We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of The Balincourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Balincourt
Ranked #13 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a very pleasant three nights at this guest house which deserves it's 5 star status. Lovely airy room (no. 4 ) . Bed comfortable with nice quality bedding. Good selection teas, coffees etc lots little extras ; biscuits, chocolates , bottled water in room. En-suite also stocked with toiletries.
Breakfast very good choice which was well presented .
Definitely worth a return visit if in this part of country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaspray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your Tripadvisor review.

We travel quite a lot ourselves so we appreciate what makes a difference for our guests.

It's really good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will choose the Balincourt again should you return to the south coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    29
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
141
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Although we only stayed at the Balincourt for one night it was a fantastic stay. The room was perfect, really clean, with a wide variety of hot drinks provided.

Breakfast was delicious, again, a wide selection of food and hot and cold beverages available. The English breakfast was great!

A very welcoming hotel and great value for money. We will definitely stay here again.

Thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robof1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

It really does mean a huge amount to all at the Balincourt to get such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have visited the Balincourt each year for about 10 years now, the most recent stay being in May of this year. Every year the excellent standard is maintained in all areas. The rooms are very comfortable, and the breakfast is just lovely. We are always made very welcome. We had to change our booking at short notice, and Alison was very helpful with this.

We used to venture out for an evening meal, but now usually eat at the hotel. The food is traditional English cooking. A rarity these days (it is possible that they will be able to advertise it as speciality cooking the way things are going!) The food is very well cooked and a pleasure to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 874Helen_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Manager at The Balincourt, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for leaving your review.

We were interested in your comment about traditional English cooking. In these days of celebrity chefs it's so often overlooked that many people just like good home cooked meals.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from another break at the Balincourt. We have been there a number of times now and it is a wonderful place to stay and very conveniently located since we never take a car. A lovely 15 minutes’ walk through Boscombe gardens to the seafront, and an invigorating walk along the seafront to Bournemouth, or just 10 minutes on the bus to central Bournemouth and the beautiful gardens there. There are buses going in every direction from just across the road and loads more from central Bournemouth, just a few stops away. We love it and although we have stayed in numerous places in Bournemouth over the years, this one ticks so many boxes you just end up returning!

Alison and Nigel are the perfect hosts and the whole hotel is immaculate. The beds are comfortable and the shower we had was easy to use with a good flow of water. All the rooms are pristine and beautifully laid out. The hotel is always quiet and peaceful.

I am a Coeliac and require a gluten free diet and they have never slipped up once and made me ill with the food which is admirable when they are so busy and is much appreciated.

The breakfasts are beautifully cooked with an excellent choice including fresh fruit salad and lots of hot freshly cooked selections, much more than you could ever eat! You can have an evening meal which is also home cooked and very welcome after a busy day. Nigel will always accommodate you if you have to leave early to go to the theatre which is very helpful indeed.

I would never hesitate to return or recommend friends to go there. Long may it be around!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoeliacinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed the Coeliac meal that we provided and that you had such a good stay at the Balincourt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having had problems (noise related) in our original hotel I booked this B&B at 5am in the morning as an attempt to get some sleep! We had been booked in at another hotel for two nights as we were in Bournemouth to attend a wedding. Come 5am I was at the end of my tether and booked Balincourt. At 9am I was on the phone to The Balincourt asking when was the earliest I could check in. I spoke to a lovely lady who understood our situation and told us to come straight away. We were greeted on arrival and made to feel very welcome. The room was as clean as they come, with beautiful white crisp linen! Breakfast was excellent. I only wish we had stayed at The Balincourt for the whole of our stay in Bournemouth. Overall excellent, with very helpful staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Balincourt.

We do pride ourselves on providing a quiet and restful experience for our guests.

Do come and stay with us again soon. You will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked late and stayed in room 12, probably the runt of the litter. I was on my own but I could see the size of the room being a problem for a couple with luggage staying for a week or so. I also think the door lock needs attention, you could easily leave the door open. Still, it was a comfortable room.

Breakfasts were nice, toast was properly toasted and came in a rack.

Wifi was free, which was essential for me, and the signal was strong.

Location was good, a short walk to the cliff-top road and maybe 10-15 minutes to Bournemouth pier. It's on tthe A35 but set back from the road so there's almost no traffic noise apart from some boy racers at night (where in the UK don't you get boy racers at night?).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outsidehalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Manager at The Balincourt, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We're particularly glad you enjoyed the 'Balincourt Breakfast' and our free WiFi. Your comment about the door lock has been noted and acted upon. Once again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were greeted warmly by Alison and Nigel with coffee and biscuits in the comfortable lounge.
Our room was excellent and spotlessly clean. A large range of bathroom toiletries and an extensive coffee tray with lovely china. Even mint chocolates and bottled water, still and sparkling.
The bed really comfortable .
Breakfast was beautifully presented and a great selection.
While we stayed I became I'll and needed a doctor. Alison organised everything even taking me to the doctor twice and collecting medication the next day. It would have been very difficult without her. She was a god send and they are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: We had a back room which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, Manager at The Balincourt, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We hope you're feeling better and that you'll visit us again when you need some sea air!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balincourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balincourt

Property: The Balincourt
Address: 58 Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balincourt 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balincourt Bournemouth Guest House offers luxury accommodation in one of Bournemouth's most beautiful Victorian houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Balincourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing