We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Nearby Hotels
$78
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$111
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$208
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green House(Bournemouth)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
115
183
131
44
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
183
131
44
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roombudget hoteldouble roomhotel is situatedtown centreexcellent value for moneysea frontcouple of nightssea viewwould stay againcooked breakfastfull english breakfastcar parkingfew minutes walkone night staybicreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 532 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Me and my friend stayed her for the weekend on a Saturday night, we paid £59 for the night as we booked a twin room, when we arrived we were told there wasn't any twin rooms available so we would be staying in a family room instead (we didn't mind). Our room didn't look anything like the pictures on the internet, it was very outdated but it was big and clean. It was ideal for us with the location being very close to bars and clubs.
It's walking distance from the train station or if your like us and have suitcases we got a taxi costing about £7.
I would recommend this hotel if your looking to stay in bournemouth for the night life and you want a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleWood90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank You for your feedback.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at TravelRest.
Our Apologies for the issues with the Wi-Fi, which have now been rectified and also for the slight change in your accommodation type - this can be due to a number of factors, although I do hope our staff assisted you in the best way possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed staying at hotel, good to see it has been refurbished and we were particularly happy with the standard of the room. Easy to get there from the station, checkin was pretty smooth. The staff couldnt have been more helpful (even ordered us pizza). The room was clean and well presented, with basic tolietries provided. Great value for money, breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Bill,
Thank You for your feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at TravelRest.
Our staff are a credit to our hotel, therefore we are thankful for your positive comments about the service provide.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've just returned from a two night stay at Travelrest and I don't think we'd stay there again. First of all the booking said plenty of parking no booking required. This was not the case when we arrived. The parking is strange and would have meant blocking someone else's car in or risk being blocked in ourselves. We asked at reception and the response was well if you're worried about being block in drive up to the roundabout and there should be some free parking there.

After getting parked and walking to the hotel we checked in. The man behind the reception checked the booking and said you booked a twin room. We said yes. He looked a bit sheepish but said nothing and gave us our key. When we got to our room we found out why he was looking sheepish. The room we had been given was a double with an extra fold out bed leaving hardly any floor space and the fold out bed was very uncomfortable to sleep on. Having other friends staying at the same hotel their room was a lot nicer than ours so I would suggest it's a bit pot luck. But since they booked their twin room after us and paid the same amount I'm not sure how they allocate out their rooms. We spoke to the woman on at reception the following day to see if we could switch rooms but they were fully booked so this wasn't possible. Despite the woman at reception looking like she couldn't care less about the problem they did manage to find a padded mattress topper to make the bed more comfy. While on our way downstairs we did see another customer being spoken rudely to by the same receptionist.

On our last day we thought we might try out the breakfast at the hotel but we were too late so we were just speaking to our friends while they were having their breakfast. We'd been there about a minute when an old lady who worked there came up to us and said you're too late children (we're all late 20's and found this really patronising). She rudely said you need to move out of the way and over there (pointing to the corner). That's our lasting memory of Travelrest.

Overall if you get the room you booked then you might be ok but be prepared for rude staff. An apology and explanation as the why we didn't get the room we booked would have gone a long way and this review probably wouldn't have been so harsh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Louise,
Thank You for your feedback.
I would firstly like to apologise for the negative experience you recieved from certain staff members, whilst staying at TravelRest Bournemouth. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and see these comments as regretful and somewhat surprising, given past excellent comments.
On all litreture and information given via online booking agents, we do not false advertise our car parking as anything but limited due to the location we are in. It is unfortunate that you have been told this, as this is not usually the message we portray.
As with your bedroom, we do explain on the first point of contact that our rooms are divided into 2 types of accomadation and will try and relocate guests who are unhappy with there allocated room. As with your experience, on some occassions - we are unable to do this and seek the next best thing by trying to add extra comfort to the item that the guest has commented on.
TravelRest Bournemouth will try and seek the best alternative from each and every comment given, preferably, at the time of the guests stay - so we can resurrect the problem there and then.
It is regretable that this was not the case and I hope that you will visit us again in the near future, to see that we are a proud and ever improving hotel.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Look, for £49 a night for a family room you cannot really go wrong. The room was clean, big and had everything we needed. You do get the drunks coming in at 2pm which I think was worse for us as we were on the stairwell. Breakfast was good and hot but for nearly £7 you'd expect better quality on things like the sausages. (We did get a free breakfast which you can also get if you book through their website.) You will simply not get a better location though. It is 30 seconds walk from the beach and 5 minutes into town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear LloydSimon,
Thank You for your recent feedback.
We are pleased that overall, you enjoyed your stay at TravelRest.
As you will appriciate, we do welcome all visitors to our hotel, therefore not forseeing who or who will not be noisey or quiet guests. We do although run a robust management program - which in cases of unjust noise, we seek to quash promptly.
As you will also see from previous comments, we are known for our enjoyed and affordable breakfast - it is through experience however, that we find that not all guests enjoy certain items, due to there individual tastes. We only buy brand products and therefore seek the best items of food, to provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive
*Although stating a different name, due to a System change. All repsonses are details and views of Ross Goode.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here the weekend just gone it was awful the room was dirty and no plug in the sink in the bathroom there were no towels in the room the breakfast is horrible and service terrible there seamed to be one staff member running the front desk kitchen and bar. There was no ice or larger how do you run out of ice? Stay was not worth £90 and breakfast certainly not worth £6.50 the sausages were horrible and bacon was cold

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Chloe N,
Thank You for your recent feedback.
I am sorry that you did not have a favorable experience, whilst staying at TravelRest Bournemouth. However, as you will see from a vast majority of the comments received - We have a very good housekeeping department for whom set each room to the standards they should be, for any reason they are not - we rely on guests to let us know this, whilst staying with us - to assure this is immediately seen too. We also ask each guest to fill in our Hotel Questionnaire, for which I hope you managed to fill out during your stay? As most are in Bournemouth, our hotel can become very busy at weekends - and although we plan ahead through-ally, there are certain occasions which are out of our control that may leave us short of some things - including Staff and Ice. We can only apologize for this, and hope that the staff member mentioned dealt with this in a prompt and professional manor.
If you wish to contact us further to discuss your stay, please call myself direct at the hotel.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive
*Although another name is stated due to a system change - All views detailed and written are those of Ross Goode.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews