We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bournemouth Stay”
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #101 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bournemouth Stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Topaz for two nights. First visit to Bournemouth and this part of England. Had a great trip to Monkey World. Room was nice and homely and the breakfast was great. Loads of choice and host Jamie made us very welcome. Wouldn't hesitate to go back and stay there again. Only slight problem is the narrow access to the car park but we were warned about this and there is nothing that can be done about it. Easier with smaller cars! Great relaxing break in nice surroundings and very good value for money!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieHiley, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your first visit to Bournemouth and trip to Monkey World.
We are in a great location with the Jurassic Coastline & New Forest National Park on our doorstep so there's so much more to see, not just the beautiful beaches.
Hopefully next time the weather will be a bit warmer and the sun will be shining.
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    56
    21
    5
    23
See reviews for
26
147
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first trip to bournmouth and we loved it. The topaz was the perfect place to stay it is close to shopping centre and lots of lovely places to eat. The bedroom we had was room 1 and it was lovely we were told before we arrived that the room was small and yes it was small but it was comfy and warm and had everything that we needed. The bed was huge and the shower was hot and the tea/coffee tray was loaded to keep us drinking all weekend! Breakfast was delicious and set us up for our journey home. Well done to the topaz and staff we had a great weekend. A place we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were there again 14th - 16th December for the third time this year. This hotel is lovely, the staff go out of their way to assist in any way that they can.

The breakfasts are the best with hot cooked English breaksfast, cereals, toast, fruit in fact everything you could think of. Tea and coffee in your room.

I have written reviews on this hotel time after time and could not fault it even after all these years staying at the Topaz.

I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a weekend break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in this B&B for a week.

Overall helpful owner.

I had a nice room with a double bed and a tiny en suite which was fine, even if it did take some getting used to.

Main complaints is that there was no sound proofing between the walls so you could easily hear the conversations in the next room and toilets.

The B&B is situated in a fairly rough part of Bournemouth full of Eastern Europeans. Police cars all over the area at night so be warned. Lots of sketchy types.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieHiley, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Sorry to hear that you found your room to be noisy, we do not take stag/hen parties or large groups as we believe everyone is entitled a peaceful night’s sleep. It’s unfortunate you could have not spoken to me during your visit especially when I saw you most days, we could have rectified any problems and left you to enjoy the rest of your stay. I showed you the room for your approval before you agreed to stay, yes the en-suite was small but this was why you had such an unbeatable room rate.

The Topaz is located on the West Cliff which is a main tourist area of Bournemouth with lots of other hotels and several international language schools. We are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre and the beaches which is one of the main reasons guests book the Topaz and return time and time again. The West Cliff is a safe area and certainly not a rough part of Bournemouth but like every large town and city in the UK at weekends there is more of a Police presence to keep the party goers in tow. After reading your other reviews this does seem to be reflected nearly every place you visit….. (perhaps you just feel a little bit vulnerable at night in large town).

For those looking for a quiet retreat in the country side then Bournemouth may not be for you but for those looking for a cosmopolitan town with miles of golden beaches, a variety of shops, restaurants and buzzing nightlife then you might just want to give us a try and see why we have some of the best reviews on this web site and others.

Thank you for taking the time to review the Topaz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at the Topaz in October 2012 for my Birthday weekend as we booked to see Alice Cooper at the BIC. The room was great very clean and nicely presented and according to my boyfriend the breakfast was good too as we are both vegetarians there was plenty we could have and the breakfast room was nicely presented too and only a 5 minute walk to the Bournemouth International Centre. Unfortunatley from day one i became very ill as i caught some gastro bug not due to the Hotel i must state just an unfortunate thing. The guys Jamie and Lee and staff who run the hotel where fantastic, nothing was to much trouble, constant fresh supplys of anything i needed plus they helped my partner to try and contact a Dr.We would deffinatley stay there again and i would recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplepirahna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights while visiting Bournemouth. Hotel was clean and stylish and our room was comfortable. What I really liked was the ideal location within easy walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel also has parking which is useful.
The breakfast was a fab cooked buffet and there was always a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and more toast! Great value for money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

5 of us stayed for two nights from 29th October, 3 adults and 2 children. We booked a family room and a double room that were adjacent and on the top floor. A few stairs to navigate but lovely clean rooms. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were well kept. The rooms were a bit cold the first day but we returned to our rooms after going down to the beach to find extra heaters which were a lovely touch.
The hotels location was perfect 5 mins walk to the town centre and 5 mins walk to the beach.
Jamie the owner was very helpful and friendly, giving us recommendations on where we could eat etc. Breakfast was lovely and freshly served. A really good choice, with hot toast and tea and coffee being served on request. Thanks Jamie we are already talking about returning 2013.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#90 of 132 in Bournemouth
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Balincourt
The Balincourt
#14 of 132 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#66 of 132 in Bournemouth
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#92 of 132 in Bournemouth
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#45 of 132 in Bournemouth
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Property: Topaz Hotel
Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing