We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sick!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home sick!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place is a dive. The guy on reception barely knew his own name let alone which of us were staying in which room. We were a group of 12 (booked way in advance) and checking in was a total shambles. One of our group was actually given keys to an already occupied room, the inhabitants of which were not amused when our friend opened the door.

Another room (supposed to be a triple) only had a double room in it and one of our group actually ended up just leaving and getting the first train home.

The room was clean but very shabby and the bathroom was vile. There was no shower, just one of those rubber tap attachments hanging on the back of the door should you wish to use it - no thanks.

Breakfast was equally poor... the bacon tasted and looked like it had been deep fried for several hours.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Luckily, we were only there for one night after a night out for a friend's birthday and were able to make a speedy exit (escape) in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryberry84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Jerry Berry84
I was very sorry to read your review from your recent stay at the kiwi hotel, i would like to assure you that the issues on the front desk you recieved at 3am when your group checked was a one off, in response to your comments about the rooms i appreciate the comments about them being clean and would add that we have an extensive refurbihment programme underway at this time and these issues will soon be a thing of the past, with regards to breakfast we were happy to open the restaurant for you half an hour after closing that day and im sorry it was substandard to your expectations, i do hope you give us the oppurtunity to rectify these issues in another stay with us in the future.
Regards
Stuart Fleming
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    165
    115
    41
    49
See reviews for
152
151
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here when I went to see The Wanted, and it was brilliant! Very close to the BIC!
Clean, comfortable room, me and my sister were very happy there!
Lovely helpful staff too!
Very good value for money, and will definitely stay again when I go to more concerts!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Megan
Thank you so much for your kind review, i'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Kiwi Hotel, and hope to see you and your sister again in the future.
Regards
Stuart Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Lovely clean Hotel. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Great updated room and value for money. Wouldn't hesitate to return there and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Direid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Direid

Thank you kindly for your review, We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Stuart Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was aware this hotel was in the process of refurbishment when booking, but was informed that I could choose between either the refurbished side or older end. However, when arrived I was very rudely informed that this was never said and what a ridiculous thing to suggest! Furthermore, as a disabled driver I was told they would reserve a parking space for me, but was again told that this conversation never took place (clearly I am a pathological liar!). In fact, all the parking spaces were taken up by the workmen undertaking the renovations. In summary, this is a poor hotel, the refurbishment is very poor, the rooms tiny, and beds not even standard double size. Breakfast was ok, but I would never stay here again nor recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Milly,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our establishment. However upon reading your review I feel there are a few points to clear up.
Our room types are all available online as either our 'standard' rooms or our 'superior' or 'club' rooms. These are all allocated at the time of booking. Of course if we can upgrade guests we will always try to however we do not adopt the policy of allowing guests to choose which room type they are in.
We also try to take all requests into consideration but due to having no ground floor rooms and limited parking we are un-able to reserve parking spaces and every member of staff is aware of this policy. As for the spaces being taken up by our workmen I am afraid we did not have any workmen here throughout May so the vans will have been from other contractors also staying with us.
I am sorry that you feel the refurbishment is poor however I can assure you 99% of our feedback from the refurbished rooms has been very positive. We aim to provide budget accomodation with quality to our guests and for this reason our rooms are a standard size as we understand visitiors to bournemouth will not be planning on spending much time in there room. Also to reply to the comment about the bed size I can assure you our double beds are most definitely the standard size and am not sure where this comment has come from.
I am sorry for the element of disagreement in your reply however I feel that it has been written in a very un-fair manner as none of our staff would ever act in a rude way towards a guest as our standard of customer service is one of the most highly regarded in Bournemouth.
If you would wish to contact us to discuss any of these points further please send an e-mail to reservations@kiwihotel.co.uk and one of the team will get back to you as soon as possible.
Kind Regards,
Chris Hart
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hertford, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great location a short walk to the pier and centre. We paid £60/night for jubilee week, ok value, except our room 6 was the smallest in the place. In addition to lack of space the Wi-fi unreliable; no plug near kettle and the kettle not automatic, so somewhat of a safety hazard; very exposed so had to have curtains closed unless fully clothed, or the people in the street would have had an eyeful. Fine but not great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardyLardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

i have just had a two night break at the hotel I stayed in one of the refurbished rooms which was excellent and very comfortable. My daughter and two children stayed in a family room which was not one of the refurbished rooms but was still comfortable and very good value for money. For an extra £5.00 we added breakfast to our stay which was good value for money and very nice being served between 7.30 and 9.30 good times. The hotel is located close to the beach and the town. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. I would definately stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Kiwi for the night whilst we went to a show at the BIC. We stayed in a newly refurbished room, the beds were comforatable the room was clean, the bathroom was a bit small but practical; the room was quite spacious with a large fitted wardrobe, we had tea and coffee making facillities.
We did not have the all you can eat breakfast, as we had to make an early start this is charged at £5 for guests or £6.50 for non residents which is still good value.
Overall the Kiwi offers good value for money and is a better alternative to Travelodge.

Room Tip: room 2 is ideal for a one child family. It has a double bed and a single bed with en-suite faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbaz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth

Property: TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has 25 of the 45 bedrooms fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard. The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished family and standard rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations (on request), toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray. Key features at a glance: Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, with easy access to beach, town centre as well as the key business locations within the region, via Wessex Way. Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC. Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops. Two styles of guest bedroom - contemporary TravelRest Rooms featuring designer fabrics, toiletries, hospitality tray and IPod docking station. Traditional budget rooms - classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay. All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player. Free parking on site (limited) with alternative on road free parking within the immediate area. Bar and cafe open throughout the day. 24 hour reception. Free wi-fi. Group friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing