We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant overnight stay !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Coventry
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very pleasant overnight stay !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed for one saturday night just to get away from the Midlands for the weekend.
Outside of the hotel has lots of peeling paint, giving it a worn out appearance, which could not have been further from the truth. Stayed in a sea view double on the 1st floor, which had recently been refurbished I would guess. Everything you would expect from this class of hotel, very acceptable. Took dinner as part of the deal, and wasn't disappointed with the quality at the price. All the staff encountered were very friendly and professional.
Would not hesitate to stay their again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pecabarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, Hotel Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete a review on trip advisor.I was very pleased to read you had a great experience, and enjoyed the sea facing room.

You are right about the paint falling off the exterior of the hotel. You would not of seen staying at the weekend, but we are currently re painting the exterior of the hotel as part of our ongoing maintenance programme, which due to the weather in recent months has taken longer than expected.

I will ensure the team are made aware of your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the East CLiff in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    367
    154
    57
    37
See reviews for
223
444
33
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

We can't thank Angela, Helen, Jamie, David and all of their staff enough for making our day a really special one.
From arrival on Friday to leaving Sunday morning both us, our families and our friends were made welcome and well looked after. We had the best room in the house (and we're not going to tell you the room number, as we don't want it booked out when we go next time) with superb bay views.
The pool at the Carlton was like a little oasis.... A place that we could escape people asking us if we were getting nervous yet! When we returned back to our room housekeeping had dropped by to lay rose petals and truffles on the bed and had left champagne on ice for us.
Breakfast both days fantastic and the meal following our ceremony was outstanding.
Nothing was too much trouble for Angela the Conference Manager who had to put up with our constant e-mails as we live 3 hours away.
We find it very easy to recommend this hotel for holidays, casual weekends away and without question your wedding or civil partnership, we even enjoyed superb weather that weekend which was to be expected as Angela had added to the invoice (FOC).
I think parts of Bournemouth are still reeling from the Cow Print invasion that was our 'do'.
The only overnight noise we experienced was the wave crashing against the shore - lovely!!!
This hotel is a gem and all of the staff make the service outsanding - we'll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duff&greenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights (staff from Menzies Swindon), on arrival we were greeted courtesly and friendly by the reception staff. Chris was lovely - very very welcoming.
Room facilities in full working order, clean, infact perfect. No Complaints.
The restaurant service was excellent. Staff were attentive, helpful in every way, smiling making one feel welcome the whole time.
I must say the service, rooms and food were superb... Location was ideal for shopping and nightlife!
I shall indeed stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, Hotel Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, November 25, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to fill in feedback from your recent stay with us at the East Cliff Court.

This is more satisfying as you work in the industry and have more experience to comment about the service and hospitality you recieved during your stay.

I will ensure that chris and the rest of the team are aware of your kind comments.

Once again many thanks for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely



Paul Clarke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed for a long weekend break. Everything was excellent.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
The food was very good, and the staff were friendly.
I would certainly recommend the East Cliff Court.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, Hotel Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for completing the on line survey, I was delighted to read that you had a very enjoybale stay with us at the East CLiff Court hotel, despite the weather being abnormal.

Be assured that your feedback will be given to the team

Thankyou once agin for staying and we wll look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We would like to just say how pleased we were with our stay ay your hotel. We did have an executive room with sea view, this ticked all our boxes.
Staff very friendly, especially Polish waitress whom served us on wed 18 Nov evening, and again greeted us at breakfast the following morning.
We would visit again, and recom. to others, well done food faultless.
Thank you for a lovely stay, and our windows did not rattle in the high winds either.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richcandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, Hotel Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for your very kind comments refering to your recent stay with us at the East Cliff Court hotel. It is always nice to have positive feedback and be assured that your comments will be communicated to the team.

I look foward to welcoming you back in the future,

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

We arrived on the Friday, the 13th, that should have warned us, the rooms were small and very dated, the single beds were not very good.
The windows and door rattled with the wind, the rooms were very very, noisy!!!!
The biggest shock were the bar prices, a glass from the bar was more than the bottle cost!
Some of the staff were very nice and very helpful, where some pretended not to speak english and ignore your requests.
Rooms were supposed to have TV's, okay they did, very small ones with remote controls.
The bathrooms steamed up, extractor fans did not work, taps turned on there base.
Overall the weekend was long enough, as it was very bad weather, we were captives, stinking entertainment and overpriced wine.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammer077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, Hotel manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for giving feedback on your recent visit to us at the East Cliff Court Hotel.

As you can appreciate the weekend that you stayed had terrible weather which was exceptional not only for Bournemouth but the rest of the country.Some of our sash windows do make a noise when there are high winds. We do have plans to replace them in time.

Refering to your comment about the wine I am assuming you are refering to the price of three glasses of wine being more expensive than a bottle of wine.I have investigated this and three large glasses of our house wine are 10 pence cheaper than a bottle.

We had plenty of rooms available during the weekend, had your comments of been brought to our attention we would of happily moved you to a different room at no additonal cost.

Thankyou for providing feedback on your stay

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Where do I begin? We just wanted a nice cosy stay away for the week end. just a short break. As we approached the hotel it seemed quite nice. Location and view seemed perfect. A direct sea view. We drove our car in to the lot to find not many parking spaces so we had to use the very poorly lit rear car park, passing a delapidated-looking building which was part of the hotel. Well, it was dark so we didn't take too much notice.

Check in was...cosy. A very small reception desk. When we booked we asked for a sea view but on arrival were told that there were none available. The receptionist checked our room out on the computer, giggling slightly, whilst explaining that they had quite a large number of guests. We didn't think any thing of it. We were given our keys and off we went.

As we approached our room along the very narrow corridor, we found our door nestled in a small corner. We opened the door to a rush of musty odour. I couldn't quite put my finger on it but on the wall was one of those plug in air freshners. We thought that must have been the cause but why would they need a plug in air freshner if the room was supposed to be fresh and clean? We inspected the room. The decour was a bit dated but seemed cosy enough. However, there were large balls of dust under the table, the curtains needed a serious dusting and in a corner of the room where the wall paper was peeling grew black mould. The ceiling was cracked in several places too.

We inspected the bathroom. The mould growing in the shower, the lack of ventillation and the peeling ceiling paint took away from it's decent size. The window was also locked solid and full of mould. The toilet flushed with a horrendous noise which seemed to last ages and the hot water tap took and age to run hot! I am not a fussy person generally but geeeeeeze this was definitely sub-standard and most definitely NOT 4 star!

Anyway, we knew they were fully booked for the week end so decided to slug it out. We got ready for bed but the odour was still there. Out of the corner of my eye I saw it on the side table. An ash tray! Why was there an ash tray in our non-smoking room? We tried to sleep on the thin and worn mattress but the too small door to our room was streaming in too much light round the door frame and the floor!

The following morning we were woken up at 8 am by housekeeping! Why were they waking people up at 8 am? The noise the cleaners were making cleaning the other rooms was silly so we got up for breakfast.

Breakfast was quite nice actually and the staff were nice.

On another night we were kept up at 1 am to the noise of a party of some sort which took place in the hotel.

All in all, Bournemouth is a nice place, but this hotel is most definitely NOT 4 star and most definitely NOT good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, Hotel Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for posting your review after your visit with us at the East Cliff Court Hotel, Bournmouth.

From the outset please accpet my apologies for the experience that you had with us during your stay.

I have checked our records to see if you spoke to any of the management team whilst you were here, to give us an oppurtunity to move you to a different room, and I do not see any evidence of this, so I am sorry that we were unable to do this.

I am pleased to advise that the delapidated building which is at the back of the hotel is currently being painted, along with the rest of the exterior of the hotel as part of our ongoing maintenance programme at the hotel. This will greatly improve the appearance of the hotel.

Refering to the points regarding your room, it is hard to establish which room you stayed in as I do not have your name but from my research I believe you may of stayed in room 2015. This is a standard double room, which is not a true reflection of the bedroom offering that we have at the hotel, I apologies for the dust and as with all hotels we have a maintenance programme of works to be carried out to maintain our bedrooms and now tha we are in the off peak season this will give us the oppurtunity to focus on this.

I am sorry that in your opinion you felt the hotel was not fitting to its four star status, or value for money. As you will see from other guest surveys we do generally live up to expectations and our most recent AA visit rated us as four star.

If you would like to return to the East Cliff Court hotel kindly contact me personally when I will ensure you have a nicer room at a preferential rate, subject to availability.

Thankyou for taking the time to give feedback on trip advisor, as it is very important to us that potential guests to see feedback on the hotel.

Paul Clarke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark East Cliff hotel, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including free car parking for all residents is the ideal location for business or relaxing getaways and offers. The hotel offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing