We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not revisit”
Review of MaeMar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MaeMar Hotel
Ranked #120 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked this hotel as we needed to be near the Port for our ferry to France. The hotel is like a bad seventies relic, beds were uncomfortable and were 60's divans. Colour scheme of room was loud and nothing matched. The lock on the window was broken so anyone could have broken in while we were out of the room. It was fixed when we got back but in a very 'gash way'. None of the staff seem to have much interest in their jobs. We left very early to catch a ferry and was told that there would be a night security member of staff on duty, however he or she was no where to be seen. Parking can also be a problem as the streets were packed with vehicles, did manage to find somewhere eventually.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minxy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest. We have only recently purchased next door which was the part of the building you stayed in, and is due to updated this all takes time. My staff are always happy to help, we have a porter on 24hrs who checks around the hotel at least on an hourly basis perhaps he was doing this at the time you checked out. I can not see my staff were not interested in their job when you got the window fixed all bit temporarily. Weekends are very busy here and yes parking can be a problem we can only offer limited parking at a cost of £6.00 per day. But there is 2 public car parks close @ the cost of £9.00 24hrs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staff were friendly/happy to help.... Hotel location is perfect if your planning on have a overnight stay..... Room was clean and tidy, but beds were really uncomfortable..

But having said that the room was spotlessly clean so no complains there.

My may issue,about hotel is the lack of security in and round hotel.

Room lock didn't work properly,we had a completely strange come into our door in the early hours of the morning!

The front door of the hotel wasn't locked and for some reason the hotel allowed homeless people to sleep in the reception area of the hotel which I found strange and not good practice..Especially as there running business and guests have paid £45 plus for a room.

I feel this hotel wasn't good value for money, the hotel needs a good revamp and to renew there policy on security within the hotel..... .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest, We are pleased that overall you found your stay acceptable. The doors do lock, you have to lock from the inside by pushing the button in the middle of the handle and turning it then close the door then it is locked key you just need to unlock with. We do not allow homeless people to sleep on our sofas, We have stag groups and sometimes one or two of them fall asleep on sofas our night staff do try to wake them and get them to their rooms but this is not always possible they have had 1 to many drinks, so usually best to leave them. Revamping in the pipeline to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The floor of my room was covered in long gray hairs. The shower didn't function properly and the eastern European Night Porter was more interested in playing the fruit machine than getting a fork for my food as I'd lost my plastic one after a heavy night on the tiles. Breakfast is average as the bacon appears to be boiled and there's more meat in a butchers pencil compared to the sausages they offered. I urge you to look elsewere as there's plenty of competition in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preddi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest, Our rooms are checked daily, we were not aware of any problems with your carpet it of been reported we could of sorted this out for you. Our bacon is grilled not boiled and sausages are butchers sausages. We had no other complaints regarding breakfast and we were very busy on that weekend. The night porter we shall speak to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good location. Room was a good size and was clean. Reasonably priced. Would happily stay here again . Much better then I was expecting. The double bed was two singles pushed together with slightly different mattress heights, but wasn't really an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starlightlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

From the moment we got to the entrance of the Maemar Hotel I was embarrassed to be standing there.
Firstly we were asked to sign in and were given our room key, we went up the filthy gum covered stairs to the third floor and when we opened the door a couple were already staying in the room and the receptionist gave us a different room, I felt very safe leaving me personal items after that!

Our room: the bed sheets were stained, the mattress extremely stained, the radiator covered in rubbish, the bedside cabinet has paint splatters along the top, the curtains are falling off of the rail. Down the sides of the beds are thick with dust, my allergies have been terrible all night, is it really that hard to Hoover?
Yuck.

The sleep: we were up all night (I'm writing this at 7am) if someone walks in the rooms next to you, EVERYTHING shakes, you can hear a banging and creaking sound and our bed moves!
Music blaring until late, then numerous stag do's arrived back at 1, 1.30 and 3.49, and which points we jumped up.

So unimpressed with this "hotel". Given other people's room keys, dirt everywhere, waiting ages to get the key back to our room (you have to hand it in every time you go out) and paper thin walls.

NEVER again. This one night cost £60 for 2 of us, not even slightly worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

good cheap b+b nice breakfast staff friendly close to beach parking was extra across the road for £6 for 24hours or the street was free fairly close to shopping centre good shower tea and coffee there is a bar that looked nice as well

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markgill200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and you found the staff nice and friendly. We hope to see you back again.

Kind Regards Manageress Maemar Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went down to stay here with a bunch of friends for a stag weekend! Had a great time. Staff very friendly and helpful forgot my shirt after checking out. Called the reception and they kindly posted my shirt to me the next day.! Great service.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gally-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Ian,
Thanks for great review & customer care is our central focus. From the feedback, we are finding it really rewarding and motivating that our guests are liking what we are doing to our B&B. It was really nice to meet you all and hope we will see you back in the future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#8 of 132 in Bournemouth
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MaeMar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaeMar Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $34 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MaeMar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your MaeMar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing