We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Kiwi Hotel from start to finish this was an enjoyable experience. The man who took the booking was very pleasant, helpful and explained that the hotel was undergoing a refurbishment which did not impact on our stay at all. Our room although dated (which we had been informed at the time of our booking) was spacious with a sea view and exceeded our expectations. There was always plenty of hot water, a generous shower pressure and central heating at certain times of the day to say it was February we were never cold in the hotel. The bedding was crisp, clean & white and the beds were good quality 'Myers'. The bedroom was tidied and tea/coffee etc. was replenished daily. The hotel is in an ideal location close to the sea front and pier. I would certainly stay here again and wish all at The Kiwi the very best with the refurbishment.

Room Tip: Room 38 is a very large family room on the first floor with a sea view. This room has only a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    169
    117
    41
    52
See reviews for
158
155
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for one night and most of the hotel was shut being renovated. We had a superior room which was small and clean but very dated. The room was warm even though it was a very cold night. The only problem we had was with the bed which was very uncomfortable and we did not sleep very well. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. We got a really cheap deal and for the price we paid it was a bargain. We probably wouldn't stay there again just because of the mattress. The hotel is changing name on the 1st April but I do not know what the new name will be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have not actually stayed at the hotel yet - we are booked in for a couple of nights in August. However, I just had to write and say how impressed I was with the man who answered the call to take m booking last week. He was polite, friendly, helpful and well informed. You do hope for all these things from someone working in the service industry, but rarely does it happen. I hope the stay lives up to that level of service!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dj f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel was a cheap price and my friend & I were staying in bournemouth for a night out for a concert we saw. The hotel staff were polite but not very organised. The room itself wasnt horrifying but was very very outdates and feel it needs to be modernised really. I have never seen a worse bathroom however! I couldnt even bring myself to shower in it, the toilet roll was given to you out of a dispencer like a public toilet, the shower looked quite worn and seemed maybe dirty, the soap had been used already which was extremely off putting. Not a bad hotel at all and good value for money however I wouldnt go out of my way to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethsieboo0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for our anniversary, after a trip to Brighton. It wad a spur of the moment booking and very good value for money. Everyone was really nice and polite. We had a view of a room but the room was still just what we needed. The bed was comfy and although the room was small it was very homely.
I would recommend this hotel to others, as ots only a short walk to the beach and amusements, as well as the pier.
Overall it was a nice night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DreamKatchMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A budget hotel with very good service and indeed customer service. Clean, good location and warm, friendly staff. For a no fuss overnight stay and clean, comfortable surroundings on a budget a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanD2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Carl,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Kiwi Hotel and we hope to see you again some time in the future. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Kiwi in Bournemouth for one night and it was good, the room was large, well laid out and clean. Issues - the room and furniture were tired and a bit wobbly, the decor was an interesting shade of peach, but it was ok. The bathroom was clean and spacious, apart from the space around the loo, it seemed to be squashed in between the bath and a radiator so we had to turn the radiator off to stop us from burning our bums! On the whole for the £30 we paid for the night it was acceptable, we slept well and we all enjoyed a bath or a shower in the evening, so plenty of hot water. Not sure I would have been so happy if I'd paid the normal room rate of between £60-£90 per night with breakfast on top.

Room Tip: If you pull the double bed in room 41 away from the wall a little it won't squeak so bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday-Mummy-of-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Holiday-Mummy-of-2,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate all feedback. I am glad that the size of the room was to your liking and that you felt the hotel was of a good standard. The hotel is currently undergoing major refurbishment which means that we are currently in the situation where some of our rooms are slightly dated, however the entire hotel will soon be completely modernised.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
732 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#48 of 66 in Bournemouth
643 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth

Property: TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has 25 of the 45 bedrooms fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard. The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished family and standard rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations (on request), toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray. Key features at a glance: Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, with easy access to beach, town centre as well as the key business locations within the region, via Wessex Way. Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC. Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops. Two styles of guest bedroom - contemporary TravelRest Rooms featuring designer fabrics, toiletries, hospitality tray and IPod docking station. Traditional budget rooms - classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay. All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player. Free parking on site (limited) with alternative on road free parking within the immediate area. Bar and cafe open throughout the day. 24 hour reception. Free wi-fi. Group friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing