We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kensington Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$50
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Encore Bournemouth(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$75
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
14
33
30
15
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
33
30
15
50
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 142 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was on a coach holiday with my sister. We had a lovely large room at the front of the hotel.
Other people on the trip on the second floor said their rooms were quite small, which seemed a
shame as we all paid the same price for the holiday. Could not fault food and service. Would
stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floor are larger. We had a lovely large room at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My friend and i just spent 4 nights at the Kensington and had a lovely time. Our room was lovely, clean and light with plenty of space for all our clothes. The meals were excellent, and the staff were so happy and very friendly. The hotel is just a short walk from the town and beach, so for us it was ideal. Many thanks to Joan and her staff for making our stay very enjoyable,. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Semi-disabled, no ramp to entrance, no grab-rails in bathroom, thin duvet on bed. Shower unusuable, cubicle to small, no hot water or heating sometimes. English breakfast every morning, preferred continental-diabetic. Evening meal usual out of the freezer into the oven, no diabetic type meals available. On the plus side clean and well furnished, but the manageress was miserable, seldom if ever spoke to you, and very,very anti-social. Two staff could speak very little English, treated like dirt by the manageress time and time again. Wihtin walking distance of town centre if your fit and able, taxi's essential-and expensive too. Typical 1970's seaside hotel with no thought or consideration for the older less able person-but that's universal in England,

Room Tip: Ring tourist office for advice, ask for information about hotels, and disable access, Very, very helpful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The welcome was OK, the room smelt of damp; however it was from the bathroom (Carpet in the bathroom - not good as the vent wasn't working either) once I opened the window and bathroom door it soon cleared the smell.
The room was clean but a bit tired (in need of updating in some of the fittings & fixtures).
The Bed was a bit hard for my liking; that said most Hotel beds are to hard for me!!!!
Nice Bar with fair prices,
Breakfast was very good and the staff good.

Safe off road parking.

There is a 10 - 15 minute walk to and from the Town centre / seafront (Beach) down and back up a big hill!

I noted a odd set up as all the room keys are left at reception area on a board (Open to all) as there is no 'manned reception' and the manager is very busy and not always in or around her office or in sight of reception. (In theory anyone who knows the pass number to the front door or other guests could take your room key unseen and pop in and rob your room)!
Even though there was a few Stag Parties staying on different nights there was not to much noise on their return late night / early mornings.

Would we book here again - Yes it did the job.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was fifteen feet from the reception area, so easy to get to.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've been staying at the Kensington for one night. Large single room, fairly clean, carpet in the room. Large bathroom as well. Decent breakfast. I would be back because this hotel is fair good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oresteilgrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews