We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable mid-range hotel”
Review of Liza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Liza Inn
Ranked #50 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Northamptonshire England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Acceptable mid-range hotel”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel recently. It is basically a mid-range hotel that was adequate for my needs, and there were no major issues or problems. The rooms were all very clean (including dining room, lounge & bar), and although a couple of bits needed sprucing up, the overall feeling was that this is probably one of the better mid-range hotels in Bournemouth and I would recommend it to others.

We were given a choice of rooms and choose one at the back as I thought the main road outside would be too noisy. In the end I did not here any traffic noise. The room we had (room 15) was small and had a very small bathroom. It was not particularly comfortable as it was difficult to sit upright on the bed with the angled roof in the way but it was adequate. The only issue I had is that the door did not shut properly and you had to make sure it was pulled to very hard so that you heard it click shut. I came back on the second morning to find I could get in without using my key as the maid had not closed the door firmly enough.

The food at breakfast was okay (not superb but not bad either) but I would have been bored with it after several days. I must comment on the waitress service as this was excellent. Even though every table was occupied, she swiftly moved around making sure that everyone was served quickly and was quick to ask if we needed more toast etc, and cleared the tables very fast. She puts to shame many younger waitresses who would not be able to keep up with her.

There were a few minor irritations (see below) but nothing major to spoil our stay.
1) There are a couple of bars within 100 yards where people stand outside drinking, and it was a bit too loud late at night. This calmed down before midnight.
2) There was a Hen part staying on the Saturday night. As hen party’s go, they were not too bad but they did spend 20 minutes chatting in the corridor in the early hours of the morning.
3) The main noise we got was from the people next door, who got up at 06:30 and ran water for the next 35 minutes while moving about on squeaky floor boards.
4) There was plenty of car parking but every time I came back, once I parked up I was then asked to move.

Overall, a reasonable mid-range hotel with no major issues. The hotel is slightly dated (but then so am I) but was perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: If you check in early, the owner gives you a choice of available rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudley-Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    77
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
49
72
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If booking a room through a booking website (rather than through the owners directly), its worth calling ahead to ensure the your booking is received and they are expecting your stay.
Unfortunately we did not stay here, however from the outside it looks clean and the owners are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ImWithSmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were due to be in Bournemouth for an evening engagement and decided to stay over rather than endure a tedious late night journey home. We simply needed somewhere to rest our heads for the night, fairly central to allow easy access to our engagement but in a quiet enough location to allow us to sleep.
Kings Langley Hotel fitted the bill perfectly. In West Cliff Road, it's just on the edge of the "promenade" area and so within easy reach of the beach, the International Centre and the town centre. It is also in a largely residential zone and so free from late-night revellers making their way between venues.
Enough of the selection criteria, then. What we actually found was a modest, unassuming hotel with a friendly, welcoming receptionist who showed us to a clean comfortable room which was light and well-aired with very comfortable beds (a small double and an additional single). The bathroom was indeed a shower-room (as others have commented) but was perfectly serviceable and suited us well enough. Breakfast proved to be freshly cooked (no solid slabs of "scrambled" eggs to hack into here), and a request for hot milk to accompany the coffee was speedily and willingly fulfilled.
Every member of staff including the manager, John, were relaxed and genuinely friendly in their attitude. There were open smiles that reached people's eyes and indeed eye contact seemed to show a genuine interest in their guests without a hint of boredom or defensiveness..
As said, our needs for an overnight bolthole were modest but were happily exceeded in a hotel that is itself modest but is also unpretentious and unfussy. We were happy with our stay and would be happy to repeat it in similar circumstances - and to recommend it to others. I have given Kings Langley 5 stars not for luxury, but for doing what it does do very well indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmc_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for the weekend for a convention, and the hotel is a perfect walk from the convention centre. The room was clean, and yes the bathroom was quite small, but no smaller than practical. Breakfast was lovely and cooked food would get to us very quickly (loved the scrambled eggs). I'll admit there was a very rowdy lot staying while we were, but they didn't interrupt our sleep as the place is remarkably well sound-proved between floors. John was very considerate and accommodating, and was very concerned to be sure that we weren't bothered by the other guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitharodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A group of us (average age 40) stayed at the Kings Langley this weekend and had an excellent stay. John and his staff couldn’t do enough for us from the moment we arrived. Yes the deco is ‘retro’ (adds to the experience I felt!) However the rooms were clean, bed very comfortable and a hot shower plus flat screen TV, great value for £38 per person. There was plenty of free parking for our cars something you often pay extra for in Bournemouth so a real plus. The location is literally 5 mins walk into the gardens/town so ideally located within the centre. Breakfast was just what you needed, full English and plenty of other options available, the waitress was also very friendly. Overall a great weekend and would definitely recommend/stay again. Thank you John!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harmey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay ar the kings Langley hotel. It's very Cosy a d the staff and boss are so friendly and lovely. Omg the breakfast was lush. Very friendly waitress. The beds were the most comfortabl bed I have ever slept in. The mattress was lush. We will defo b goin up to bournmouth again and certainly stayin at the kings Langley. Ooh we loved the massive mirror we all shared in bedroom :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyamya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the Kings Langley hotel in 5 nights in early April with my partner, while at a conference. I selected the Kings Langley based on Internet reviews and price, and wasn't disappointed.

While the rooms are a bit dated, they're very clean. Sure, the bathroom was small, but so is every other bathroom in England!!! For the amount we paid per night, I was impressed with what we got. I slept soundly. Breakfast was big and delicious, and the waitress was very friendly and kind. The owner, George, made sure we were comfortable, found us a power bar so we could use the kettle in-room, and waited with us for a cab. I felt like I could ask him anything I wanted to, and he'd have a friendly reply.

You can't beat the location. It was a 5 min walk to the Bournemouth International Centre and the Pier.

I'd recommend the Sunday roast dinner that's offered at the hotel. George cooks a lovely roast and my partner is still raving about the stilton cheese-broccoli soup!

Highly recommended to other budget travellers. I'd definitely stay again. Felt like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#19 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#65 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liza Inn

Property: Liza Inn
Address: 1 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5ES, England (Formerly Kings Langley Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Liza InnThe Liza Inn is a warm, friendly, family run hotel boasting a range of facilities to suit everyone.Families, couples, groups, conferences, contractors and business travellers are all welcome throughout the year.We are situated in the heart of Bournemouth, the West Cliff, so you only have a couple of minutes walk to your destination whether it is the town centre, the beach, the gardens, the theatre or the Bournemouth International Centre.All our bedrooms have en-suite facilities, central heating, colour satellite television, tea / coffee making facilities, hairdryers and ironing facilities. If you have your own computer we can provide free wireless Internet access. Parking your car will be no problem as there is one space per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Liza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing