We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Party weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Party weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a year earlier when visiting Bournemouth to attend a wedding, we liked the modern feel of the hotel and its relaxed atmosphere. We decided to visit again on my wifes birthday for one of the hotel tribute nights, which was very good.

The location is a bit out of town, but there are buses in to Bournemouth and they're very frequent. The food is also good at the hotel and they have very good leisure and fitness equipment/facilities. Will definitely visit again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    359
    232
    94
    77
See reviews for
255
351
32
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On arrival, the hotel isn't in the best location as it is adjacent to bournemouth general hospital, however on arrival, a little wait to check in, but once met staff are very friendly made sure we knew everything that we needed to know, introduced us to the other staff behind the counter and made us feel like we were at home. Great! We stayed in room 300 which is a family room. Room is great and spacious. Nice and quiet with a comfy bed. We had a package for a room, massage, breakfast and one nights dinner. We had to exchange the dinner from the Verve grill as this wasnt open on a sunday evening, so we had to go to the Pub within the hotel. Our 3 course meal turned into a nightmare as although the pub seemed empty food just did not seem to be leaving the kitchen within an hour all we had seen was our starter which was simple food, infact the whole menu is simple. If you eat there be prepared for a LONG wait for food. But all in all not a bad stay. would have been a 5 star rating if the meal in the pub was quicker!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemstars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay in bournemouth every week, and myself and a colleague decided to try the Village as I'd recently spoken to their corporate team about moving from the premier inn at Westover Road (which is miles better than the village).

We had booked upper deck rooms. My tv didn't work and required a 10 minute wait plus 5 minutes of a member of staff fiddling to get it to work - and hey presto it didn't work in the morning.

The shower screen is fitted the wrong way so unless you've got long arms you have to get into the bath to turn the shower on.

Breakfast - waited 5 minutes before being shown to a table - despite staff looking directly at us. Dirty plate and knife - and the hardest croissant I've ever had.

In summary a poor hotel, out of town - I would recommend the Premier Inn Westover Road - better price, better rooms, better service, better food and better location

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel twice,first time was fine,we were pleased so decided to go back the following year.This visit in February we were not as pleased.We went into restaurant for a meal.We ordered our drinks which didn't arrive after 20minutes,asked a waitress to get our drinks and she never came back.Eventually after 30minutes we got our drinks,we hadn't even ordered food at this stage.The restaurant wasn't busy so couldnt understand why service was so bad.Ordered our food,starter was ok but the waitress brought us the wrong main courses.The dessert was horrible and I left it,there wasn't a great selection on the menu.Would not go back.My husband did bring it to the attention of the restaurant manager but a sorry and please come back was not enough for us.The only good thing about the meal was the beef on the mains.Service was the worst I've ever had.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Village Bournemouth has been around for a few years (7). They are located on the North of the town, so a little away from the action, but at 2 or 3 am on a Saturday morning that can be an advantage!

We booked an upgraded room for a 3 night stay (Upper Deck). The rooms are very good...new beds and re-decorated. Well worth the premium. We will not hesitate to return. Prior to the upgraded rooms being available, we would consider other hotels in Bournemouth. We will return.

Room Tip: Always ask for away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oilfieldtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I am not one to write reviews for places i've stayed in general, but i felt that after reading some of the rubbish reviews on here that i would actually partake and share my faultless experience at the De Vere Village Bournemouth.
In all honesty, the week before my stay i considered cancelling, as some of the reviews on here paint the picture that you are going to find some kind of hell hole with awful staff and poor facilities. However, i had paid for a special offer which meant i was unable to cancel, and i must say that for this i am really thankful.
The hotel is a ten minute or so drive from the town centre, and has excellent transport links as the hospital is nearby. Bonus if you don't have the funds for taxis.
We arrived Friday evening to find plenty of free parking, well maintained grounds, and a warm welcome at reception.
Our room was spacious, clean, decorated nicely, and had a hairdryer, iron & ironing board, and plenty of huge mirrors with excellent lighting for us ladies to preen ourselves.
That evening we ate in The Victory Pub-part of the hotel found in the foyer area. A lovely relaxed and well furnished setting, made even more enjoyable by the fact that there were special offers on the food menu, which meant my partner and i ate two main meals for a total of just over £7.00. We opted for the burgers which were well presented and tasted great. We then headed back to the room for a good nights sleep in our very comfortable bed.
Breakfast the next day was equally good - very efficient seating staff, coffee served straight away, full english buffet as well as a selection of fruits, cereal, yoghurts, pastries and juices. This was served in The Verve Bar and Grill Restaurant which is next to reception. Another beautifully furnished space with no lack of seating without being too overcrowded. Breakfast the next day was just as good - no complaints at all.
I did not use the fitness facilities during our stay, but my partner used the gym, pool, and steam room - he was more than satisfied with all of them.
All in all our stay was brilliant - if you read the complaints on here they are extremely petty - 'the chairs in the restaurant don't match'...'i didn't have a heated towel rail'...'a free breakfast for an accidental alarm call isn't good enough'....'the chairs in Starbucks had threads coming out of them'! Honestly, people really do love to complain about mundane things - all in the name of attempting to get something for nothing. I am an extremely fussy person when staying in hotels and i am hard pushed to find something to moan about after visiting the De Vere. Don't listen to all the whiners on here - find out for yourself and prepare to be pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lullylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Village Bournemouth & booked a spa package which included a 3 course meal in the evening followed by breakfast and 2 x 25 min spa treatments for me and my fella as my birthday treat!

No double rooms were avaiable when booking so we booked a family room which we were informed would include a double/king bed and a sofa bed. When we got to our room it was 2 single beds pushed together so we kept slipping in the middle! Very loud hotel, constantly woken up by noise from people walking by or noise from outside. Bed was comfy apart from the fact we kept falling through the middle!

Hotel reception were lovely but they only had one poor guy checking everybody in & he was run off of his feet but very lovely and helpful.

We pre-booked dinner reservations and was so glad we did. When we arrived for our 7.30 meal we didnt get seated till 7.45 and many people were turned away as they were already fully booked. It seemed bizarre to us as the resturant had loads of empty tables but the staff didnt seem to have a clue what was going on! There was a sign that told you to wait to be seated and at least 5 members of staff walked by us without a second glance! eventually we were told to take a seat & wait by for a table. As our package included dinner we chose from a set menu that looked good. Startes I had the mussels and they were divine! my partner had the terrine which was bland to say the least so we shared mine! main I had the chicken kiev and my partner he had the morrocan spiced vegtable cous-cous.. mine was drier than the sahara desert and his was a childs portion also dry as a bone so very dissapointing. Puds - I had the creme brule which was ok and he had the cheese board (paid extra) and that was pretty yummy but onyl had like 5 crackers so loads of left over cheese. all in all an ok experience. During our meal many other people complained about their meals & the service they had eceived. Sadly the staff in the resturant dont seem to know what they're doing, often going to the same tables or foggetting about a table.
Breakfast was also not an enjoyable experince. The cooked breakfast was luke warm at best (breakfast is served 8 - 10am we got there at 8.10am) the contintential section was just hard crossaints and some burnt toast :( very dissapointing.

The spa - the girls who work in the spa were lovely! so helpful informative and good at thier jobs. A complete credit to the hotel. I think they had a lot of booking in one day but they managed to make us feel welcome and relaxed. Quick note - always prebook!! they had no pother avaiable spaces when we were there & only got ours at 9am cos we pre-booked when we booked the hotel.

The pool was large and we couldnt wait to get in when we saw it. The young girl who worked on the pool reception was as much use as a chocolate teapot.. seemed customers were just a massive inconvience to her day! The pool it self was nice, perhaps a little cold consdering children were there too. The steam room & sauna were ok, pretty spacious. The jacuzzi was tiny! could barely fit 4 of us in there so you were cosey to say the least! the clorine was very strong in their too & we had to get out as our eyes were stinging.

The pub bar & grill was very enjoyable and has a nice relaxed atmosphere, didnt eat there just had a drink.

Upon check out the staff were again nice, a different guy again seemed massively overworked with just him on the desk to book everyone out.. there was a huge queue!

Overall I dont think we'd visit again, it just wasnt up to the mark and we left feling very dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,885 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.1 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#27 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields, Deansleigh Rd, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing