We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Situated on the cliff edge, the Hotel is in a lovely location, not just for the beach but close enough for a walk into the town or far enough to be away from it all.
The reception and bar area are very welcoming, the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Everywhere was spotless and well maintained.
The dinning room was a liitle dated in decor but the service was good. .........for breakfast there was a lot of choice, the food was well cooked and replenished. We also had evening meal during our stay, which was included in the price. For three courses you had four choices and the food was lovely. The wine wasnt too bad either and reasonable priced.
Because we were there in the winter months we didnt use the pool but it looked a great area to chill.
I would definatly return to this Hotel as i would like to try out a sea view room.

Room Tip: we initially asked for a sea view but got upgraded to a suite. This didnt disappoint, the room was h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you live long enough to climb the stairs to reception, and avoid falling over the inner threshold, your experience will be a pleasurable one. The rooms are ENORMOUS. really lovely, and the beds are very comfortable too;:the whole experience is somewhat compromised though when you enter the third world bathroom! Still, time spent in that abode is, by its very nature, limited. Restaurant is rather chilly in decor but this is compensated for by the staff, who are absolutely lovely. Nothing is too much trouble. We went in February - I would imagine that, in somewhat warmer climes, the view, balcony and even swimming pool, would be an attractive draw. Would I go back? - Yes I would - and I'd even put on those thermals and go again in February because there are some great deals!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone . From the moment I arrived until I left I couldn't fault the service which was prompt, friendly and efficient at all times . Rooms were spotless, well stocked with all essentials with extra touches too ie. even a shoe shine and sewing kit and the bed was extremely comfortable.Dining both in evening and in the morning was delicious with plenty of choice, presentation lovely and a good selection of wines. The Gym in the Carlton could do with a lick of paint and some new mirrors but the equipment was fine and the pool and spa were lovely and warm .. All in all an excellent hotel and excellent value too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a weekend booked at the Carlton and then a phone call on the day to say they were overbooked so would we stay next door at the East Cliff Court with an upgrade to a Seaview room. No complaints there. Did what it says on the tin.............superb!

However, breakfast was a nightmare. The quality of the guests was quite appalling. The Tattoed Hen Mob were in. Coming down to Breakfast in bare feet. Restaurant manager said nothing!!

Average breakfast.

Great room. Nice staff. Awful guests, shambolic breakfast.

Nuff said!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goan_and_Indian_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just stayed at the Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth over the weekend. First time at a Menzies Hotel as they have never been where I have needed to stay. This hotel is really excellent in every respect and for the bed and breakfast price really good value in terms of facilities, bedroom amenities and the staff service and friendliness.

We stayed here because we were visiting Bournemouth to see a show and although we would have been more central if we had stayed at the Premier Inn or some other town centre hotel, the leisurely five minute walk is nothing at all. Also the Premier Inn was quite a bit more expensive and the facilities wouldn’t been as half as good.

I know I keep repeating myself but the hotel was really excellent.
Reasons:
Check in – No problem, friendly receptionist and no problems here.
Bedroom – Sea view with a balcony, really comfy king size bed, smart bathroom with shower and bath.
Restaurant – Only had breakfast but what we did have was great, had a ham and cheese omelette which was smashing, all food piping hot which is a rarity even in the most upscale hotels.

Have seen the odd (they must be odd) person making the negative comments about this hotel and all I can think is they must have clicked on the wrong hotel when they were writing their review, because I loved this hotel and would definitely come back again and recommend it to my Parents as a weekend away even though they only live down the coast in Southampton.

Room Tip: Sea view at the front of the hotel with a balcony, pay the extra it is worth
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank looknow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A week ago I went to England to catch up with my firends. In Bournemouth, I stayed at Menzies Hotel with one of my best girlfriends. We had a beautiful newly refurbished suite to ourselves! In the evening we decided to stay and have dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was a very good choice as the food was delicious. The staff were very nice and attentive. I always stay at the hotel when I visit Bournemouth and each time it's been a great experience. I especially recommend it in summer as it's very close to the stunning Bournemouth beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at this hotel.this is warts and all.Started off badly as our booking was transferred for some reason to the Sister hotel the Carlton next door,but the duty manager David sorted that out in minutes and everything from then on went great .Lovely room 1107,sea view as booked ,we took the half board option,food of good quality and the staff really attentive ,particularly Natasha.Very reasonable wine list.
Bedroom clean and good facilities as one would expect from the 4 stars.and the hotel is in a very good position for walking access to beach and town centre.We will be booking again but for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and on the front ,but rooms generally are a personal choice ,we just like...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,526 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $67 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing