We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
Ranked #43 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rossendale
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you want something different from the bland modern same large hotel this is ideal. The hotel is small full of character yet smart clean and fresh looking..The rooms are comfortable with plenty of tea coffee provided, along with fresh milk(in a fridge) ,rather than those tiny UHT cartons usually provided. The breakfast gave a good choice ,all freshly made to order, and I was pleased to find fresh natural yoghurt alongside the fruit ones, something rare in small Hotels.We had three evening meals there and these too were excellent, ,three courses, all fresh produce nicely presented, You need to order in the morning but this is understandable given the size of the hotel , The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the lift to the beach or the zig zag path down, and also about ten minutes walk from the town centre and Pier.Thanks to our hosts Andy and Kim for maing our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marietRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Your comments sum up perfectly what the Hotel is about - and how we try to run it.

Our breakfast is well documented,in many previous reviews, but we will continue to offer as much choice as we are able, and will continue to attain the high standards expected.

The fridges are a new addition following the refurbishment and are proving to be a popular addition.

We are very pleased that we were able to help make your holiday so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    55
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
106
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A lovely bed and breakfast located a block away from the seaside. Our room was very large, comfortable and clean. The hosts, Andy and Kim, were very accommodating, friendly and people pleasers. We accidentally left a rather large book behind, and Andy mailed it to us immediately (didn't even charge us for the postage)

We'll definitely stay there again on our next trip to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Win E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am pleased your book arrived safely and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bournemouth on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just returned from our third stay here and our first since the recent refurbishment, we were completely blown away by the fab new bathroom, plush new carpets and beautifully decorated room in neutral colours, my favourite.
Happy to report that apart from the decor nothing has changed, Kim and Andrew are ever the perfect hosts and still serving the best breakfast in Bournemouth
Will be back again later in the year when our mutt is once again allowed on the beach

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We were very aware of what our previous guests had liked, and tried to do our utmost to retain the same character within the rooms. Your 'seal of approval' is very gratifying that we have completed 'a job well done'
We still have 2 bathrooms left to finish, but these are scheduled in for the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you (and your 'mutt') back again, especially for breakfast. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

So glad we chose this hotel to stay in, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts Andy and Kim. Like other reviews this place will be even more a great place to stay once the refurbs have been done. This place in unique, no samey samey corridores and each room so individual. Breakfast was lovely and the smoked haddock was delicious. Would we stay here again?? YES.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minishep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The refurbishment began in earnest on Monday and we hope to offer an even more exciting experience than previously, We hope to retain the uniqueness you mentioned, and things like the breakfast and the welcome we offer, will also be as good as ever.

We look forward to welcoming you back when we re-open in time for Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at East Cliff Cottage over a weekend in November. We used it (and will use it again)as a base for a visiting our daughter who has just begun University.

Firstly, the location is brilliant. We could walk to our daughter's hall of residence in under 10 minutes, the beach in 5 minutes and the town centre in 15 minutes. So you can basically park up and not have to use your car again if so you wish.

We were made very welcome and felt at home straight away. Our room was a large family room (no.3) with a beautiful large bay window, comfy beds and a large roll-top bath within the spacious bathroom. Our room easily accomodated us and our 2 young sons. The hotel is packed full of original features and if you want something a bit different and full of character then look no further. It's obvious that the refurbishment is ongoing and the owners need residents/customers to keep supporting them as they move forward.

Finally, the breakfast.... it's made to order, piping hot and pretty much whatever you want is catered for. Both cold and hot options are covered. Nothing seems to be too much trouble - a good example being how our daughters would walk down and join us for breakfast each morning, even though they were not residents.

This will be our base going forward when we visit Bournemouth. In fact we are already considering booking for the air-show next year.. as well as visits in between.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattrblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

You can be rest assured that we WILL continue the refurbishment but we WILL retain all those original features which make the place so unusual and full of character.

There is nothing I cannot add to your comment on our breakfasts, other than to say we will continue serving them :-)

We do try to accommodate any request we can - and a extra 2 for breakfast is one of the easier ones for us to achieve.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting your daughter at Uni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but having seen the last, and in my opinion, very unfair review I felt I had to
We have stayed here before so that speaks for itself really.
Andrew and Kim are really lovely, nothing is too much trouble. Granted, some things do need updating (bathroom refurbishments planned in February 2014) but everything is in place for a pleasant stay. Our bathroom radiator wasn't working and during a cold November 2 night stay a warm bathroom is a must. We asked about the radiator on our way out to walk our dog on the beach (which really is a stones throw away) and were informed it wasn't working but on returning Andrew had put a portable heater in the bathroom and it was as warm as toast in there, Kim had also put a couple of faux fur throws on our beds too!
Great selection at breakfast along with a sausage for the dog. As well as the usual full English they also serve smoked haddock, great pot of tea with tea leaves and lovely, high quality jams and marmalade
If you are looking for a dog friendly B&B close to the beach with welcoming hosts who can't do enough for you (a complementary tea/coffee/hot chocolate with biscuits on arrival which is most welcome) in Bournemouth then this is the place to stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Honey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. We really do appreciate it.

As you point out, updates are needed and are in the process of being done. When we took over this Hotel a couple of years back, there was quite a list of 'changes' to be made. We had to prioritise these, and have got down the 'list' as quickly as time (and money) allowed.
The biggest step forward (in our opinion) being the complete overhaul of the plumbing system back in April this year. This now means that the central heating system will be able to cope with a radiator into each bathroom, which we will do as we refurbish each one.

Our breakfasts always attract great comments, and so we will continue to prepare them all fresh to order using the quality produce we currently use. The high quality jams and marmalades you mention are mainly home made.

We look forward to welcoming you back before the dogs are banished from the beach for the summer time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We knew we had made a mistake as soon as we arrived in the car park, the place looked dilapidated. We had to wait a short time whilst our room was made "ready". Once inside the room we had a look around as you do. OMG what a mess, there was wallpaper hanging off the wall, the kettle was full of rust, the toilet cistern was not secured to the wall and in general the place was in need of a thorough clean. We had no hot water but you could not use the shower as there was not even a shower screen. The freeview box was attached to the TV with 4 pieces of string !! Anything good to say about this place ? Yes, we were only there 1 night

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bill2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your response - it is a shame you couldn't have been so honest when you were here. When you leave and say 'we had a lovely stay, thanks' it makes a review like this even harder to bear.
You obviously decided from your arrival in the car park (on a dreary, rainy day in November when nothing is going to look at its best) that you wouldn't like anything about us and gave us no opportunity to change that view.

It is a great shame that you didn't mention the hot water issue, because by turning a tap 1 quarter of a turn on the system we could have sorted that problem in 10 seconds for you. Being eco conscious, we only circulate hot water to those rooms in use.

Check in is from 15.00, yet I recall you arrived at 13.45 demanding to be allowed in and get a complimentary welcome drink. Fortunately our housekeeper had got your room ready, but we do prefer to inspect all rooms personally. As you had arrived early we had not completed our pre-check in 'walk round', so I took a few moments to do this whilst you had your drink.

I am not saying this is the best of our 6 rooms, and I can confirm that we will be refurbishing it over this winter period, but I'll leave readers to decide if this is an indicative review of our hotel.
(or, alternatively, whether all the other reviews we have had since our plumbing overhaul in April are more accurate.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Grange
Tudor Grange
#54 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Cliff Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Cliff Cottage Hotel

Property: East Cliff Cottage Hotel
Address: 57 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Cliff Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Cliff Cottage Hotel is situated on the scenic East Cliff of Bournemouth just minutes from the beautiful beaches and vibrant town centre. Our combination of superior and standard rooms have been styled and characterised to provide you with every comfort possible with en-suite facilities complemented by hostess trays and flat screen TVs and wi-fi access. Our licensed restaurant offers quality home cooked food with an extensive menu to meet all tastes. The food is served by friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The bar is fully stocked with a selection of lagers, ales, spirits and minerals. Our regularly maintained garden is the perfect place to relax when the sun is out and can also be used for receptions, BBQs and family gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your East Cliff Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing