We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely New Year Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice spacious and clean room though bathroom was a little small and the shower was difficult to turn off. Very good breakfast (which was available until 12.00 on New Years day). Staff were very good - pleasant and attentive. Plenty of space in car park. Excellent location on seafront.

Our only negative comment was that our room was quite noisy as it was directly above the ball room / restaurant even though we had asked for a quiet room.

Overall this is nice hotel and we had an enjoyable break though we were surprised that it's a 4*.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip5B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went for a New Year Break and couldn't fault anything, from the time we arrived to the time we left nothing was to much trouble. Staff always had time for you no matter who they were, management included. Food was excellent. Thank you for a enjoyable stay. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePrices67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our son had his wedding reception at the East Cliff Court Hotel on 7th December and
I am writing to express our thanks for the excellent job done by all members of staff at
the hotel. Natasha the 'wedding coordinator' worked very hard to ensure the day ran
smoothly. Chef provided first class food - canapés, three course meals and evening
buffet. The bar staff and waiters/waitresses gave us excellent service. Many of us stayed over and the rooms were spacious and very clean with good facilities. This hotel was perfect for this special day. Every member of staff contributed to make this a wonderful occasion.
THANK YOU.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As usual, staff, who are without exception , so kind and helpful, especially Natasha. Lovely comfortable room at front of hotel with balcony and sea views. Food generally good but the main meals (dinner) were sometimes a bit tough to get into. Other meals were lovely. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappynannaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We took my brother and his wife to Bournemouth to experience the Christmas Market and to do last minute Christmas shopping. I booked 2 rooms at the hotel for 2 nights 20 & 21 December. The hotel is well positioned with excellent views of the sea and pier. We had rooms on the front of the hotel, both with a balcony. The weather was dreadful and it prevented us from seeing much of the Christmas Market, but the hotel staff more than compensated with there helpful and cheerful advice of other places to visit that were sheltered from the weather. The service was always top quality nothing was to much trouble and when the weather improved on the Sunday morning they offered to look after our car and luggage after official checkout so that we could enjoy a walk along the front in the winter sunshine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Last time I stayed at the East Cliff was a disappointment. Stayed Xmas night and booked the evening buffet. It seemed they forgot our booking but made a table up very quickly. The food was absolutely superb. Was informed their would be entertainment in the evening when booking but nothing was laid on.
Our room was lovely with a great sea view. The only reason I would not give it 5 stars was the cheap mattress. It is such a shame that the room was so good but the mattress let it down.
As usual the public parts of the hotel are clean and well presented.

Room Tip: Have found in the past you can get a poor room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I organised my 70th Birthday party to coincide with the Christmas party offer because of the date available and
it couldn't have gone better.
The service received was commented on by all guests without reservation to be second to none and all
guests remarked on the excellence of the food and variety of menu I choose.
The rooms that guests had were very clean and tidy with everything you needed to hand and I enjoyed a sea view at the front.
The value for money is excellent and the Menzies East Court Hotel is in such a pleasant area, that many guests expressed a desire to stay over in the future.
The whole staff at the Menzies acted very professionally and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask reception of your requirements regarding small/larger room, front ,back, side, sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $52 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing