We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Urban Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After a long day of meetings and many miles of driving I was greeted in the bar area and check in was extremely quick and easy. My bag was carried to my room which was great. The rooms are fantastic. Quirky with the most comfy bed in the world. I would never class this as a 3 star hotel at all.
After getting changed I went to find food and the service was great. Sometimes you can be shoved in a corner when you are on your own but the staff let me chose where to sit. The atmosphere in the bar was lively with lots of people obviously coming for the food.
I had fish and chips washed down with aglass of red and it was to die for.
Cocktails were fab!
The attention to detail was 10 out of 10. Lavender bath crystals, lovely toiletries, fluffy towels.
Breakfast fresh and piping hot with fantastic local produce.
Would go back without hesitation - well done urban beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamNorton1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    94
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
231
28
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have finally managed to stay for two nights at the hotel which was wonderful. Each time I stay, I can't wait to go back. The staff are great and go that extra mile to help, the rooms are quirky and comfortable and the breakfasts are fab!

There's nothing that I can fault and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Cant say I have ever stayed anywhere like this before, I wondered exactly what I had booked. HOWEVER I need not have been concerned, the welcome was warm and friendly I was shown to a great room on the first floor. Very nice it was too, a short run to the beach. I bet the place is packed out in the summer, but hey this is January even still there were a few regulars and hotel guests in the bar.

I ate in the bar downstairs and the food was very good, if I were being picky it might be a pound or two overpriced on the meals but that aside the service throughout was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. Wide range of choices for breakfast which is great, with meat cheese fruit and yoghurts to help yourself too. You often don't get that in hotels costing a lot more, will be back best in Bournemouth at this price range.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Urban Beach over New Years after having such a fabulous experience exactly a year before (apologies that I'm somewhat late in reviewing). The staff were as attentive as ever; from making the booking experience so quick and easy, to whipping up the perfect cocktails. A special mention needs to go out to the staff that worked through the evening shift on NYE (barely even standing room at the bar - it was THE place to be in Boscombe apparently) and returning the next day with huge smiles on their faces and such a welcoming persona. You guys are an inspiration :-)

The rooms are as sumptuous as ever. Last year we were room 11 (gosh, I loved that room. Sleigh bed, bubble bath, room hidden away at the top so you feel like you have you're own annexe - what's not to love?!). This year we were room 5 - gorgeous dark wood furniture and headboard, a massive space to make you feel at home, enough cushions to make you feel like a queen etc. You do feel like it's a home from home, and then some.

Food is gorgeous and the breakfasts are addictive, though 3 days of full breakfasts don't help the waistline (of course there's fruit and yoghurts etc but I only have myself to blame). We did book on a package so had dinner included on one evening and the meal didn't disappoint. The only quibble (and we could have very easily spoken up about it ourselves during our stay) was that we didn't get our glasses of prosecco on arrival. Of course, being the festive season, we certainly made up for that by staying at the bar and drinking hot buttered rum cocktails :-)

Do indulge yourself with a stay here if you can. Everyone deserves a little luxury. Thanks team Urban Beach, I'm sure we'll see you again x

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A colleague and I stayed at this outstanding hotel last week (Tuesday).
Due to availability we'd booked a double and a single but when checking in we were given two doubles for the same price - nice touch.

I stayed in Room 1 which was excellent - stylish decor, well equipped, neat shower room, quiet with a very comfortable bed.

We opted to stay for dinner rather than venture out and the decision turned out to be a good one. The food (clam chowder and sea bass) was super, the service relaxed but efficient, the ambiance vibrant and the wine (Domaine La Salette Gasgoyne) good value and well chilled (like the staff).

Breakfast was plentiful, well presented and the staff were again friendly, helpful and attentive. The local smoked mackerel was a real treat.

Negatives? The sink isn't the easiest for shaving (not very important)
Advice? Keep doing what you're doing!
Regret? Staying just one night!
Return? Definitely!

Room Tip: I've only stayed in Room 1 so can only recommend one room....but you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeItRight64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Where surfer and stylish city worker meet beautifully. Wonderful rooms, service, staff and food can't wait to go back! A return visit for my other half however my fist visit, it is all you could want for a few days away from normality. Cocktail menu is fab I wish I could have stayed long enough to try them all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here as a very last-minute thing, having been snowed out of a flight to Amsterdam for a birthday weekend. The people at the hotel were great, very welcoming and seem to be having a good time. Lovely decor and good linens. Food very good, both the dinner and breakfasts. It was winter, so we didn't see the outside bar packed as it would be in summer, but we plan to return in better weather.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor were quite warm - if you want that
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontheroad164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
2.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Beach Hotel

Property: The Urban Beach Hotel
Address: 23 Argyll Road, Bournemouth BH5 1EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Urban Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Beach Hotel is an award winning 12 bedroom boutique hotel located in Boscombe, Bournemouth, just five minutes walking distance to the beach and to our sister venue, The Urban Reef Restaurant. Open seven says a week, all year round, we also offer a modern bistro area, with both inside and outside seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Urban Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing