We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the chain hotels - an overnight stay here is better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
Ranked #45 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here when we were attending a wedding nearby. I have to say the choice of hotels in this area is bewildering. I specifically wanted a triple room with a decent sized bed for us and a sofa bed our daughter. Having stayed in the holiday inns and premier inns of this world I know that a triple room generally means you have to do an assault course to find any floor to stand on. Not so here. We had a palatial superior room with a super huge bed, a similarly generous sofabed and decent floor space left over. For those who don't like to hear the other residents, this place was as quiet as a church mouse and the breakfast was everything you could want. I hardly need to point out that this was the cheapest room I could find as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We do try to provide a more personal service than the 'chain hotels' and this is helped by the more than generous size of our Superior Rooms. Our beds (along with our breakfasts) are praised by many guests and we hope this continues into the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for East Cliff Cottage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 208 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night while visiting our son, who attends Bournemouth University. The host, Andrew, and his wife were most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was included and the quality and quantity of the food was very good! East Cliff Cottage is also extremely dog friendly (luckily for us!) and it's location is a short walk from the sea. I'd recommend this highly to all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lena123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

It is always pleasing to get a review which picks up on the points which set us apart from the other (larger) Hotels we share the area with. Our grateful thanks for the kind words. Breakfast will continue to offer the choice and quality you enjoyed on your first vist to us andour friendly welcome will always be here to greet you. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit your son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am a member of the Bournemouth School for Girls PSA and we went to the East Cliff Cottage hotel for our annual dinner. Andrew hosted the evening at his delightful hotel and we all thoroughly enjoyed a great evening. The choices for the 3 course meal were very good and the food itself was excellent. We were even entertained with card tricks by Alastair, the headmaster of BSG. All in all we had a super evening at Andrew's lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcfcfanBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you all to our Hotel. We appreciate the kind comments re. the menu and quality of food served. We look forward to you returning for your next event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night when the hotel was offering a valentine package - the room was very comfortable and food was good. For such a small hotel the number of options on the dinner menu was more than expected. The full English breakfast kept us going until early evening!

The owners have more plans for developing the hotel whilst keeping the character of the building - will be interesting to return at a later date.

A pleasant stay with the friendly owners. Good value for money. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your kind comments. We shall continue to endeavour to provide the high quality meals which you (and others) have praised us for. We look forward to welcoming you back and for you to inspect the progress we make in developing the Hotel. Hope to see you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel was a GREAT find!

Having done a lot of research, I chose this place to stay based on it's location in relation to the town centre and it's authentic cottage character. Perfect selection!

We were warmly welcomed out of the rain and into a lovely sitting room with fireplace and given hot drinks before being shown to our room.
The room its self was HUGE with a separate sitting area and lovely roll top bath. The owners kindly chilled our champagne for us, bringing it up to us in an ice bucket with champagne flutes.

The breakfast was incredible. Fantastic selection of starters, wonderful coffee and a great cooked breakfast with all the trimmings.

My boyfriend lovely this place, it made his 28th birthday. Don't stay anywhere else in Bournemouth!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha_Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Our grateful thanks for your extremely kind comments. We are pleased we were able to help make your bf's birthday weekend enjoyable. We frequently get good comments re. our breakfast so won't be changing them anytime soon. We will also continue to offer the personal service which you enjoyed so much. We look forward to celebrating his 29th with you both next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this lovely hotel just for the one night last night. We received a very warm welcome by very friendly owners. Our room was a great size and we slept peacefully and comfortably through the night. Breakfast was fantastic with good choice for both our tastes and was much enjoyed. All in all a very pleasant stay, lovely people and great value for money. Thankyou !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that our approach is appreciated by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived quite late saturday night, having not booked and having found the hotel on Last minute.com on my mobile, I'm not very good with mobiles so we decided to risk it & hope they still had a room!. We were greeted very warmly and offered the choice of two rooms, we opted for the superior as the room was huge and had a roll top bath, the whole building is gorgeous and a lot of original features remain, if your looking for modern this is not for you but if you like old & traditional this is definitely the place to stay, the bed was extremely comfortable, and one thing that was modern was the huge flat screen tv, there was tea, coffee & hot chocolate in the room, and the breakfast choice in the morning was exceptional. Will definitely recommend to friends and if looking to stay in Bournmouth again we will be back, but only if when upgrading the bath remains, as does the wood panneling. ( Swimming pool rating gave excellent as bath was the size of some pools).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We will continue to offer a friendly welcome and we have no plans to change the breakfast offering. And I promise that we will be retaining as many of the original features as we are able during any redecoration. The panelling will not be going anywhere. The lighting will be upgraded, and we hope to continue to add those 'luxury touches' to enhance your stay as and when we are able. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
Tudor Grange
Tudor Grange
#44 of 133 in Bournemouth
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#13 of 133 in Bournemouth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#16 of 133 in Bournemouth
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
#5 of 133 in Bournemouth
665 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#6 of 133 in Bournemouth
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Cliff Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Cliff Cottage Hotel

Address: 57 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $92 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Cliff Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Cliff Cottage Hotel is situated on the scenic East Cliff of Bournemouth just minutes from the beautiful beaches and vibrant town centre. Our combination of superior and standard rooms have been styled and characterised to provide you with every comfort possible with en-suite facilities complemented by hostess trays and flat screen TVs and wi-fi access. Our licensed restaurant offers quality home cooked food with an extensive menu to meet all tastes. The food is served by friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The bar is fully stocked with a selection of lagers, ales, spirits and minerals. Our regularly maintained garden is the perfect place to relax when the sun is out and can also be used for receptions, BBQs and family gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your East Cliff Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing