We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Paid only £25 for a spacious room here! Ok, the decor is very dated but..the room was immaculately clean, the staff were incredibly friendly and courteous and the location is fantastic. Unbelievable value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellie298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Nellie,
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again in the future
Regards
Stuart Fleming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 491 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

paid only £35 for a clean and spacious room, right next to the sea.staff so friendly couldnt ask for anything more, breakfast for a fiver and it was very good indeed !!!

Room Tip: there are a few newly refurbished rooms, try and get one before they sell out !!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank layla186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We paid £35 for our night here, and it was extremely good value for money. Yes it is abit tired, however from the friendliness of the receptionist, to the cleanliness of our room it certainly exceeded our expectations and we will definately stay there again,thankyou

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pOtter1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the Kiwi for £70 + £5 each for an excellent breakfast. Great location and very obliging staff. No lift and we were on the 3rd floor so a bit knackering but we did have the sea view. Water pressure wasn't that strong but you can't have everything. Would recommend the Kiwi for short breaks, concerts, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Hi Martin,

Thank you very much for your positive review and recommendation. It is always nice to hear when a guest enjoys their stay.
With regards to the fact that there is no lift; this is something that we are looking at installing in the near future along with the refurbishments that are already taking place.
In this refurbishment we will also be addressing the water pressure in order to make it significantly better in the few rooms where we suffer this problem.
Again thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forwards to welcoming you back to the Kiwi in the near future.
-Chris Hart (Front of House Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I used the Kiwi hotel as a base for a weekend football tour for my football team (seniors) from Spain.

Every member of staff we met and dealt with were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure all our needs were met.

The hotel was kept very clean and all facilities were in good working order. I would definitely use this hotel again, the location was excellent as was the overall experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Our hotel stay was basic and the shower kept cutting out on us in the evening, however the reception staff did sort this out pretty fast - something about the fuse kept going. The room was basic, but generally clean and had a TV and what you needed for an overnight stay. The real gem about this hotel is the excellent location to the sea front and the town - no need for taxi's. The restaurant and reception area was quite nice and we paid for the all you can eat breakfast the next day, which we enjoyed. As mentioned on some of the reviews, there did seem to be some renovations in the rooms, which could be moving through the hotel and if so, this will make the place great. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: See if they have any newly renovated rooms, as there seem to be work going on?
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDTEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was my 4th visit to the Kiwi Hotel and the first under the new ownership. At the moment there are 2 distinct parts of the hotel, that which has been refurbished and the part which hasn't. Unfortunately I was in the part that wasn't although most of my colleagues were pleased with their rooms in the "new" part.
On the plus side staff are far more visible than previous visits, the refurbishment going on and the retention of those staff that are every bit as important as the fixtures and fittings. The restaurant food was very good albeit slightly inconsistent. ( I chose the sea bass on 2 separate evenings and they were completely different .. very nice but different in cooking technique and presentation). The bar is also more welcoming and as a result many of the delegates opted to make more use of it. It would have been more welcoming had there been draught beer and it had not worked out at £6 per pint from the bottles.
My only real negative after the cost of a pint was out of the hands of the management for the time being. I was in a ground floor room and the person staying in the room above me was a raving insomniac. The problem there was that they were pacing very squeaky floorboards from around 2.45am until they went out at 5.38 (yes it was THAT noticeable!). As said I can't hold that against the Hotel unless when I return next year the floorboards aren't fixed as part of the refurbishment. This will also see the demise, I hope, of the horribly tacky bedside table/units. My room also only had a bath with an even tackier plug on shower which I hope will be changed for a proper shower or in bath shower.
The hotel is clean and adequately suits the needs of our group. The staff are pleasant and attentive and I look forward to my next stay at the Kiwi.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubapro1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#50 of 67 in Bournemouth
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 67 in Bournemouth
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 67 in Bournemouth
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $37 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has 25 of the 45 bedrooms fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard. The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished family and standard rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations (on request), toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray. Key features at a glance: Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, with easy access to beach, town centre as well as the key business locations within the region, via Wessex Way. Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC. Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops. Two styles of guest bedroom - contemporary TravelRest Rooms featuring designer fabrics, toiletries, hospitality tray and IPod docking station. Traditional budget rooms - classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay. All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player. Free parking on site (limited) with alternative on road free parking within the immediate area. Bar and cafe open throughout the day. 24 hour reception. Free wi-fi. Group friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing