We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay at The Bournemouth Maemar Hotel”
Review of MaeMar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MaeMar Hotel
Ranked #119 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I had gone to Bournemouth with my parents for an overnight stay. Since it was just a matter of one night I was looking at some place cheap, just good enough for sleeping and getting presentable as we'd be spending most of our time on the beach. Also I was searching a hotel just 3 days before the long weekend and still wanted it cheap :P

This hotel had the cheapest triple room on the block (ensuite and including breakfast). I had read reviews of it not being any good. What with earlier reviews here stating someone had their stuff stolen, I was very wary. But then the hotel was recently refurbished. So I thought for the price its worth a try.

Price: 55 pounds for 3 adults (triple room) including breakfast.

Check in was a breeze. Just gave my name and filled in a form. The room was on the second floor. The lift is quite a recent addition it seems and it is just next to the stairs. Its a small lift enough for 2 (it just about does it works).

The triple room was clean, though it was small (not much space for moving around). There were two single beds and 1 bunk bed. So actually 4 could sleep if needed. The beddings were sufficient but the pillows were thin ! The bathroom was clean and linens were well provided. There was one single wardrobe and a full length albeit small mirror.

Tea/Coffee making machine and a small TV with a desk and chair was the rest of the furnishing. The locking system on the door was a queer so it would have been great if the staff explained this to guests upfront.

The hotel is decent. Not very big. There is a small bar with a big TV and sofas next to the reception (which we did not use). They hotel had pamphlets for the sight seeing and hotels near by. The staff was courteous.

Hot and Cold Breakfast was served. The usual fried egg, bacon, sausages, potatoes, cereals, juices, jams, toast etc. For the price, the breakfast and room were really worth it.

Negative: There was no hot water in the evening when we returned from the beach. We informed the staff and he tried his best to be helpful, saying they are working on the problem. After that there was just about lukewarm (not cold) water. Not impressive ! We thought the next morning would be better but it was no good. If they work on getting this sorted out then I would definitely recommend them with fervour to friends looking for a no frills place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prajtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 199 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2009

The lobby looked ok when we arrived, it had a huge fish tank in the foyer although apon reflection i could have sworn i saw one of the fish mouthing "run for you lives" from behind the glass! The locks on the doors of the rooms were broken and a few members of our party were locked out for an hour because they were too tight to call a lock smith( who ended up kicking the door in). The rooms were small and badly decorated and there was'nt room to swing a cat in the bathroom. The sink was blocked and nothing was done when reported and the shower was comparable to standing under a leaky gutter. Items were stolen from our room and it was seriosly over priced. Final impression- Avoid like the plague

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hairman_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cartersclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laird_craigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chewyryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tintin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentgirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#22 of 134 in Bournemouth
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#25 of 134 in Bournemouth
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#79 of 134 in Bournemouth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MaeMar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaeMar Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $36 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MaeMar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your MaeMar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing