We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Kings Arms(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Chine Hotel(Bournemouth)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Langtry Manor Hotel(Bournemouth)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (2,512)
    Filter reviews
    2,512 results
    Traveler rating
    792
    856
    506
    208
    150
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    792
    856
    506
    208
    150
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsclub roomthe upper deckthe verveleisure facilitiessky tvhuge tvcoffee machineswimming poolleisure clubgreat facilitiesmodern hotelsteam roomchanging roomscomfy bedwould stay againshort staygood nights sleep
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,290 - 2,295 of 2,512 reviews
    Reviewed February 3, 2013

    Great stay - staff were very helpful after finding out the lift was not working. They fetched our bags for us and let us use the service lift. All staff were polite and helpful. Enjoyed the facilities - very relaxing.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mikelima48
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 31, 2013

    Stayed at this Hotel while visiting family recently. The booking was made using a debit card but when we checked in they would not accept the debit card and wanted a credit card, luckily we had one. The system was running really slow and it took us around 15 mins to get the key to the room and an aborted transaction as the system timed out. Finally got the key to our room on the 5th floor only to see that the elevator was out of service. It did say that we could use the service elevator but we are both fit and healthy so took the stairs. We were in one of the new upgraded rooms, so new that the room still had a strong smell of paint. Very nicely done but a couple of little gripes, firstly the paint smell, secondly the door lock didn't work and when I sat down at the desk the underneath was covered in dust from sanding woodwork or something and ended up all over my trousers and jumper. Not a problem just brushed off but annoying. The pillows were far too soft and the air con squeaked very loudly when on the lowest setting. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was extremely busy and took us some time to get seated. The mish mash of chairs at the tables in the restaurant really annoyed me to, the were no two chairs the same at any table, if this is by design the. It doesn't look very stylish. Room service finishes at 10pm which was a bit of a problem when we arrived on Saturday, we got to the hotel at 9.50pm but by the time we got to the room because of the check in delays it was 10.10pm and room service had finished, not great when we had been driving for almost 6 hrs. Didn't get to use the other facilities so can't comment on them. Elevator was out fixed by the time we checked out on Monday and the receptionist was more concerned with asking us to donate to their charity then checking if we were happy with our stay. Overall nice room, nice Hotel as with others in the chain but the strong paint smells and door not locking weren't great. For a Hotel room to be considered just that bit more special I would have expected a safe and a refrigerator, neither of which they had. Good drinks tray with Starbucks coffee and hot chocolate and biscotti biscuits let down again by the wooden stirrer instead of a spoon. Good 'pinchable' toiletries (this is how the hotel describes them) but the towels weren't great quality from a room that is trying to be just that bit better. The "extras" didn't justify the room price and I will probably stay at the Travelodge which is just around the corner next time.

    Room Tip: The newer rooms 'Upper Class' or whatever they are called are not worth the extra money, stick with a standard room they are just as good.
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank tinamorgan991
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 24, 2013

    I stay in Bournemouth every week on business and have done so for 4 months. My normal hotel was full (see my other reviews for Ferndown).

    This hotel is supposed to be 4*

    It definitely is not

    A few things:

    If you look on the Visit England Website it defines 1,2,3,4,& 5 star ratings and teh MINIMUM standards

    Heated towel rail? NO

    "Good selection of toiletries" - No unless you call a dispenser of soap screwed to the wall

    Flannel? no


    The worst parts are as follows:

    1) Very Dim lighting in the room

    2) Impossible to see the controls of the AirCon by the door

    3) FREEZING room - the heating is by a wall mounted heater with an impossible to find switch Room was so cold I had to get under the duvet fully clothed to wait for it to warm up. When I complained I was told that no one had ever complained about a cold room before!

    4) Electrics powered by room key so you can't see what you are doing when you go in until you put the kecard in the slot but you can't see the slot without the light on.

    5) Ordered room service, specifically asked for a pepper mill (plenty in restaurant) - No salt or pepper came. When I asked the waitress to bring one "Please may I have a pepper mill, and salt" - waitress's English was so bad she said "You want cup of tea?" 20 minutes later pepper & salt arrived (food eaten by then). Ordered 2 courses - one small fork & knife? Is this some economy measure on the washing up?

    6) Although room key wallet has name & room number written on it - reception insist on saying room number clearly to all around - not nice for a lone female traveller

    7) Similar in restaurant - room number spoken very loudly


    8)Linguine replaced by Spagetti - why?

    9) Bathroom panel delaminating

    10) If you put your keycard for the room near your mobile it wipes the card. Might have been helpful if they told you that before you go up 5 flights.

    The staff are really indifferent when anything is pointed out

    The breakfast is OK if you like help yourself. Eggs - choice of fried or fried.

    Room Tip: Who knows I'm sure they are all equally badly equipped in the bathrooms
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Womble422
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 23, 2013

    This is a nice hotel in a good location, not far away from the centre of Bournemouth and Poole Rooms are very clean. Dinner and a breakfast were nice too. We quite liked the spa and a swimming pool, although water could have been a bit warmer.
    We had some nice drinks at the bar.

    Room Tip: Higher floors are generally better
    • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Peter7777Southampton
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

    The De Vere Village Hotel in Bournemouth is a very good hotel and certainly somewhere I'd happily return next time I'm in the area. It has all the facilities you would want with a nice lively (but not overly so) bar which serves good bar food, a good restaurant for when you want a different dining experience than the bar can offer and again the food is very good, a Starbucks (I happen to like Starbucks, so this went down well with me), the gym is well supplied with all the machines you could want and the pool area with sauna, steam room and spa pool provides a good way to relax.

    All in all a good place to stay which provides everything you need to enjoy your stay however long it happens to be and in nice well maintained surroundings.

    • Stayed: November 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 1stephen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews