We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Arrived and parked at back of hotel. Left car there all weekend, great.
Reception were welcoming and chatty which was nice.
We had been allocated a suite, which we shouldn't grumble about but one bed was absolutely massive and the other was a tiny single. (better to have split the larger singles) so one of us had to sleep in the single bed. Not funny.
Shower took a while to come hot but was fine, nice towels too and bathrobes.
Location a nice walk along the cliff into town.
There were a lot of Christmas parties going on but that didn't detract from the good service at a very busy breakfast time. The man serving the coffee was very attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSeeSand_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    379
    158
    59
    37
See reviews for
232
459
33
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I can not fault the staff at this hotel. You can imagine arriving a day earlier than expected. The staff had the rooms made up for my family without any fuss and upgraded us to a suite with ocean views. They were so accommodating and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

A very friendly welcome at reception after a long journey is always appreciated(special thanks to the young lady on reception) so the booking in was great. On arrival to my room there was an issue with the lights but it was dealt with efficiently and effectively with a room change.
Room 3302 was fine, it had loads of room, was very clean and more than compensated for the light problem,also with a nice sea view.
The restaurant service both in the evening and morning was excellent with friendly staff who made you feel this was more than a standard 4* hotel.
With regard to value for money? I travel all over the UK on business and this hotel would be in my top 3 for value so much so I will be returning to Bournemouth in January and will of course be staying at East Cliff .

Room Tip: Room 3302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassiethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights with a group of girlfriends. Both nights were Xmas party nights, 3 course meals and DJ. Staff were friendly on arrival and rooms were clean and adequate. Food and breakfast were fab and staff extremely attentive. We enjoyed the spa on the Saturday morning of our stay which was really quiet, just a few guests using the facilities. I had a back and shoulder massage from Shelly, a wonderful therapist, friendly and extremely good at what she does and a really great price of £22.50. All in all a fabulous base to stay in Bournemouth with excellent accommodation and customer services.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoneroamingBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bispham
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed there for one night as we were attending a Christmas party night and celebrating a family birthday. The check in was painless and we were offered a hand with the luggage but declined. We had room 1022 which overlooked the rear car park, a lovely sized room and having seen a smaller room along the hall we were very pleased. The bed was enormous, two large singles but no gap. The shower came on instantly, good pressure but was cold, however, we just had to turn it full on for it to instantly warm up. There was a bowl of rock on the coffee table which was a nice touch, as were the herbal teas. The food, both in the evening and the following morning was lovely and there was a good choice for breakfast. All the staff were friendly, the only downsides were the prices in the bar and a collection of glasses outside our room and others when we arrived which weren't removed until very late in the evening. Overall a lovely stay and I'd stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fazug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel for one night. On arrival hotel looked clean and worthy of a four star rating. However, when entering our room it was cold, damp, the balcony windows were hard to open and close, the shower was TERRIBLE as it had no pressure what so ever, no symbols to identify the hot or cold and was Luke warm at the best. The bathroom window did not open at all and the floor was badly marked. We have paid a lot less and had better experiences. When complained to the reception she was very apologetic but made no offer of resolution other than to send the maintenance team in, which there was no point as we were only there for one night. On departure we complained again and still no gesture of good will or an offer to speak to a higher member of staff was made. We feel that they did not take our complaint seriously.

On a brighter note the breakfast was very good and staff were friendly and helpful in the restaurant.

Just expected a little more for £85 in a four star hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the feedback and I am sorry that you felt room 3307 was not up to a four star standard.This is frustrating as you booked a standard double room and we upgraded you at no additonal charge. You refer to the doors being difficult to open, i have checked the room and the only reason they may of been was due to the door catches at the top which you may not of seen, in my opinion they are fine.I have spoken to the reception team who have demonstrated to me that they did do a courtesy call upon arrival and you advised everthing was ok, the receptionist worked both the shift you arrived and the following day and said that you only commented about the shower upon check out.Not an excuse but we were full when you stayed and occasionally if everyone showers or baths at the same time they may not be sufficient hot water.I have checked the shower and it appears to have sufficient pressure.I do value your feedback and should you wish to return please do contact me personally to arrange a preferential rate.With kind regards Paul Clarke, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just returned from long weekend in Bournemouth, staying at Menzies East Cliff Court. We cannot praisse this hotel highly enough!! The hotel was spotlessly clean, we were half-board and every meal was absolutely delicious with plenty of choice. but the "icing on the cake" was the hotel staff!
Every member of staff we encountered, in the restaurant, the bar, the reception and the rooms, had the perfect combination of being friendly, obliging and yet utterly professional. Whoever does the staff training at the East Cliff Court certainly deserves a pat on the back!!

We will try other Menzies hotels sometime, to see whether the high level of service we received at this hotel is standard across the chain, but we will definitely be returning to the East Cliff Court, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing