We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Balincourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Balincourt
Ranked #13 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Friendly, extremely well decorated hotel, lots of choice for breakfast. We had a massive room with a sofa which was perfect for relaxing after a day sightseeing. Excellent value for money with a bit of luxury.

Room Tip: We had room at front of house which was massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We work hard to make sure that guests have a good stay and it means a lot to us to get this sort of feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    29
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
141
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I made a brief two night vist to Bournemouth and slected the Balincourt. A very friendly reception with a beautiful comfortable room. All facilities were afforded us and the breakfast was top class. Thank you for making us welcome

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Balincourt.

We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the hotel for 3 days last week and could not have been more delighted with our choice. The main areas of the hotel are kept immaculately clean as was the room. Although the nights were cold the room was kept warm and cosy. The room had tea making facilities and a couple unexpected extras, a bottle of water for each guest and a few chocolates in a saucer beside the bed which we thought was a nice touch. Breakfast as other guest have commented is of an extremely high standard in terms of quality and presentation. It easy to see how this hotel has gained and continues to maintain its 5 stars. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in Bournemouth you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top Class Bournemouth B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavejG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and particularly the Balincourt breakfast!

Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice experience at The Balincourt from start to finish. The staff obviously work around the clock to make sure this establishment keeps its 5 star status and it shows!
The Balincourt is faultless and therefore the next time we visit Bournemouth, we will be staying here!!!!

Thankyou very much.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ianstagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Your comments are so lovely and are very much appreciated. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay devon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for a few days at the balincourt recently and cannot praise the hotel enough.The
size of room for the price and choice for breakfasts and evening meals was exceptional.
Also the service offered was first rate.
The location was perfect and prominent for all local restaurants

Room Tip: had a superior double for a good nights sleep on the side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amartinbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We're so please you enjoyed your stay.

Just one word of correction though, we're actually classed as guest accommodation not a hotel - but we like to think we're much better than a hotel!

Come back and see us again soon. You are guaranteed a warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We so enjoyed our six day stay at The Balincourt. We were very comfortable in our very tastefully decorated room with clean modern en-suite facilities, the beds were comfortable and the bed linen immaculate. We took advantage of the excellent breakfasts and were most agreeably surprised by the high standard of the very tasty and copious evening meals, we ate in five evenings out of six, the choice for all three courses was imaginative and varied.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent family hotel to family and friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Manager at The Balincourt, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for this. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your kind comments to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Balincourt for a week it was top quality, host's Nigel and Allison were prime host's, food was great, and if you or on a Gluten Free Diet this is the hotel for you.
would go there again if ever in Bournemouth

Room Tip: book room 4 its big and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissiehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivergrid, Manager at The Balincourt, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It's always good to get positive comments from guests. Thanks so much.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balincourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balincourt

Property: The Balincourt
Address: 58 Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balincourt 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balincourt Bournemouth Guest House offers luxury accommodation in one of Bournemouth's most beautiful Victorian houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Balincourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing