

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    101
    65
    43
    82
See reviews for
46
114
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great location for a night out or walk on the beach, when like us you need a break from the city. Staff were friendly and helpful, 24 hour reception is very handy (especially when you need directions for pizza late at night!) rooms were clean but basic, had everything we needed though. A great stay, a great night. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aweekendaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

i have just come back from new year at the hotel. stayed with my bf as it was his bday new years eve and i cant fault the hotel or staff at all. perfect location to walk everywhere, clean facilities and extremley friendly staff. The manager and night receptionist were extrmely friendly and helpful. the breakfast staff and day reception was friendly too. i would recommend this hotel to every1 and will certainly be going back again soon, shame we couldnt stay the extra night. keep up the good work bonnington staff :) :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

After making a booking by phone, my girlfriend and I turned up only to be told there were no vacancies and that they wouldn't have taken a booking because they were full. This was after he did a double take of us when we turned up in person. Maybe he didn't like my beard or maybe because we are a mixed race couple. But he told us we didn't call him, so we did a redial on my mobile and suprise suprise HE ANSWERED!!!! DIRTY LYING ----------

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
25 Thank Huw A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We found this room on laterooms.com so last minute deal for a good price. Location is excellent - right by the sea. Rooms are very basic but pretty spacious.
The isn't a car park as such but they charge £5 to park your car in a space outside the hotel.
It doesn't look great from the outside and inside is a mix of wannabe modern and cheap tat. The staff aren't overly helpful and the breakfast is ridiculously basic!
That said you get what you pay for and for it's easy reach to the town

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMFCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan c, Owner at Bonnington Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your honest review,we are a clean budget hotel we do not pretend to be anything else
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We book this hotel for its location, which is about the only good thing to say about it. The booking was made in September and when we arrived on Wednesday for a two night stay we were greeted and told the hotel closed. When we offered the booking reference the chap behind the desk said "Oh you booked with Expedia" then he gave us a key. The hotel was full of students who were actually very well behaved and polite. Upon opening the room there we no tea and coffee making facilities, the shower fixing was broken so the shower could not be used properly and there was no curtain for the bathroom window which although was opaque glass still overlooked a busy road. We were also informed that there would be no breakfast either morning and to finish things off, this morning there was no hot water. I know you get what you pay for , however, these problems are basic things that can be fixed easily.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan c, Owner at Bonnington Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Hello mrs budget basic room which you booked without breakfast at a bargain rate and then tried to get us to give you and your husband a free breakfast.unfortunately for you we were on the ball and had eaten our weetabix that morning so very nicely asked you to pay just £4.00 for a full english breakfast with cereal,fruit juice ,toast ,tea or coffee,and yogurt.You declined as it wasnt free,so you went without.
When you book with us next time as you definately will as we pride ourselves on offering Bournemouths best budget cleanest accomodation please remember to book the breakfast not see that its busy and try and get a free one.
Thanks for you nice stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in July. It wasn't planned - we travelled from Brighton to Bournemouth for the day and ended up staying for two nights.

Upside:

Manager is great - let my boyfriend use his iphone charger and recommended some great pubs and places to eat;

Breakfast - two full English on two consecutive days, I felt spoilt;

Location - awesome.

Downside:

The rooms are very warm (but it was July);

The hotel is noisy (but it gives the place a buzz);

£50 for a midweek stay isn't a great deal (but it was so close to everything to make our stay more than worth it);

The chef was shouting at one of the waitresses because she was offering guests extra toast. Bit uncomfortable to witness.

All in all, I'd stay again, no questions. And the reviews stating that the staff creep in and out rooms - complete bull! Staff were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AmyJaneTun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#55 of 132 in Bournemouth
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#23 of 132 in Bournemouth
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#12 of 132 in Bournemouth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnington Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnington Beach Hotel

Property: Bonnington Beach Hotel
Address: 44 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bonnington Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bonnington Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing