We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in Bournemouth!!”
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #99 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in Bournemouth!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

5 of us stayed for two nights from 29th October, 3 adults and 2 children. We booked a family room and a double room that were adjacent and on the top floor. A few stairs to navigate but lovely clean rooms. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were well kept. The rooms were a bit cold the first day but we returned to our rooms after going down to the beach to find extra heaters which were a lovely touch.
The hotels location was perfect 5 mins walk to the town centre and 5 mins walk to the beach.
Jamie the owner was very helpful and friendly, giving us recommendations on where we could eat etc. Breakfast was lovely and freshly served. A really good choice, with hot toast and tea and coffee being served on request. Thanks Jamie we are already talking about returning 2013.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    56
    21
    5
    23
See reviews for
26
147
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great value for money Warm comfortable rooms Helpful welcoming staff. Stylishly decorated great location for beach shops nightlife. Stood out from the other hotels in the street.
Only one minus En- suite very small not alot of room to move around . Not sure about other rooms.
Breakfast was buffet style plenty of choice hot and tasty.
Would definate use again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel, really friendly, modern clean rooms. Breakfast was gorgeous, buffet style with quality food. Jamie the owner does his business proud, nothing is too much trouble. With free parking at the rear, you can forgive the tight entrance round the back. Thank you for a wonderful stay! Will definitely stay again when back in Bournemouth .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floozy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel, and it was just as excellent as our first stay. Jamie is a fantastic and friendly person who does a cracking job of making your stay a great one.
We had a different room to last time (room 5), and was not disappointed. The decor is clean and fresh, and the bed is one of the most comfy I have slept in.
We had a peek into room 6 ( I believe ) And loved the tropical decor on the wall, Hope to have that room sometime!
The breakfast as per usual was delicious.
This hotel is perfectly located for town ( 3-4 min walk downhill ) and also the BIC / Beach / Pavillion approx a 5 min walk away.
Will be returning here again next year

Room Tip: rooms 4 and 5 are both 1st floor at the rear of the building, So have no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked this hotel, based on positive reviews found on the internet.We found it to be very clean; comfortable and quiet. Plenty of tea/coffee etc in our room. Full English breakfast cooked to perfection. The hotel was within walking distance of two pubs that sell real ale. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiggles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Clean and friendly, great location for town, bargain. good choice of breakfast. Comfortable bed and car parking thrown in too.Would definitely stay again , thanks. Struggling write the 200 word minimum required for the review as I have nothing bad to say!!!!

Room Tip: Only a couple of robins have baths so you have to try and request those in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp1Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great little hotel and perfect for what we needed for exploring Dorset. There was only two of us but we were given a huge family room right up the top which was great, so much space! The bathroom was lovely, felt quite new and like we were in a much more expensive hotel than it actually was. It wasn't a massive bathroom but who needs a massive bathroom after all? Nothing to complain about at all, especially for how much we paid. I'd definitely recommend it :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Balincourt
The Balincourt
#13 of 132 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#66 of 132 in Bournemouth
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#92 of 132 in Bournemouth
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#45 of 132 in Bournemouth
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#91 of 132 in Bournemouth
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Property: Topaz Hotel
Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing