We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #102 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just had another lovely weekend at the Topaz - 21st to 23rd June and the hotel is still as accommodating as ever. Jamie and his team welcome you, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is still the best. My opionion is still "Why go anywhere else"?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Topaz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 257 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here whilst visiting our son in Poole. We had booked a double but on arrival were asked if we wanted the family room which we accepted. This was a good move as the spacious en suit room was both comfortable and nicely decorated. The room was cleaned daily and tea and coffee replenished.
Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of quality cereals and a choice of cooked breakfasts. The poached eggs and kippers were superb as was the full english. Jamie was attentive to our needs and pleasant to talk to but not obtrusive.

I would definitely stay again. Good location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have a lovely two night stay at the hotel. Jamie was most welcoming. Our room was a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Clean and pleasant. Very comfortable large bed. We went to Bournemouth for a concert at the BIC, most convenient for this. You can walk easily into town one of two ways, or can walk along to the top of Westcliff and go down in the cliff lift (you get your fare deducted off coffee/drinks in the Marriott! Jamie's breakfasts were wonderful and superbly organised with him personally attending to your every need. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rear is quieter, but street at the front not busy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Room was nicely decorated with comfortable bed. En suite was on the small side but perfectly adequate for our two night stay.
Jamie, the owner, was very helpful and friendly at all times.
Breakfast was very good with a number of choices available.
Good location for walking to the beach or into town where there are many restaurants and shops.
Free parking certainly a bonus and were able to leave the car there on the day of checkout for a few hours.
Overall a nice, friendly b&b in a good location, would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurajE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had a lovely 4 night break at The Topaz, the room had every thing you need and was done to a high standard, could have stayed longer. =) The breakfast was fantastic. Jamie was so welcoming and worked very hard.. would definitely stay again.. Thank You...

Room Tip: room 3 is at the front and is very bright and sunny
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey499476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a short break 8th May to 11th May. Our stay there was very comfortable and hospitable. Found Jamie to be a very warm and friendly proprietor, nothing was too much trouble! Breakfasts were good, the room was spacious comfortable and clean and we would stay at the Topaz again.

Room Tip: Good location for town centre, beach bars and resturants.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed for a long weekend at The Topaz from 26-29th April 2013. We found the hotel proprietor, Jamie, to be be very warm and friendly as soon as we arrived at the hotel and the car park situated at the rear was very handy.

The hotel was also nice and quiet, no load groups, and also positioned close to the town and beach - around a 15 minute walk.

The hotel and the room is of modern design and nicely decorated. We had plenty of room for storage and i thought leaving a wine glass out for my girlfriend after cleaning the room was a nice touch after seeing she had purchased a bottle.

The breakfast was both filling and complete, especially given the buffet style.
Overall, i would certainly recommend the Topaz to anyone visiting Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Play_Dal3Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#36 of 67 in Bournemouth
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#9 of 67 in Bournemouth
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#79 of 133 in Bournemouth
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#58 of 133 in Bournemouth
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#92 of 133 in Bournemouth
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $68 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing