We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, parking lot view, breakfast is the only saving grace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I was here on business, typical midweek one night stay. Upon check in my boss and I were given two separate doubles. My room was tiny with a parking lot view. The TV was nearly touching the bed and I had to push it out of the way but then couldn`t sit down on the chair. Naturally I went to ask to be moved and the answer I got was appaling. The receptionist said "We are not busy tonight, but you paid for standard room so you can`t be moved". I have not been requesting an upgrade, just a normal room their website shows, Anyway in the night there was no air con and it was extremelly hot, but I couldn`t open the window because my room was on the ground floor and I was scared someone might just climb in while I sleep. Breakfast were good.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank londongirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. Very contempory, stylish rooms, with everything you could need. The bathroom was also lovely with easy to use bath shower and lots of soft towels. We had a great view of the beach and there was even a small balcony.

The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was very attentive. There was even a piano player, which made it a real classic romantic atmosphere.

The reception staff were vere very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to assist. Overall, our trip was very relaxing and enjoyable and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Like a couple of other posters on this site, we arrived at reception for our 3 night stay and they denied any knowledge of our booking, even though we had booked through hotel website. Luckily, we had taken our confirmation with us. The room allocated to us was TINY and the furniture was extremely tired looking & dated. I sat on the edge of the bed and promptly sank, on investigation, nearly all of the springs on one side of the matress had completely gone.Housekeeper then makes an obligatory call to your room to check al is ok, to give them credit, they immediately offered to replace the matress, however 5 minutes later, reception called and said they would upgrade us & offered us a suite. Porter arrived within 10 minutes to assist the move.Breakfast was good but the service not great, in fact one day after ordering tea & toast 3 times, we finally gave up! A lot of conferences going on at the hotel, with so many people there on business, it does not make for a relaxing holiday atmosphere. Don't expect a thrilling evening at the hotel, the bar was empty and one night had even closed by 10pm, although try the Carlton (next door) as they were more welcoming. All in all, there was just something missing, no personal touch, although staff were efficient. I would rate this a 3* and if your unlucky enough to get the first room we were given, not even that rating.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HertsWrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We are a couple from NZ, we stayed at the Menzies for 2 nights on a short trip to Bournemouth. The hotel was clean, warm and had a great selection of tea,coffee and biscuits that were frequently renewed. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help. The hotel is in a good location, an easy walk to either the pier, oceanarium or the town centre. Excellent value for money (£65/night online booking).

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncs_Aunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

Excellent in all senses - with the service at reception, lounge bar and in restaurant being "that little bit extra". Food at breakfast was very good with a very attentive staff.
Room on the third room was spacious and very comfortable - a small problem with "bleeding" of a radiator being dealt with very quickly and efficiently.
Talked to many other guests who keep coming back to this hotel and we definitely shall be!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BarEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Booked hotel through their own website which was cheaper than any sites we could find. Opted for 2 day leisure break, which providing one night was a Friday, Saturday or Sunday gave a cheaper option.
Staff all very nice and welcoming. Our room 3302 was a side room but with view of beach and sea from the window. The hotel does have functions/parties but this room is far enough away for this not to be a problem.
Nice touches (as well as coffee making facilities in the room) were free water and sweets. Housekeeping came round early evening to check if we needed any more coffee etc.
Bathroom must have been refurbished very recently and was one of the cleanest hotel bathrooms we have ever seen.
Breakfast was good - buffet juice, fruit and cereals and hot cooked to order. Dinner was excellent although surprisingly few guests used the restaurant.
Hotel is across the road from the beach but we were using it for an enjoyable way of doing the Christmas shopping. Good selection of quality stores and shops within 10 minutes walk. Plenty of restautrants, cinema and theatre also only 10 minutes walk. A very enjoyable couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We booked this one night stay on the morning we travelled through lastminute.com. The price for the room we booked if you walk in off the street is £195. We paid £115 for one a one night stay including breakfast so it is well worth checking around.
The staff could not be faulted for their smartness, friendliness and approachability. We had no problems with our stay but other guests with larger families had all their needs attended to in a swift eficient manner.
The hotel itself is tastefully decorated and very up together for a property of its age. Other facilites including an indoor pool, gym and jaccuzzi are situated at the sister hotel next door.
The rooms are well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, sweets and bottles of water!
There was a huge choice for breakfast. Most opted for the buffet style cooked breakfast. Continental breakfast, cereals and alternative food was also available.
Car parking was easy and you are permitted to use the car park all day after checking out.
The location is superb and offers views of the dorset coast. It is as it sounds situated on a cliff but there are lifts scattered along the length of the beach that take you up or down for a small charge!
The only thing to put a damper on the one night stay was the Rugby World Cup final!!!!!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buster2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $68 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing