We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4* what a total joke” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“4* what a total joke”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stay in Bournemouth every week on business and have done so for 4 months. My normal hotel was full (see my other reviews for Ferndown).

This hotel is supposed to be 4*

It definitely is not

A few things:

If you look on the Visit England Website it defines 1,2,3,4,& 5 star ratings and teh MINIMUM standards

Heated towel rail? NO

"Good selection of toiletries" - No unless you call a dispenser of soap screwed to the wall

Flannel? no


The worst parts are as follows:

1) Very Dim lighting in the room

2) Impossible to see the controls of the AirCon by the door

3) FREEZING room - the heating is by a wall mounted heater with an impossible to find switch Room was so cold I had to get under the duvet fully clothed to wait for it to warm up. When I complained I was told that no one had ever complained about a cold room before!

4) Electrics powered by room key so you can't see what you are doing when you go in until you put the kecard in the slot but you can't see the slot without the light on.

5) Ordered room service, specifically asked for a pepper mill (plenty in restaurant) - No salt or pepper came. When I asked the waitress to bring one "Please may I have a pepper mill, and salt" - waitress's English was so bad she said "You want cup of tea?" 20 minutes later pepper & salt arrived (food eaten by then). Ordered 2 courses - one small fork & knife? Is this some economy measure on the washing up?

6) Although room key wallet has name & room number written on it - reception insist on saying room number clearly to all around - not nice for a lone female traveller

7) Similar in restaurant - room number spoken very loudly


8)Linguine replaced by Spagetti - why?

9) Bathroom panel delaminating

10) If you put your keycard for the room near your mobile it wipes the card. Might have been helpful if they told you that before you go up 5 flights.

The staff are really indifferent when anything is pointed out

The breakfast is OK if you like help yourself. Eggs - choice of fried or fried.

Room Tip: Who knows I'm sure they are all equally badly equipped in the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Womble422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    553
    349
    146
    101
See reviews for
413
602
63
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a good location, not far away from the centre of Bournemouth and Poole Rooms are very clean. Dinner and a breakfast were nice too. We quite liked the spa and a swimming pool, although water could have been a bit warmer.
We had some nice drinks at the bar.

Room Tip: Higher floors are generally better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter7777Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The De Vere Village Hotel in Bournemouth is a very good hotel and certainly somewhere I'd happily return next time I'm in the area. It has all the facilities you would want with a nice lively (but not overly so) bar which serves good bar food, a good restaurant for when you want a different dining experience than the bar can offer and again the food is very good, a Starbucks (I happen to like Starbucks, so this went down well with me), the gym is well supplied with all the machines you could want and the pool area with sauna, steam room and spa pool provides a good way to relax.

All in all a good place to stay which provides everything you need to enjoy your stay however long it happens to be and in nice well maintained surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Excellent welcome and briefing at check-in. On entering the room it was cold as the electric wall heater was not switched on at all - not the best of welcomes - but once switched on to the highest setting the room soon heated up. Large bedroom with sofa and table. Good large size mirror in front of desk with hairdryer in draw. Good wardrobe space with lots of hangers and ironing board and iron. Bed was comfortable but the reading light on one side did not work - replacement bulb needed? - but no form in the room to enable us to report this to housekeeping. Ensuite had a bath/shower with wall dispensers for soap, shower gel and shampoo .... not our favourite - and good sized bathsheets. No shower cap or tissues or room safe. Grouting in the shower area would benefit from a good spray of mould killer! Staff in the Victory Pub were really helpful and the food was good and very well presented. Room service was available. Breakfast was buffet style with a reasonable choice of juice, cereals (no muesli), fruit, cheese and cold meat. The hot option included a tasty selection of fried and scrambled eggs, sausages, black pudding, tomotoes, mushrooms, baked beans ..... The coffee was very good with a pot for each guest delivered to the table - no having to attract the attention of the mobile coffee server here! Just as we were about to leave the room to check-out the fire alarm sounded and it was good to see that all went to plan as guests were ushered out of the building and those who came directly from the pool were given space blankets - it was a false alarm. The key pad to exit the secure car park is a bit of a fiddle - had to put the code in a number of times to raise the barrier. For the price paid we got value for money. Do expect comfortable and not plush.

Room Tip: Corridors are fitted with automatic fire doors which remain open and so it's easy to take luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in Bournemouth for a three nights whilst visiting a friend in local hospital.The room was adequate and one receptionist very polite but out of her depth when receiving anything like a complaint..
The breakfast was so bad and cold that i sent it back and was sarcastically asked if I would be having breakfast for the rest of my stay…where do they get these staff.I think they have been sacked from the post office for being too rude!
I then decided to relax in the spa. I should have expected all was not well when i heard some regular gym members complaining about the filth in the toilet /shower area…NEVER have i seen such a disgraceful mess as this..toilets covered in crap, all 4 sinks full of hair from shaving, toilet paper strewn across the floor…I made my way to the pool area to be met by a group of sweaty overweights leaving the sauna ,dripping with sweat, and flopping straight into the pool, not even glancing at the shower sign.
When i pointed this out to the lifeguard, he smiled and shrugged his shoulders..needless to say, i found the rest of my stay little better and some of the same mess was still there the next morning…
FOR GODS SAKE ,WHOEVER IS SUPPOSED TO ME MANAGER, GET OFF YOUR BACKSIDE AND MANAGE….DISGRACEFUL!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnny248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the De Vere Bournemouth for 2 nights in between Christmas and New Year. The reception staff were very helpful and accommodated my request for a quiet room. Unfortunately the room was on the 5ft floor, normally this wouldn't be a problem but given the lift was broken, it was a bit of a chore clambering up the stairs a few times a day!

My room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was fine and the 3 course Sunday 'eat all you can' buffet for £12.95 in the restaurant was great value for money and very tasty. The Victory bar was OK but its not a very relaxing environment!

The gym is large and very well equipped. I didn't use the spa or swimming pool.

The hotel is situated about 2 miles out of the town centre, so bear this in mind if you want something very central.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelonmeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

A large group of us went for a xmas party at the end of November because it was cheaper and we had booked it a long time ago. The food generally was not as good as last year. At about a quarter to 11 the staff took away the table xmas light decorations, saying they had to be revamped overnight for the next party. Our tables looked a bit dark and dreary after that and it spoilt the evening a bit.

However it's a convenient spot with good parking and it's generally a nice and popular hotel. It has a nice bar area just outside the party room where people can sit if they want a break from the disco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing