We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yates family North Wales.”
Review of Alexander Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Lodge
Ranked #22 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been home a week now and wish we were still on holiday, Karen and Andy of Alexander Lodge, Southbourne are perfect hosts. The hotel is homely, with an exceptional standard of cleanliness. We also enjoyed the delicious food. Hope to return next year and can highly recommend a stay at Alexander Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hello David and family
Thankyou so much for our great review, it was very kind of you to take the time to write it.
It was lovely having you all to stay and glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see you again next year.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

A great place to stay. Karen and Andy are very friendly and welcoming. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfasts are excellent with a good selection. Alexander Lodge is an exceptionally nice place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpy67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi
Thankyou for staying at Alexander Lodge and for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a marvelous holiday which was made perfect by the hosts Karen and Andy. The cleanliness, service and food were exceptional. We would highly recommend a stay at Alexander Lodge Southbourne Bournemouth. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hi there everyone

It was really lovely having you all here to stay and we are so pleased you had the sunshine to enjoy the beach and beach hut. Thankyou for taking the time to write such a great review for us and we hope to see you again next year.
Best wishes
Andy and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to Alexander Lodge in Southbourne.When we went last year Karen was still relatively new to being a landlady, but she has certainly settled in very well.
Warm greeting -drinks offered and a warm smile was a great start again.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for Karen.
At our first breakfast time,she was asked for an iron and ironing board and what time the band played in the park.All requests were dealt with immediately.
We have no hesitation in recommending Alexander Lodge which we will return to in 2014.
Whatever you are doing Karen- you are doing it well to have people returning to you after only one season.Well done -hope to see you for a longer time next year-3 nights was not enough.
Thank you to you Andy and Jodie.
Linda and David

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavlinLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi Linda and David
Thankyou so much for your very kind words and for taking the time to write them.
We are very gald you enjoyed your visit, it was lovely having you to stay again and look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Best wishes Andy, Karen and Jodie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I am pleased to say Karen was able to accommodate my wife and i with a very late booking, tried 10 other Guest houses in the area and understandably all were fully booked, how pleased we were to find a vacancy at the Alexandra Guest House, what can we say, our visit started with a wonderful welcome by Karen who met us at the door even before we got out the car, that led to her showing us to our lovely twin king room plus a lovely offer of water and coffee that we gladly accepted after our journey, it was my wife,s birthday and it was lovely to find a card and gift from Karen, Andy and Jodie, a lovely unexpected touch, after Karen had explained everything to us we were left in private which we appreciate, Met Karen again at breakfast which cannot be faulted, actually nothing at this guest house can be faulted in our opinion, we will definatley return the the Alexandra whenever we plan to stay a night or two in Southbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunKimT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello

We were so glad we could offer you accommodation and thankyou for taking the time to write your great review, It was lovely having you to stay and pleased you enjoyed your special birthday weekend with your family and your stay at Alexander Lodge. Hope to see you both again in the future. Many thanks
Best wishes Karen and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This review is on behalf of my stepdaughter. She advised us that the hotel was lovely, well furnished, very clean, with a great host and her and her daughter enjoyed a good breakfast. Certainly when speaking to Karen on the phone she was very helpful and sounded like a lovely lady.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desertsaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Hi there
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It was great to have your family to stay with us and kind of your your step-daughter to let you know that they enjoyed their stay at Alexander Lodge. We hope you also enjoyed your break with family.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have just spent a night at the Alexander Lodge Hotel and wish it could have been more. Room (double with kingsize bed on the first floor) was roomy, clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good and I especially liked the fresh strawberries and blueberries to start followed by the full english. Karen and Andy were perfect hosts and Karen kindly made us a cup of tea as soon as we arrived which after our journey was most welcome. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 6 suited us perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Hi Jane, Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fresh strawberries and blueberries...they are proving to be very popular! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 131 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
0 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#13 of 131 in Bournemouth
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 131 in Bournemouth
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,688 reviews
2.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,140 reviews
3.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Lodge

Address: 21 Southern Road, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $98 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, family run Guest House in Southbourne. We are located in a peaceful area of Bournemouth, just a few minutes level walk to the beautiful, award winning Sandy Beach, Cliff Lift, Clifftop, local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing