We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service, poor housekeeping”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very friendly staff all around the hotel. The restaurant provides good food for a fair price, convenient for a family of 4 with kids options and quick professional service. The rooms are pleasent with good sized bathrooms. Don´t expect any amenities though, not even a shower cap or an extra soap.
The housekeepng is poor. The bedlinen is not setup properly - all wavy, the towels aren´t ironed and although clean they look like they don´t even bother folding. The worst thing is dust on the wall above the bed. Could draw or write on the wall. These are main things to change if they want to keep the 4 star looks and prices. Breakfast good, food quality within expectations and plenty of staff to help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    677
    411
    169
    119
See reviews for
515
730
87
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I should point out I have used this hotel a year ago and it was lovely but my experience in may 2013 was the opposite.
My room was filthy-full of hairs. There were hairs on the bed, on the towels and loads on the floor. It was horrible. Also didnt have enough toilet roll and shower gel was empty (although I didnt need it anyway)
Room service was quick and staff pleasant. Had room service a foreign waitress in grill resturant didnt understand a word of english so I gave up.
The gym was great and the reason I went back... . Very well equipped.
Overall I wouldnt return due to staff in restaurant and the filthy room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ignore the bad reviews! stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend and we will be returning! we stayed in the Upper Deck room and it was very modern and up to date very impressed they are all on the 5th room so away from any noise or children if thats what your looking for. Plenty of things to do around the area beach about 10min drive to get there nice and conventent. i work at a 4star hotel myself so i was looking to see what all the bad reviews are about as it really is people being fussy! The only downside was the breakfast but as it is a buffet style id expect nothing less. the pool was big and quiet abit to cold for me but boyfriend said it was fine! stream room and sauna was nice a hot unfortunately the jucuzzi was out of order but this was no big deal. we ate at the bar/resurant which was nice but second night ate out at the harvester just down the road which is also lovely! Very friendly staff within the hotel very sad that my weekend was over will definately be coming back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent Just one night. Everything was Good and We really enjoyed the pool!!!
The following morning was a sunny Day so we left the hotel in a bit of a rush to hit the beach. I realized i had left my gilet in the room about 3 hours after checking out. I called and they said they would check and call back. They did and they also found my crocs. They were ver y helpful and ver y efficient. These little things make a hotel become one you want to come back!!!!! Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lali I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel a number of times and had some good and very poor experiences. On this occasion the room was not cleaned for two days. When complained they said they would investigate. Promised to adjust the bill but when I checked out someone was using the computer so they could not investigate for discount. Reception said they new nothing about discount as manager had not reported the problem. Restaurant service was non existing. Waited one hour for our dinner and when it turned up it was terrible, cold, gravy like water. Staff very nice. Bar extremely slow. Someone needs to look at system as it takes about 12 minutes to dispense and pay for a drink. Staff disappear half way through process? All the staff are very friendly. Obviously lacks good management. Will only go back when I see better reviews and they drop prices. John Coltman

Room Tip: Wait for reduction and go upper deck. Do not go upper deck at far end as fan is extremely noisy. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trelindahotel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw3
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with toddler, room hardly big enough to swing a cat....dirty, cheap rooms, overlooking car park with kids playing football at night. Can hear toilets flushing in rooms, lift didn't work for entire stay, had to take toddler through service lift. Restaurants girls were nice but that's it. This is basically a glorified pub with rooms. Don't bother.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou9685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The conference facilities at his hotel are just perfect, these people know what businesses need and good value too. I would recommend the restaurant but not keen on the pub on the ground floor, too noisy to do business. The location makes access easy with adequate parking. The room I had was a tad standard, nothing special but comfy and quiet. The staff could not be more accommodating - first class. We will use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstStrategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
895 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,033 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing