We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unorganized”
Review of Liza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Liza Inn
Ranked #48 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unorganized”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If booking a room through a booking website (rather than through the owners directly), its worth calling ahead to ensure the your booking is received and they are expecting your stay.
Unfortunately we did not stay here, however from the outside it looks clean and the owners are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ImWithSmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    77
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
50
73
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were due to be in Bournemouth for an evening engagement and decided to stay over rather than endure a tedious late night journey home. We simply needed somewhere to rest our heads for the night, fairly central to allow easy access to our engagement but in a quiet enough location to allow us to sleep.
Kings Langley Hotel fitted the bill perfectly. In West Cliff Road, it's just on the edge of the "promenade" area and so within easy reach of the beach, the International Centre and the town centre. It is also in a largely residential zone and so free from late-night revellers making their way between venues.
Enough of the selection criteria, then. What we actually found was a modest, unassuming hotel with a friendly, welcoming receptionist who showed us to a clean comfortable room which was light and well-aired with very comfortable beds (a small double and an additional single). The bathroom was indeed a shower-room (as others have commented) but was perfectly serviceable and suited us well enough. Breakfast proved to be freshly cooked (no solid slabs of "scrambled" eggs to hack into here), and a request for hot milk to accompany the coffee was speedily and willingly fulfilled.
Every member of staff including the manager, John, were relaxed and genuinely friendly in their attitude. There were open smiles that reached people's eyes and indeed eye contact seemed to show a genuine interest in their guests without a hint of boredom or defensiveness..
As said, our needs for an overnight bolthole were modest but were happily exceeded in a hotel that is itself modest but is also unpretentious and unfussy. We were happy with our stay and would be happy to repeat it in similar circumstances - and to recommend it to others. I have given Kings Langley 5 stars not for luxury, but for doing what it does do very well indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmc_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for the weekend for a convention, and the hotel is a perfect walk from the convention centre. The room was clean, and yes the bathroom was quite small, but no smaller than practical. Breakfast was lovely and cooked food would get to us very quickly (loved the scrambled eggs). I'll admit there was a very rowdy lot staying while we were, but they didn't interrupt our sleep as the place is remarkably well sound-proved between floors. John was very considerate and accommodating, and was very concerned to be sure that we weren't bothered by the other guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitharodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A group of us (average age 40) stayed at the Kings Langley this weekend and had an excellent stay. John and his staff couldn’t do enough for us from the moment we arrived. Yes the deco is ‘retro’ (adds to the experience I felt!) However the rooms were clean, bed very comfortable and a hot shower plus flat screen TV, great value for £38 per person. There was plenty of free parking for our cars something you often pay extra for in Bournemouth so a real plus. The location is literally 5 mins walk into the gardens/town so ideally located within the centre. Breakfast was just what you needed, full English and plenty of other options available, the waitress was also very friendly. Overall a great weekend and would definitely recommend/stay again. Thank you John!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harmey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay ar the kings Langley hotel. It's very Cosy a d the staff and boss are so friendly and lovely. Omg the breakfast was lush. Very friendly waitress. The beds were the most comfortabl bed I have ever slept in. The mattress was lush. We will defo b goin up to bournmouth again and certainly stayin at the kings Langley. Ooh we loved the massive mirror we all shared in bedroom :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyamya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the Kings Langley hotel in 5 nights in early April with my partner, while at a conference. I selected the Kings Langley based on Internet reviews and price, and wasn't disappointed.

While the rooms are a bit dated, they're very clean. Sure, the bathroom was small, but so is every other bathroom in England!!! For the amount we paid per night, I was impressed with what we got. I slept soundly. Breakfast was big and delicious, and the waitress was very friendly and kind. The owner, George, made sure we were comfortable, found us a power bar so we could use the kettle in-room, and waited with us for a cab. I felt like I could ask him anything I wanted to, and he'd have a friendly reply.

You can't beat the location. It was a 5 min walk to the Bournemouth International Centre and the Pier.

I'd recommend the Sunday roast dinner that's offered at the hotel. George cooks a lovely roast and my partner is still raving about the stilton cheese-broccoli soup!

Highly recommended to other budget travellers. I'd definitely stay again. Felt like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcoast UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked to stay here for one night in March for a friends birthday weekend away. We had pre booked a room that sleeps 6.

We arrived at the hotel to find ample parking, although a lot of the spaces appeared to mean that other customers would end up parking behind and next to you and therefore blocking your car in.

On entry of the hotel there was a distinct smell of air freshener where the owner had tried to cover up the smell of the breakfast. On first expression as we entered the hallway looked dated, however we were greeted by a friendly lady who invited us to go and view our room before we unpacked etc and offered us extra keys.

Once we got to the room things very quickly went down hill. On entry to the room the first thing that hit me was the musty smell. The room was very dated, the furniture old and the room was not clean. The bathroom, was infact a small shower room, smaller than my parents cloak room, you could sit on the toilet and put your feet in the shower. The bed head boards were discoloured and looked dirty and there was a dirty glass left by the previous occupier with drink stains down the radiator. We werent expecting a five star room given what we had paid but we were expecting a nice clean room.

We went back down stairs to talk to the receptionist, we hadnt even mentioned what was wrong with the room just that we wanted to discuss it when the manager/owner (we didnt know this at the time) ran out of the office ranting and shouting that there was nothing wrong with the room and stated that he did not accept complaints as a rule. He then informed us that he had not checked the room but there would be nothing wrong with it and went and inspected the room coming back with the pint glass, claiming it was overlooked!!!

He then suggested that, for an appropriate additional sum, we could have the use of two other rooms although on learning what we had originally agreed to pay - £32 per head – he relented and said additional payment would not be required. We hesitated as the whole reason for making this booking was because we could all be together in one, large, shared room, however we did ask to see the rooms before making any commitment. Reluctantly he proceeded to lead the way but unfortunately, en route the ‘gentleman’ continued to be quite objectionable suggesting groups like ours cause trouble and misuse the rooms etc. The alternative rooms showed a marginal improvement on the first in that they appeared to be cleaner and brighter but of course, they were not the one room we had anticipated sharing.

We asked for some time to discuss the rooms as we had wanted to stay together however we were told we could not have this time and the manager stamped his feet and ranted at us that we had wasted his time.

He had made us feel so comfortable with his shouting, ranting and general attitude to us that we decided we would not stay at the hotel.

The manager was nothing but rude to us from the minute we went down stairs to inform him of our dissatisfaction with the room. I am sure he will be on here commenting as he does all of the poor reviews that he has received but this hotel is as the other poor reviews state, it is dirty, out dated, the manager is unfriendly and unwelcoming if you have an issue. We were nothing but polite to this guy and tried to resolve the situation. He comes across in some of his responses to his reviews as rude and this is what he was like to us in person.

Its a shame really as before our stay he was more than helpful on the telephone.

On its website its listed as being a friendly and welcoming hotel this was not our experience at all.

We are a nice group of girls who are well travelled and have experience of working with in customer service, the service we received here was poor and we sadly will not be able to recommend this place to anyone. The location of the hotel however is spot on!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnysea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewsar, Owner at Liza Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
My hotel decor might not be to all tastes but it is certainly not dirty. I agree that the chambermaid left a dirty glass by the door to take out when she cleaned and unfortunately forgot it but the rooms and their en-suite facilities are always spotless.

I tried to accommodate the guests by offering additional rooms at no additional cost but it soon became clear that nothing was going to be good enough.

As always there are two sides to every story and I just hope that those looking to book a break and browsing reviews will recognise that this review stands out among the wealth of positive and happy guests who have taken time to post reviews regarding their experiences.

John Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
936 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 132 in Bournemouth
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#64 of 132 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 132 in Bournemouth
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#53 of 132 in Bournemouth
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liza Inn

Property: Liza Inn
Address: 1 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5ES, England (Formerly Kings Langley Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Liza InnThe Liza Inn is a warm, friendly, family run hotel boasting a range of facilities to suit everyone.Families, couples, groups, conferences, contractors and business travellers are all welcome throughout the year.We are situated in the heart of Bournemouth, the West Cliff, so you only have a couple of minutes walk to your destination whether it is the town centre, the beach, the gardens, the theatre or the Bournemouth International Centre.All our bedrooms have en-suite facilities, central heating, colour satellite television, tea / coffee making facilities, hairdryers and ironing facilities. If you have your own computer we can provide free wireless Internet access. Parking your car will be no problem as there is one space per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Liza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing