We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY HERE WITHOUT A CAR FOR A BOURNEMOUTH BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“DONT STAY HERE WITHOUT A CAR FOR A BOURNEMOUTH BREAK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

just come back from a 2 day stay here. Decided against taking the car to keep the cost down, reading on the hotel description its close to the beaches. OMG how wrong were they. we arrived at the train station and asked for walking directions to the hotel only to be told its impossible to walk there. took a cab to a business park where the hotel is situated. £14. checked in then decided to walk to the beach as its 'close'. myself and 15 year old son then walked following directions for 3/4 of an hour. after this we got puzzled and a newsagent confirmed we hadnt gone wrong in directions but it would take another 3/4 of an hour. i dont consider an hour and a half tidy walk to be close to any beaches. there were buses we found out opposite the hotel at the hospital which cost £4 return for 2 to bournemouth and took half an hour. taxis cost on average £10 - £14 each way to get into the town. The rooms are average travelodge quality. internet worked fine, no ipod dock which was advertised, tv channels bog standard terrestrial plus sky news and sport. vibrant decor was a hard bed, a brown sofa, and an obligatory wooden desk and wardrobe. tea and coffee facilities were there. room overlooked a concrete ballustrade and window opened 4 inches at best which meant that due to the temperature throughout the hotel being roasting we had to use the a/c which was a shame. the room was a good size tho. the bathroom had 2 nasty soap dispensers making it feel very M1 service station rather than nice hotel. we had a dirty towel in the bathroom, and the finish was stained in places, peeling and shabby in others.

Breakfast involved a long line to a bog standard breakfast buffet, of cheap sausages, bacon, beans, mushrooms and eggs. bulk bought continental pastries, the toast and machine and cereal and juice. it was fine but nothing special.

Didnt use the leisure facilities as by the time we had made our way back from town they were shut.

to be honest i wouldnt come here again. its too far out and not enough going for it to merit the expense of travelling to and from the town. if i was the hotel and wanted to make things better i'd run a complimentary minibus to and from the town once an hour.

Room Tip: i'd upgrade. our room was like a travellodge quality. it was clean tho other than the towel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    579
    369
    152
    107
See reviews for
443
634
68
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is like other Village hotels that I have stayed in and offers the same high quality environment, leisure facilities and warm welcome. For the first time we upgraded to 'Upper Deck' which was lovely with a few extras including smellies that you can take home and Sky HD! The hotel is well situated for catching a bus into Bournemouth and is directly opposite the main hospital so is out of the main town and attractions so do not expect seaside views. Would stay again here and it is a good base for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We live near this hotel and often drink in the bar 'The Victory' so I cannot comment on the hotel but felt strongly that I should warn travellers of the rip-off in the bar! Unless people start complaining or stop drinking there, their prices will seemingly continue to rise. We actually walked out when we found out what they were charging for a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc - £29!! You can normally by a bottle of champagne for a similar price in other bars around here.Their cheapest bottle was £16 - still pricier than most other bars around here. My partner was also shocked to pay £5 for a pint of Peroni at the weekend.
I can't imagine how much it would cost for a small family to drink in there - even with the various offers they provide.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItchyFeetWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visiting friends and decided to stay the night so we holed up in the De Vere Village.
Extremely convenient for where our friends live. Initially it seemed a strange place to have a hotel It is in the middle of a business park and directly opposite the huge hospital and miles from the centre of Bournemouth. On reflection though, I guess these surroundings do generate business for what is, an upmarket Travelodge. The parking is plentiful and free, the Front Desk staff were extremely efficient and polite. We stayed in an "UpperDeck" room, which was well appointed, clean, had everything you needed and tried its best to be individual with the "V" branding everywhere which added a bit of quirkiness.
The facilities are good, an onsite Starbucks, a huge gym/spa (I didn't see the pool) a pub and a grill/coffee shop, none of which I had time to experience, apart from the grill/coffee shop for breakfast.

Breakfast was sad sort of affair and for the cost of providing it, the quality could really be upped, it was works canteen style. The service was pretty hopeless with a distinct lack of training for the waiting staff.

At £130 for B&B it was ok but not fab. Would I stay there again? In preference to a seaside B&B probably, and for convenience most likely. The place was inundated with young families which seemed strange to me, but given all the onsite facilities and the location, I guess its a good base for a family to start from to explore the surrounding area. If you get a good rate, its more than adequate.

Room Tip: if you can get a deal.....book the upper deck. The extras are a nice touch to what is otherwise a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed on a 2 night visit to Bournemouth and was very pleasantly surprised [particularly considering the great price we paid!]
Hotel was very clean, room was a great size and nicely furnished, and great staff really seemed like they couldn't do enough for you. We were very well looked after.
Didn't dine in the hotel, but Starbucks on site was a nice touch!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kategxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was such a shame as we booked through a Spa website but this hotel is no good for that at all. On arrival we were sent straight to the Spa, only to be told that as hotel guests staying the night we weren't eligible for dressing gowns and slippers (even though our confirmation showed this) and that we could get a towel instead from the leisure club reception. So we went back down and went off to use the sauna/pool for a bit. Then we had to go back out and upstairs in our damp towels to the Spa for our first treatment. Then as it was lunchtime you have to go back down to the public places for lunch so off to the pool changing rooms again to get dressed so we could eat. Then we checked in and went back for our second treatment, so hardly a relaxing easy going Spa experience so although the treatments were good I wouldn't recommend it for a Spa Day. Our stay included a three course dinner so we went in for that, the menu was limited but we were ok with that. I chose soup but realised after they served it I had no spoon so had to spend a few minutes trying to get one, no problem as soup was hot so I took my time as we were chatting. I was gobsmacked when half way through eating my main was put in front of me. He said he could keep it warm which wasn't ideal so he ended up taking my soup away so I could eat the main. My daughter wanted sauces but two members of staff and almost ten minutes later seemed a bit of a wait. Burger was horrible, chewy and gristly so we both left them. Then when we came to chose puddings there were four, two were ice cream, two contained nuts. We asked if the sticky toffee with nut sauce could come without sauce, it could he said, but the pudding had nuts in too. Gutted! So ice cream it was and that was cheap nasty ice cream so that got left as well. So disappointed, I stay in Bournemouth two or three times a year, and this doesn't compare to the likes of the Norfolk Royale which is also four star. Their food is fantastic, this wasn't even Wetherspoons standard. No shampoo or conditioner in the rooms, rooms only slightly better than a Travelodge. Wouldn't stay again unless they brought their prices in line with a Travelodge which is where they need to be if this is what they offer. Bitterly disappointed De Vere, two birthdays spoilt! One plus side, breakfast was good so at least we didn't starve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is perfectly fine if you are happy with a slightly upmarket Premier Inn /Travelodge experience at the company’s expense but if you want a holiday experience you might want to look for somewhere a bit closer to Bournemouth.
In particular, with respect to the website wording:-
“Where life’s a beach” – the beach (and life) is 3-4 miles away.
“You’ll love to be beside the seaside at Bournemouth Village” – you might if this were true but you might instead love to be beside the Hospital, Tesco 24 hour megastore and the rest of the business park.
“Learn to surf” – in the indoor pool maybe?
“Catch some rays” – admittedly the sun does occasionally shine on the outside tables which are in the car park.
“Dine al fresco in beachfront cafes” – just a short taxi ride away, £14 each way.
“When the sun goes down head for cocktails in the town’s vibrant nightspots” - just a short taxi ride away, £14 each way.
To sum up, nothing much wrong with this hotel if you are a business customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a clear view of the hospital rather than a concrete ballustrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_and_she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing