We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough for a stag weekend”
Review of MaeMar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MaeMar Hotel
Ranked #120 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
1 review
“Decent enough for a stag weekend”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Look, top hotels just dont want us on stag weekends so this fits the bill. Rooms were ok, all with bathroom, Bar was open whatever time! We could walk into town and back again! it wasnt the ritz but then we didnt pay for the ritz!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    28
    31
    72
See reviews for
30
45
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I went to the Maemar on a stag party and it did the job. I would not want to take my family there. The room was clean and secure with a basic TV. However, the shower was a small trickle of either boiling or freezing water. The location of the hotel is good as it's ten minutes walk to the town centre and has a bar at the reception.
This is a noisy hotel full of people coming home in the early hours. The breakfast was awful. We had to clear our own table as they were all dirty and had a ten minute minute wait for greasy food. We didn't bother on the second morning.
All-in-all, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozzyclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Although the name is Maemar hotel shouln't be call hotel at all, some services were not provided or late. Like Room service, we left the room at 10 am after a very sad, and greasy breakfast, we come back at 6pm and our room wasn't done, we were laying in bed when around 6.30 the housekeeper came to check if we needed room service!! Quite late don't you think!
The receptionist was very helpful, he changed us the room as the heating was noisy, he was very friendly with us.
Common rooms were very lonely and a little bit sad. There was a drunk lady, drinking wine early in the morning walking around the tv room bare feet, not very welcoming when you cross the main door.
It is in a very good location, close to town centre and beach. Breakfast room felt a little lonely as we were the only ones, maybe because the offer is not very wide and they take you to the basement for it, so you don't have a nice window to have some natural light.
I won't be coming back, but if you want to spend little money that is what you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinita-Kuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

The staff were very hard to understand.
Room temperature was stifling on arrival. Uncleanliness throughout the whole of the hotel, including the bedding.
Room was unclean containing hairs in the shower, in the sink, on and in the toilet and also some hairs found in the bed. The carpet looked as if it had not been hovered for at least 2 weeks, dirty marks were also found on the walls, ceiling and the radiator.
Double room contained two single mattresses on a double base. Constant noise throughout the night making it very difficult to get sleep, The kettle for the room was a different make for the base meaning making a hot drink was very hard.
If choosing this hotel I would recommend cleaning products such as bleach to be taken in luggage.
*Photos on the website were nothing like the actual hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadz22C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

It really depends on what you want. I went to this hotel as part of a 16-strong stag party. As far as I'm concerned, it's not a hotel that you book into for a week as part of a holiday and expect have a great night's sleep. For 1 night stays or party weekends, it does it's job.

The few staff that I saw seemed really friendly. Everywhere looked very clean, tidy and fresh. The rooms are possibly recently redecorated.

Location wise, it's walking distance from the beach and the centre.

The main negative point is that the beds are awful. Incredibly soft. However, if you're not planning on staying in bed for too long ( I was in it for just over 2 hours) then it doesnt cause a massive problem.

The bar and lounge area is perfectly suitable with a large screen tv on the wall and a pool table.

Breakfast was half decent aswell. Eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, hash browns all freshly cooked and put out for you to help yourself along with the usual cereal and toast.

Would I go again? If I was going again for the same purpose and with people who didnt want to pay more for a better hotel...then yes, I possibly would.

Would I recommend it? Maybe not but I wouldnt warn anybody against it either.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flumeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyk/Island of Föhr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Terrible beds, rooms not cleaned and maintained properly, showers did not work on a regular basis -sometimes only cold water-, no change of towels, dining room too small, long queues at the breakfast bar, sacks packed with laundry in the corridor, run-down hotel, guests verbally abusing other guests were not forced to leave the hotel, stag parties dominating the whole place.
Anyway: Staff very friendly, waiter in the dining room very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penzanceregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2009

arrived on a sunny monday in sept, rooms ok had a funny smell but clean,beds not great but clean, breakfast fine. dinner awful. had no idea at all needs serious help soon, staff ok really felt bit sorry for em.showers cold awful. would never go again, no entertainment so we ate out every night ,and found our own entertainment, 29 on our coach all very very disapointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roddybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liza Inn
Liza Inn
#48 of 132 in Bournemouth
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 132 in Bournemouth
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MaeMar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaeMar Hotel

Property: MaeMar Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MaeMar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your MaeMar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing