We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We enjoyed another three-night bridge break at the hotel last week. As always, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice and well-supplied and the facilities in general were comfortable and spacious. It is a great location for walking along the cliff, into the shopping area or to catch a bus along the coast. The breakfasts and dinners were very good, even catering for vegetarians like me. My only criticism, which has been an issue on all three visits and which I discovered is shared by many other visitors, is that it is extremely difficult to turn off the shower. Once wet, the round tap is too slippery to grip and it's a daily struggle to stop the water. Silly but very frustrating!

Room Tip: 1016 and 1017 are on the side but have bay windows with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carolpat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Have just completed my 4th 3 night break at the East Cliff. This was the best yet, the menu offers a great selection inc. vegetarian. The rooms are spacious and bright but I do recommend the upgrade to seaview.The thing that always seems to set this hotel apart is the attitude of the staff
from the manager down they are all eager to help and will do their best to make your stay a pleasant one.This was my 4th group break and I'm already planning a fifth! All the facilities of the Carlton,next door, are at your disposal and car parking is free which is quite rare in B'mouth.

Room Tip: go for a sea view and try to get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed one night whilst visiting a friend who lives in Bournemouth. Stayed in room 2209 at the rear of the hotel, made up as a twin.

Good bits .....Room large, warm and spotless, posh tea bags, nice big bathroom, good shower and lovely big towels. Nice sofa area, good TV. Bowl of sweets a nice touch. Staff pleasant. Great location

Bad bits .......outside of windows really dirty ..... Admittedly weather was foul but had to open window to see if it was raining or not!! Rear carpark packed and difficult to manoeuvre into and out of spaces.

Booked room only as thought breakfast option rather expensive so can't comment on food. Didn't use leisure facilities so can't comment.

Overall enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed on a two night break this weekend. Allocated room 2218 Grove suite, very nice, large, clean and pleasant decor. Back of Hotel and quiet even with weddings both nights next door. Breakfast was two very different experiences. The first day was to be honest a shambles when ordering from the menu.....day two (6th) highly efficient and quality experience - the difference presence of a manager (very good) on duty. The main area that we feel needs addressing is that the leisure facilities are in great need of an update and have fallen behind many other hotels in the area.....appreciating this is not a short term fix,for the price charged it needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip and found it comfortable although some of the bathroom fixtures and fittings do need updating. My room, the Oak Suite, was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent although some black pudding with my friend breakfast would have enhanced it. Will stay here again as the location was superb for the conference centre. Do walk along the road to see the Red Arrow memorial to a pilot tragically killed a few years ago. It is amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

me and my wife had a short break at the menzies and had a very time there the hotel is only about 5 to 10 mins walk from the bars and restaurants , and only 5to 10 mins from the pier , the bar in the hotel is a bit expensive compare to the bars about £11.50 for 2 drinks but saying that ok for the last drink of the night , our room was very clean ,it had tea and coffee, satellite TV and a very nice bathroom ,breakfast was good staff very helpful would go there again, all in all would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammertime952019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is good, rooms are nice, breakfast is good but could start earlier for business use. Staff really friendly, I've stayed 3 weeks in a row, sad I can't get in next week! Will definitely stay again. It's overlooking beach and close enough to walk into town to find somewhere to eat.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank PeteCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
1.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $57 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing