We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Had a last minute stay at Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Located only 10 minutes walk to the town and sea front, it was just what we were looking for.
Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We decided to stay for a second night and the management even gave us an extra discount for the second night.
Lovely full English breakfast both mornings, although fresh fruit and other breakfast options were also available.
We were upgraded to the Executive bedroom, and were delighted with the level of equipment, general condition and finish. All in all a very enjoyable stay and intend to return. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzzhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest,

My Sincere thanks for taking the time to complete feedback on trip advisor, I was delighted to read the feedback given and please be assured the team will be made aware.

The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the East Cliff in the not too distant future.

Many thanks once again

Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

What can i say,
My partner and i got married here this month and no words can describe how utterly brilliant our day was, and all this was made possible by Paul the manager and Angela the wedding planner, absolutely nothing was too much trouble, Paul went way above the call of duty too make sure everything went without a hitch and both me and my wife are eternally grateful.
We had numerous guests who also stayed at the hotel and all of them went away not only with fond memories of our wedding but also the quality and excellence of this hotel, all the rooms seem very well appointed and the layout is well designed so that functions or events do not impinge on other guests. views are spectacular and the quality of the food was second to none.
I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to get married or having a special function/event or just wanting a special break.
Again we cannot thank you enough Paul

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eevilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to complete feedback on trip advisor regarding your recent wedding with us at the East CLiff Court hotel.

The team and I were delighted to be part of your special day and very pleased to read that you felt your experience of East CLiff was memorable, I have to say the Chinese lanterns were a great idea and looked fantastic with the back drop of the sea, even though they were a challange to light initially!!

Thank you once again for the feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the East Cliff Court in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely

Paul

Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff, very well appointed room. Stunning views from the bar terrace. Great meals in restaurant. Query with bill on checkout resolved swiftly and professionally.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank invisiblepenguin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete feedback on trip advisor regarding your recent stay with us at the East Cliff Court hotel.

The team and I were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future,

Thank you once again,

Paul

Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at the East Cliff Court, the hotel is is a good state of repair and the decor is immaculate throughout. The only slight down-side was getting charged £24 for a bottle of Pinot Grigio (Restaurant). The food in the Restaurant was extremely good quality but a bit small. Service was quite swift and helpful, we reported a light bulb had blown and it was changed within hours!!

The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will147_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay at the East CLiff Court.

The team and I were delighted to read that you had a great stay and the chef has taken on board your feedback regarding the portions of food served.

I was pleased to see that you have also posted some photos of the sea facing rooms that you stayed in, which we refer to as a "double superior sea facing room" for future guests that wish to book them.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back in the not too distant future,

Thank you once again for the feedback,

Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

this hotel lives up to its four star rating ,the room we were given was a standard double and we had a sea view ,the room was large and the bed was huge every thing was in excellent order and very clean ,the bathroom was complete with a bath and a shower over soft white towels and lovely toiletries ,breakfast was very very good everything was fresh and well cooked .staff were very friendly and quick ,considering we paid £115.00 for b&b this hotel represents outstanding value for money,we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for completing a review on trip advisor, the team and I were delighted to read the feedback.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I visited this hotel with my daughter to celebrate her birthday. We stayed in a standard bedroom, the bathroom was tiny and in need of refurbishment, the shower curtain hanging off the rail and the tiles in need of regrouting. The bedroom window had condensation running down it. The beds were comfortable and the room clean. My main issue with this hotel was the dinner offered on our second night. It was virtually inedible. David the assistant manager did refund the bottle of wine we had ordered but as it was supposed to be a birthday dinner this in no way compensated for the evening being spoilt. The decor in the dining room hotel felt like a return to the 50's, gloomy. The room number was 1111.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2010

Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for completing feedback on your recent visit to the East Cliff Court.I was sorry to read that you felt your room was tired and your meal was not to your expectations, given that it was a birthday celebration.

Your feedback will be taken on board and discussed with the team.

If you do choose to return which we all very much hope you do please contact me personally when I will ensure you are given a nicer room at a reduced rate.

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Decided to take the kids down to the sea for one night at very short notice. One of only hotels to still have space and they waived their minimum two night stay rule - both of which led me to worry that it wouldn't be good...

..but it was!

Public areas are very smart, staff friendly and helpful. Everything worked! Rooms a little bit "tired" but still clean, spacious and pleasant.

The breakfast was exceptionally good including a very fresh and attractively presented fruit selection. Cooked was good too.

Kids enjoyed the outdoor pool. You are entitled to use the indoor pool and other leisure facilities at their sister hotel next door. I didn't do this but it is literally just across the car park so I'm sure it's not an issue.

Location fine - high on a cliff - moments to the beach and a 10 minute walk to town centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiltsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2010

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting feedback on Trip Advisor, the team and I were delighted that you and your family had a great stay, especially as you booked last minute.

We will always try to be as flexible as possible with length of stays it is always good for guests to call us direct so that we can ensure you get the right rate based on your requirements, and in the right part of the hotel, we also have many different types of family rooms that are not available on most of the thrid party websites.

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $68 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing