We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
382
495
256
87
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
495
256
87
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room small pool sauna and steam room changing area changing rooms cream tea the hotel car park spa break short break leisure facilities street parking lovely hotel spa area night break creaky floorboards town centre groupon deal
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2018

From start to finish had a wonderful over night stay, food was lovely, friendly people & great service , will definitely return & stay longer, near all amenities, second stay here & will definitely come back

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank sharonleedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

We have just returned from a really pleasant stay at The Durley Dean. From arrival to departure the staff were so very friendly and professional. Always a cheery word to say, and always a smiling face.
We stayed in Room 333, which, although not a big room, had the advantage of a magnificent bay window which looked down the road and onto the sea. The furnishings were more than adequate, and plentry of hangers in the wardrobe. Bath and shower body wash is provided and the towels are big and fluffy.
There are limited parking facilities at the hotel, but the NCP parking is across the road which charges the same as the Durley Dean
The hotel is only 5/10 minutes walk from the beach, and only 10/15 minutes walk into the town centre,
Breakfast at the hotel is very good. Cereals, fruit juices, fruit and a really good selection of cooked food. This is constantly replenished, therefore, not leaving it to dry out under the heat lamps.
I would also recommend having dinner at the hotel restaurant. For £20 per person, there is a beautiful 3 course meal offered with plentry of choices. Cooking and presentation of the meal was excellent, and served by extremely efficient staff. Suzanne and her team are to be congratulated.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we shall be returning.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

We were given this as present for my husbands birthday
On arrival there was no parking so we had to go over road to public carpark which was fine the charge was the same £10 for 24 hours
The room was fine bed was better one side than the other so I was lucky my husband wasn’t
I did have to ring down to reception at around 5pm as we couldn’t get tv to work the remote batteries had run out they said they would send someone straight away well we went out at 6.45 and no one had came we returned at 9.30 and still no batteries so I rang again this time they immediately came so all sorted
Food for breakfast was very good a very good selection which would suit everyone

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NickyB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Good location lots of different ways to walk to town centre, great breakfast lots off choice.we have a lovely hour spa treatment really relaxing and worth every penny we will be booking again thank you to Alina & Nahomi.Only downfall is the parking very tight car park ok if you have a small car.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank berry598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

Before booking a room for the bank holiday, we called and checked the details on vendors site which read "can request additional bed"... I realise it's awkward travelling as three but we called and checked and were advised "that's fine call us once you've booked and we can add an additional bed for £15 per night".
Called back following booking, to be told all of five minutes later "no you can't do that".

Website says so, and we were told we could on the phone.

No apology. Told a manager will call the next day. Nothing.

Durley Dean has always been my choice of hotel when I visit Dorset but, no longer. Can't stand incompetent / poor customer service!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Cat_Diaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, Owner at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Dear Ms Diaz,

I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience.

The extra bed you referred to is clearly stated as for a child and not an adult. The website shows the room you selected as being only suitable fora maximum of 2 adults and 2 children..

When you called you advised the 3 rd guest was in fact an adult and you were politely informed that the room was not suitable for a 3rd adult and that the hotel does not allow more than 2 adults in a room. Reservations offered you the opportunity of an additional room which you declined. You did then speak with one of our Managers who also advised you that the room is not suitable for 3 adults and that our policy is not to allow more than 2 adults in any given room.

I am sorry you were disappointed but if you do go on our website again you will see we are very upfront and clear about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews