We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISGUSTING, REVOLTING, SMELLY, DIRTY, OVERPRICED, THE PITS. AVOID THIS HOTEL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laguna Hotel
Ranked #123 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING, REVOLTING, SMELLY, DIRTY, OVERPRICED, THE PITS. AVOID THIS HOTEL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Went to the great Dorset Steam Fair yesterday as a spontaneous day out.
All hotels and B & B's were fully booked due to local events taking place.
This had the only vacancy at £80 a night for a double room so we took it.
Room 123 was the room number.
First impressions? It was very dark and late and we were completely exhausted from a long day so all seemed ok until we entered our room.

The smell was revolting
The carpet was absolutely completely and utterly DISGUSTING filthy dirty and by this I mean that the carpet around the edge of the bed was a much darker colour than that where you enter the room, I cannot stress how vulgar this was. I didn't take my shoes off apart from to get into the bed.
The peach coloured blanket on the bed had horrid Staines on it
1 bedside lamp didn't work
1 lamp looked like it had been punched in the shade
We slept with clean towels on our pillows to try and canceil the smell
Shower was a mixer tap and for love nor money we could not maintain any temperature other than boiling hot or stone cold and it was a small trickle
The bath moved away from the wall when you got into it to have a shower

There are tons of other reasons not to stay at this hotel but they would be choice reasons such as its extremely dated, nothing in the room fits or hangs properly etc but like I say they are choice issues, the bigger things stated above really are mega issues and I do sincerely hope that they are taken seriously. Please don't waste your money here.

We complained as soon as we got up this morning and yes in hinsight we should have said something last night but we truly were wrecked from the day I could barely keep my eyes open by this point.
We had a frosty response when putting our point across to reception this morning telling us that others love it!
Took lots of photos on my phone so will try and upload them as proof.

Please listen to us!! Xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haglog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    102
    78
    42
    109
See reviews for
70
155
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

just returned from Laguna where we all had a wonderful time The staff were helpful friendly and pleasant and the food was very good without having to wait too long to eat The rooms although dated and basic where comfortable and very clean The children aged 9,7, and 2 really enjoyed the heated pool and the 2 year old loved the little park The grounds were lovely to sit in and admired the colourful flowers The hotel is well situated very close to the shops and beach,
A short walk through the beautiful Bournemouth gardens brings you out at both!
We have used the hotel for a number of years and will continue to do so in the future There is also an entertainments room and a games room with table tennis and pool. Although the younger end may want night clubs (and there are a number of them) there is something for everyone at the Laguna and in Bournemouth as a whole very good value budget hotel

Room Tip: The self catering apartments are very good you can do a mix and order eve dinner at the hotel if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to the great Dorset Steam Fair yesterday as a spontaneous day out.
All hotels and B & B's were fully booked due to local events taking place.
This had the only vacancy at £80 a night for a double room so we took it.
Room 123 was the room number.
First impressions? It was very dark and late and we were completely exhausted from a long day so all seemed ok until we entered our room.

The smell was revolting
The carpet was absolutely completely and utterly DISGUSTING filthy dirty and by this I mean that the carpet around the edge of the bed was a much darker colour than that where you enter the room, I cannot stress how vulgar this was. I didn't take my shoes off apart from to get into the bed.
The peach coloured blanket on the bed had horrid Staines on it
1 bedside lamp didn't work
1 lamp looked like it had been punched in the shade
We slept with clean towels on our pillows to try and canceil the smell
Shower was a mixer tap and for love nor money we could not maintain any temperature other than boiling hot or stone cold and it was a small trickle
The bath moved away from the wall when you got into it to have a shower

There are tons of other reasons not to stay at this hotel but they would be choice reasons such as its extremely dated, nothing in the room fits or hangs properly etc but like I say they are choice issues, the bigger things stated above really are mega issues and I do sincerely hope that they are taken seriously. Please don't waste your money here.

We complained as soon as we got up this morning and yes in hinsight we should have said something last night but we truly were wrecked from the day I could barely keep my eyes open by this point.
We had a frosty response when putting our point across to reception this morning telling us that others love it!
Took lots of photos on my phone so will try and upload them as proof.

Please listen to us!! Xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haglog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

aylsford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

AS you walk in the reception the smell hits you an gets worse on the way to your room. the room well stinks. dirty floor and windows.bathroom very dirty an old. 40 yrs out of date.mould all over the bath and tiles.shower did not work.toilet seat broken. the bed was the worst ive ever stayed in.towel rail hanging off the wall.the noise from floorboards and banging doors all the time kept you awake.the swimming pool dirty mouldy.spa didn't work .or the sauna.parking a nightmare.very over priced.would NEVER GO AGAIN EVEN IF FREE

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Don't waste your money on this place. It's the worst place I've ever stayed in. Been forgotten since 1970... If you've seen " on the buses", you'll know what I mean! The decor is 40 years out of date. Creaking floors, paper thin walls. Awful food.. Evening meal is 3 choices very professionally typed (badly on tatty paper!) and left on the table at breakfast. I suppose if your older than 80 you could live with it, but younger than that then go find somewhere else to say.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessicasgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Me and my family often visit the seaside town of Bournemouth and always look for new hotels, but you just can't find anywhere as good as this hotel for families! The family room itself i personally find are great, as a family of five we always struggle to find a room that could squeeze us all in but there is no squeeze here! it was perfect for us, as it was spacious and the bathroom offered a bath and a shower which is unusual these days! Also, for a family like mine with active kids the swimming pool is a pull factor for us as we could come back from a nice day out and go for a swim, the fantastic thing about it is that in Britain we are not guaranteed the watcher the pool is indoors! The hotel offers great entertainment and you are guaranteed a laugh!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samual2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the Laguna to be well worth the journey. Parking was not a problem and the gentleman in reception very efficient and friendly. Our room (on the first floor) was a pleasant surprise being light, clean and airy with a pleasant view of the indoor pool and outside area. We only had breakfast which was more than adequate and served by a delightful waitress, Beatrice who is Spanish, speaks perfect english and worked extremely hard. Not only that she was a dream. In addition to the indoor pool there is a games room with pool table and table tennis. In addition there were a number of greenhouses which we wanted to investigate but unfortunately didn't have time. Maybe next time as we intend to return. Try it.

Room Tip: The room was allocated on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waldodw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#28 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ullswater Hotel
Ullswater Hotel
#49 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
#44 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#45 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hotel

Property: Laguna Hotel
Address: 6 Suffolk Road South, Bournemouth BH2 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Laguna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing