We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hedley Townhouse
Ranked #36 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location, great food, comfortable beds, superb host. I don't know where to start singing the Hedley's praises ...so I recommend you book and find out for yourself. Great for a few days away, equally good for a company mini-conference nothing seems to be too much trouble in making your stay work for you.

Room Tip: we stayed at the frontof the hotel and loved it
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for The Hedley Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for stef. all rooms were spotless. Decorated to high standard throughout. Lovely atmosphere. I am in the area on business and have rebooked for the next two times i am in dorset
cheers stef

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harriswayneone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I used The Hedley recently to run a health & fitness weekend, and couldn't have been more lucky to find Steph and her gorgeous hotel. The location itself is perfect, very easy to find, close to everything and just a stone’s throw from the West Cliff Zig Zag, leading down to the most beautiful beach. Parking can also be arranged at the cost of just £5 for 24hours to the side of the hotel.

The hotel has been recently renovated and has a very contemporary style, both enhancing and entirely complimentary of the buildings original features, including a spectacular stained glass window. Everything is very clean and of the high quality, which really sets it apart from your standard hotel of this size. It's also just ever so slightly tucked around the corner of the main hotel strip, making it very quite at night for a seaside town. This was really welcome at the end of each days full on programme of activities.

We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay and the food served was quite exceptional. Being a man of health & fitness, it was great to have such choice at breakfast and so much clean nutritious food on offer.

I would certainly stay here again, both personally & professionally, and would enthusiastically recommend it to anyone planning a stay in or around Bournemouth.The location is ace, the Hotel lovely and Steph could not have been more helpful or keen for us to have a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed with a friend for 3 nights, Steph the omner was very welcoming, our room was fab, shower amazing! beds comfy, we slept really well...cooked breakfast was of great quality plus lots of choice of cereal, fresh fruit, juice etc, Steph helped us with a restaurant reservation and recommendation, the location was just perfect...would definitely recommend a stay here and when in the area will be staying again, cheers Steph for your warm welcome and our fabulous stay in Bournemouth, will visit you and The Hedley again...

Room Tip: just have a chat with Steph...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suewasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a work trip, the rooms were lovely, great breakfast and extremely clean. Steph, the owner was very helpful and gave us lots of information on the town and places to eat and drink during our brief stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 8 friends for a nearby sports tournament. We were charged £160 per room for 2 nights and took up 3 rooms in the hotel, and thus expected something quite nice.
We were 'greeted' by a rude woman who demanded money from us immediately, despite us telling her that some of our group was arriving later. She turned out to be the manager, Steph. Later in the evening we enquired into breakfast times and she initially refused to serve the full english which was included in the price, because we had to leave earlier than she wanted to get up and cook. She finally agreed to cook breakfast but clearly wasn't happy and made us know about this for the rest of the weekend. The next morning we found that she had enlisted the help of a guest to help her serve food!
She also charged us £5 per day for the car park, despite knowing that street parking was free.
One of our group unfortunately fell ill on the first night with a virus and was sick in her bathroom. The next morning she confronted the girl in front of several other guests and demanded that she leave a thank you note and tip for her daughter, the cleaner, even though there was nothing to clean. The whole weekend Steph was rude, unwelcoming and nosy - coming over to the girl with the illness at breakfast one morning and asking her why she wasn't eating the food she'd got up so early to cook.
As for the rooms, there was barely enough room to squeeze around the bed to the other side of the room in a double room and the bathrooms were tiny. Putting a few nice cushions and a silky throw on the bed does not make your hotel 'boutique-like'. Especially when they are dirty. Taking a shower was equivalent to somebody wringing a cold wet cloth out onto your head.
All 8 people in our group were thoroughly disappointed with the experience, especially given the money we had paid. We visit Bournemouth yearly and have never stayed in such a terrible establishment.

My advice: stay in the travel lodge a few doors down or find a better hotel! We definitely will not be returning or recommending this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globetrotter3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights at the Hedley Hotel, wonderful time had amazing host for who has a very personal touch to your stay.

You must try this place! great location for the beach and centre, wonderful full English Clean boutique style hotel. Lots of original features kept inside, love the fire place in dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,080 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#6 of 133 in Bournemouth
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#92 of 133 in Bournemouth
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#47 of 133 in Bournemouth
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunkhouse Bournemouth
Bunkhouse Bournemouth
#9 of 24 in Bournemouth
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 133 in Bournemouth
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedley Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedley Townhouse

Address: 125 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $112 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hedley Townhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hedley Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing