We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiwi Hotel Bournemouth - Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just stayed at this Hotel having searched for a budget hotel near the BIC. I payed £63 all inclusive for a twin newly refurbished compact room with breakfast for two people for a Saturday night stay. very good price considering the price the Travel Lodge next door charge.

Location - very close to the beach, 5-10 minute walk to the BIC and main shops. You do have to go down hill at some point which means you have to come back up !!! Bournemouth is quite hilly anyway so be prepared for that, however there is always a taxi and it cost us just £4 from town to the hotel. We had our evening meal in a lovely conservatory fronted Italian called ALCATRAZ situated next door to Yates.

The Beach is lovely, never had any complaints about Bournemouth beach. Plenty to eat and drink and to entertain the children if you have any.

Hotel - We got a compact twin room which had recently been refurbished and was perfectly adequate for what we needed. I did have pictures but they are too small to upload?. We had a small problem with the TV which was quickly resolved by the manager. We had twin bed, a flat screen TV, shower etc and were in room 4. One slight issue for me was that the pillows were quite flat but that's a personal thing and I did not ask to see if they had any more.

Yes it may be a little run down in places, its an old building after all but they are in the process of refurbishing all the rooms. There are creaky floors but again its an old building but the dining area is spacious and bright and the hotel was clean and welcoming. The bar area is comfortable and there is some parking but just get there early rather than later.

Food - we booked for breakfast in the morning. There was 3 choices of cereal, grapefruit, prunes, yoghurt, danish pastries, tea and coffeee, apple and orange juice. We also payed for a Full english and could choose from sausage, bacon, beans, eggs, fried bread, toast and tomatoes. All adequate and we had plenty to eat but dont expect top of the range bacon/ sausages as after all it is advertised as a budget not luxury hotel.

They are soon to be converting to a Travel rest hotel but definitely one to remember if the prices stay around the same

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 500 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, even though the rooms are basic they are comfortable and the hotel staff are all really frienddly and helpful. The bathroom was very big and the shower was powerful.

I will return to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The room we stayed in was very run down. Marks on the walls and carpet and noisy uncomfortable beds. Emailed stated we could check in at 1pm but we were kept waiting till 2pm as the room was not ready. Staff were also really hard to understand due to language barrier.
I would say the rooms are really overpriced and very basic with the need for refurbishment asap. Also breakfast was poor and not worth the £6.50.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee8504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Lee8504,
I was very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Kiwi Hotel and would like to apologize if you felt the room was not good enough.
I would like to remind you that we are currently in the process of refurbishing all of our bedrooms and public area's, we do already have some rooms completed however unfortunately we were not able to accommodate you in one of these, we will always upgrade our customers to a better room when we can. We receive a lot of positive feedback about our breakfasts so I was also disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy it and will be investigating this further. I hope that you will visit us again in the future to see what changes we will have made.
Best Regards
Matthew Jewell
Sales and Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We payed £50 for one night stay. Close to beach and Bournemouth international centre. Rooms basic with a need for updating in places, ie drawers falling apart, divans not matching, curtains old etc but was fine for one night. Doors need to be made thicker or rooms soundproofing as we could hear people walking and talking in hallway. Got woken at 4am by people going back to their room and could hear every word. Also could hear noise from local pub/bar through closed window as we were going to sleep.
Ok stay though. Breakfast ok, but nothing special.
Must admit everything appeared very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat8612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the August bank holiday weekend as we attending a wedding 45 minutes away and decided to stay in lively Bournemouth rather than the sleepy village where the wedding was taking place and the Kiwi Hotel was the cheapest hotel we could find in our budget - although it was very overpriced for what we got (like I said in the title, even for a bank holiday). I have stayed in much nicer and bigger city centre hotels for less at the same time of year.

The room we had was very small, basic and not the most modern, however as the weather was good it was only ever a place to rest our heads. The hotel is very close to the beach and the town. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and didn't drive down, so I can't comment on car parking.

The only thing I whole heartedly can compliment the hotel on was the excellent service we received when we arrived from London, as we only had half an hour to get ready before the taxi arrived and although the room was not ready, the receptionist very kindly allowed us to go up to the room and get ready, which meant that we did not have to get ready in the toilets which I feared would happen!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outonthelanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very ordinary hotel, clean looking, felt secure, friendly staff. Did not stay for breakfast. Unfortunately though the positives stop there. Very limited parking - we were lucky but many guests had to park on road at further expense. The room was dated, small and had many imperfections such as large dents in walls and dark scuffs. The en suite contained a small shower cubicle with mis-matched tiles. The suite was very dated avocado design. Toiletries were basic and limited. The room had suitable drink making facilities but again supplies were basic with no biscuits for example. The shaving light was melted and thus did not work - this had been caused by an ancient wall heater stationed above the light ( this whilst remaining on the wall had been disconnected from the mains). Touch lights by the bed and a holy bible this room lacked serious awesomeness and was nowhere near worth it's £75 price tag which did not include breakfast, which is charged at £5 per person.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfbourton402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel was placed brilliantly for town and beach, with ample parking. We were early for booking in but the hotel kindly let us park so we could go to the beach. The staff were really friendly and greeted us every time we entered. The room was a family room (35) it was a little dated and the carpet in places a little thread bare, but we paid £180 for a 4 night stay for ourselves and our 12 year old son, so we can't complain. We didn't have breakfast there as we hired a beach hut and cooked bacon butties on the gas stove (bliss). Te hotel was being decorated in places and my only complaint would be the smell of gloss paint in the passageways.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floozy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#47 of 66 in Bournemouth
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 66 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $34 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has 25 of the 45 bedrooms fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard. The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished family and standard rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations (on request), toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray. Key features at a glance: Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, with easy access to beach, town centre as well as the key business locations within the region, via Wessex Way. Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC. Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops. Two styles of guest bedroom - contemporary TravelRest Rooms featuring designer fabrics, toiletries, hospitality tray and IPod docking station. Traditional budget rooms - classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay. All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player. Free parking on site (limited) with alternative on road free parking within the immediate area. Bar and cafe open throughout the day. 24 hour reception. Free wi-fi. Group friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing