We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location & service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Meyrick Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Meyrick Park
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good location & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Me & my friend decided last minute to stay in bournemouth for one night. The lodge at Meyrick Park achieved everything we were looking for.

We booked this particular hotel/lodge for location, price & parking facilities. The lodge is only a 5-10 minute walk away from the town centre and about 15 minutes away from bournemouth beach & pier.

Upon arrival i was a little worried about parking facilities, as there is only about 6 parking spaces right outside the lodge. However, if you keep driving past the golf course grounds there is plenty of parking onsite, which i was really impressed with.

Check in to the lodge is between 16.00-21.00 hours & once we checked in reception staff were welcoming & were more than happy to answer any questions that we had.

We had booked a twin room for a one night stay & was really impressed with the size & cleanliness of the room. We also had tea & coffee facilities & a hairdryer provided. Also had plenty of windows in the room, so was able to open them due to the hot weather & that our room didn't have air conditioning.

Had a thoroughly good nights sleep at the lodge & enjoyed a nice breakfast the next morning, which you could pick from a menu with a choice of a full English or a lighter breakfast.

Once checked out, we were also able to leave the car at the car park onsite, as we were wanting spend the day out the beach.

Overall our room for the night cost £75 & paid £5 for breakfast, which i thought was very good. I will definitely be staying at the lodge meyrick park on my next visit to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    67
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
19
104
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is our second stay here, both times co-incidentally in room no.4 on the top floor of the lodge. The rooms would benefit from some modernisation really, the furniture is dated and slightly worn, and the mattresses are very soft and 'dented' from overuse.

That said, there are many positives about this hotel which more than outweigh this. The leisure facilities are excellent - there is a modern gym, fitness classes, and a superb pool, jacuzzi, steam-room and sauna. We also love the location - it's quiet and peaceful, yet you can walk into Bournemouth centre in around 15 minutes. The surrounding area is also lovely for a run or walk out. If you're likely to spend all your time here in the room, then this may not be for you, but if, like us, you only sleep in the room and enjoy being out and about and using the great leisure facilities on offer then we recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The place looks very pleasing though rustic. We enjoy that type of location and our room overlooked the 18th hole some 50 or so yards away. Very nice view from the window (Room number 4).

Very quiet and calm, room was at right temperature for us. Bed was two singles pushed together - bit disappointing as we booked a double.

Furniture chipped - hole in the carpet - grubby around the light switches - crumbs on the seats and down the back - chipped at bottom of bathroom door and a lick of paint would be good on door surround - shower didn't work properly as it wouldn't switch from the taps filling the bath to the shower-head. Bathroom clean but at bottom of walls close to floor (where it requires diligence and effort to keep clean, the grouting was grubby though not exceptionally - hmmmm)

Would we come back again - yes but please sort these silly things out and we would mark you as great stuff.

Wife had a very good pedicure, manicure and massage and towels in room were great.

Come on guys pull your fingers out!

Additionally, area outside at back of kitchen or below it was dismal when viewed from above - so get it sorted please.

No, NONE, Disabled parking and golfers and a Taxi driver were using spaces in front of the hotel!!

Bar staff - some were chatty enough but tendency was to serve - take money and bugger off somewhere! Why? If I want to drink without sparkling company, I buy from supermarket and drink in my room UNLESS with my wife. Of course!

My wife said she had a very good pedicure and manicure and then a massage. She very much enjoyed all. The massage was a real treat for her as well.

I wandered around and liked the look of the pool and the gym looked really well equipped but there was no viewing area for either.

Bar was clean and tidy though papers were well worn and grubby at 8 in the evening (buy 2 of everything and change after lunch??)

We didn't make use of the sauna but why the "clothes must be worn policy". Men are always very pleased to see my wife without in the saunas we visit occasionally; even offer her a seat between them and chat away incessantly.

Must be a British thing unfortunately!

We liked the place and hope for better managing please.

Room Tip: Number 4 looks out onto the 18th hole only 50 yards away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

After having read quite a few positive reviews on this venue I booked in for an overnight weekend stay since all centrally located hotels were around £120 a night and this was £89. Our benchmark at this rate is Premier Inn standard (Travelodge at worst) and I was expecting something along the same lines. On first appearances this was a very cosy lodge type room however as the stay progressed we became aware of the following, which wouldn't have really bothered us if the room was half it's price per night:

1. The towel rail in the bathroom didn't work
2. The shower curtain was covered in soap scum and orange body fats that stuck it together
3. There was significant mildew above the shower
4. The kettle was directly below the TV and since there were no other useable plug sockets in the room we had to make sure the TV wasn't on when we boiled the kettle as steam and electricity do not mix!!
5. The TV was at such a high and odd angle that it made it difficult to watch from bed
6. The bedside light didn't work
7. The bed mattresses were so soft I wouldn't have been able to sleep on them for more than 1 night as they offered absolutely no back support - as it was I had significant neck ache the following day
8. The headboard was attached to the wall with a gap of about an inch that was exposed. Whilst looking for another plug socket I noticed how disgusting the area behind the bed looked as it was filled with dirt and cobwebs. If you're going to have this type of area on display at least keep it clean! If not then box it in.
9. The light switches that operated the main lights were situated at pillow high and built into the headboard. This meant they were easy to catch with your hand during the night and potentially could be painful if you caught your head on them.

Whoever designed the room layout didn't really think - and it was oddly drafty too, which was odd as no windows were open. Add to that the extremely odd way the room payment was taken a second time during check in and the original payment cancelled, and overall it was a distinctly average to below average stay.

Initially it looked Premier Inn standard, but after a few minutes the cracks showed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMarsden101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcoast UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend, we had a standard double room which had a large king size bed, small tv and coffee facilities. the room was clean and had a nice view over the golf course.

the swimming pool facilities on site are fantastic and worth a visit.

good location, will be returning for our 1 year anniversary next month.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I went for a two day break to Bournemouth and stayed at the Lodge at Meyrick Park. The room was comfortable and clean and had all the facilities of a hotel room. The staff at reception, the golf shop and the Spa, bar and restaurant were very helpful and friendly. We did not play golf but there is very nice municipal golf course with the first tee and golf shop 5-10 metres from our rooms door. (Ideal for a golf break.) The two nights cost us £78. This was just for the room but you could have breakfast, Lunch and dinner at the restaurant. The cost of our room also allowed us to use all the facilities in the spa including the good sized gym, 19m swimming pool and the numerous fitness classes that ran morning afternoon and evening. We decided to walk into Bournemouth which only took us 10 minutes to the centre and 15 minutes to the seafront. We could park outside the lodge so we could take advantage of the many restaurants, bars and entertainment in Bournemouth. The lodge was also well positioned to take the car and visit, Poole, Boscombe, Swanage and other areas of Bournemouth. The Sandy banks to Studland ferry was a short drive which is also good for access to Corfe castle, Lulworth Cove and other coastal and inland attractions in Dorset. We had a great break with plenty of sea air and some sunshine.

Room Tip: Room 7 was well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saracens_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked late same eve and drove down to get a good nights sleep before flight on holiday from Bournemouth Airport. short drive to airport which avoided morning traffic! Very good value for money £29 as week night! Stayed in room 1. Very comfy BIG bed. Tea/ coffee and biscuits.
Didn't use facility's on site so can't comment!
Only gripe was no curtain or blind of any sort on bathroom! Even though probably couldn't see from outside still felt uncomfortable to shower.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godiva1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Meyrick Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Meyrick Park

Property: The Lodge at Meyrick Park
Address: Central Drive, Bournemouth BH2 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Meyrick Park 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Meyrick Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Meyrick Park Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing