We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but lack of communication let them down”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The hotel itself was lovely, very cute, clean and friendly staff. The location was brilliant for what we wanted - close to beach and shops. HOWEVER... me and my partner were desperate for a quiet weekend away, a nice relaxing night away from out busy periods at work. The hotel failed to let us know there was a christmas party on at the time of our stay and decided to put us in a room right next to the event. Because we watched a film, we didnt realise the party was going on until we'd turned the film off and tried to go to sleep. It seemed after 11pm the music just got louder and louder. I rang through to reception and asked how long it would be going on for and was told until 1am!! I wasn't best pleased. We had a very disturbed sleep which was a shame because the room was very cute and comfortable. Later at around 3am we realised that a large group from the christmas party were staying above us and kept us up even later! We went away feeling more exhausted than when we arrived which wasn't brilliant for a long drive home along a motorway! I politely told the staff it would have been nice to know in advance so we could have requested a different room or even a different hotel and all they replied with was "oh, weren't you told?" no apology and we still had to pay full price. We couldn't really afford to go away but we were in such need for a relaxing night. What a waste. I have since emailed the hotel but heard nothing back. A shame that a lack of communication let this lovely hotel down,

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey_poynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 869 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2009

I was very impressed with the hotel and the service, some of the reviews here seem to forget that theres a balance between quality and cost which I thought was very good. Id say GO and decide for yourself, I did and was very happy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le-gall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Booked my business coleagues into this little gem of a hotel. Very different from the standard tourist destinations in the town, smaller is absolutley better. Great service from the staff, nothing too much trouble. Central location, parking , clean rooms, nice decor. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fos123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Don't bother going to this hotel! We stayed one night last weekenfd for a friends wedding. When you enter the hotel the reception is quite nice This it where it ends though. On our arrival we weren't sure where reception was so looked into the first doorway. A woman behind the curtains shouted to us that it was the next door and to follow the sign! She was quite rude in saying this too. The sign was actually flat against the wall and you couldn't see it from entering the hotel.

Floors were disgusting actually - obviously never heard of a cleaner or even a hoover! Too busy blowing leaves outside to be interested in the cleanliness of the inside.

I ordered a bottle of champagne when booking online and never received it.

We had a double room booked - large wardrobe with more than enough room. Beds were 2 singles pushed together - one was higher than the other! Blinds in the room were broken so had to try and sleep whilst the lights from the road outside glared through! Toilet was separate to the bathroom - no problem with this. Shower - completely soaked the entire bathroom trying to have a shower. It had one of them terrible glass doors and the shower was very powerful (which was good) but sprayed water everywhere!

There was actually a tea bag lying on the floor of the bathroom when we first went into room!

All in all I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I guess it's okay if you just want somewhere to lay your head after a night out partying but for anything else - definitely not!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraqUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Really dissapointed, thought this looked a lovely place to get away for a relaxing weekend. Wanted it to be really luxurious and special. From the outside and when you enter the reception and see the bar it looks really nice. The dining room and outside courtyard are lovely but the actual bedrooms are really nothing special, pretty rough around the edges. We found in the mini fridge chicken left behind from the previous guests, so we went to tell reception who really were not interested. We complained about how dissapointed we were with our room, big cracks down the wall, light fitting hanging off in the bathroom. After changing rooms, the next day a bottle of champagne appeared in our room and we stupidly thought it was a good will jesture only to find when we checked out they were charging us for it and insisting we had ordered it when we did not! So our stay started out with a bad start, it got better when we moved rooms, only to be stressed out again by them trying to charge us for a bottle of champagne we had never ordered. Luckily for us we did not drink it and we gave it back. The website is very misleading. There was no complimentary newspaper, no Molton & Brown toiletries just cheap nasty ones. Hot water for your tea in the dining room is in a flask and not as much choice at breakfast as the web site states. Also we were told by the receptionist when checking out and we again mentioned our dissapointment that the hotel is in the process of being taken over. What on earth does that have to do with it??? Dont state these things on your website if your cant provide them.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillyfishDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The money spent on this hotel has been used to make the public areas trendy with a boutique, Asian feel, however the rooms leave a lot to be desired. A few trendy pictures, don't make a boutique hotel, room very tired, old fashioned patterned carpet, unusable shower, poor bathroom amenities, plastic cups, dirty and unappealing.
Cheap fittings and furniture, no drawers, rickety wardrobe. 12" old style TV, no satellite channels - however FREE wireless.
Beware before booking, check reviews and customer photos.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Website and reality miles apart. We had a gound floor room which wasn't clean and looked very tired.
Continental breakfast was poorly presented and not very appertising. Coffee,tea and toast was a diy affair.
Overall we were very disappointed in this supposedly boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 67 in Bournemouth
935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 67 in Bournemouth
940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $88 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing