We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel friendly helpful staff breakfast excellent room Lovely clean and comfortable. We had a mini fridge in our room which was brilliant and an iron and ironing board which came in handy. Walking distance to beach and town. We would definately stay here again :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Traci M,

Thank you very much for your feedback

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    187
    94
    69
    46
See reviews for
119
394
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of months back.The staff it's so helpful,our room was nice and fresh,the food was excellent aswell.Quite close to the beach and the city centre. All for 40 quid with breakfast included ,so that's a really good price...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatalinaCapraru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear CatalinaCapraru,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently first impressions where that the hotel was dated ,the staff are very good and helpful went to our room and were a little disappointed as the room was dark even though we were on the front ,the walls had large cracks in them over the door and the decor was very dated, the bathroom was large with a shower over the bath and a side glass to stop water going over the floor this was sealed to the bath so getting to turn the tap on for the shower was difficult you had to get in the bath to turn the tap on and all you got for about three or four minutes was cold water all over you this is not very good, and the taps keeped on dripping.
We had workmen working in the hotel with wires and thing all over the place in the bar area and also under our room making lots of noise as i said our room was on the front and we also had lots of noise from the road which did not help when you wanted to sleep.
The restaurant was only open for breakfast ,The breakfast was ok but we have had better.On a good note.this hotel is in a good position to get round the town also lots of bars and restaurants i don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear ron r,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are currently going through refurbishment and we understand this may cause disruption at times.

I apologize for the disappointing stay and I hope you will give us another chance after the refurbishment.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A very Nice and peaceful hotel with Great staff and great Breakfast also. Location is also good as it is near the City Centre. A bus station is near the hotel so travelling is quite easy. Room was good and bathroom was good too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear stkurt,

Tha nk you very much for your review, it is always great to hear such positive feedback regarding our staff.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is very good , we enjoyed our stay,breakfast is very good,great selection to choose from.. Great location very close to the beach and central area and the staff are very helpful and friendly.we checked out early for our flight and we were offered early breakfast.Clean towels and toiletries provided.

Room Tip: Room 201 was ok altough was a bit difficult to enter room with baby pushchair as room door and fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graziella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Graziella F,

Thank you for your positive feedback and were glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Booked this hotel for my Birthday treat with husband,son and girlfriend.Lovely 2 double rooms on 1st floor Ours was shower only but with great hot water,and they had a shower over the bath.Great comfy nights sleep,although the workmen came at 7 am and were making noises near our sons room. Breakfast was a full english or other hot food choices with toast, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and pastries.plenty of juices coffee and tea.Great start to the day.Very friendly helpful staff, disabled lift available 24 hr bar. great choice for our 2 night break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Rhona11,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

The Orchid hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife's birthday weekend in Bournemouth. We got to our room which was room 206 and basically in the attic. The walls were dirty with marks all over them. The valance sheet on the bed didn't look as though it had been changed for months if longer as it had dirty marks all the way round it. Plaster coming off walls and electric wires showing in the Bathroom. Not worth £160 for two nights. I will not be going back there at all but staff were very friendly and breakfast good. It should be for that price. Front of house very nice but owners need to spend a bit of money on the basics ie. Rooms and décor.

Room Tip: Don't get room 206 or you will be very disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear david s,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Orchid Hotel.

Dont get the room in the attic? I understand you did not like it however it is clearly a preference. There have been several tripadvisor responses which showed room 206 (and 306) are perhaps not suited for everyone. Some guests love it and some don't.

Overall our cleanliness shows to be good, both by feedback directly at the hotel, from tripadvisor comments and from feedback from our online partners.

As mentioned before, best is to let us know when you are here as posting it on tripadvisor afterwards still might spoil your weekend and does not give us a chance to sort things. If we were shown there was an issue with the cleanliness this would have been sorted right away as it is not acceptable. You also requested a quiet room as i just read on your booking notes, rooms 206 and 306 are normally quiet rooms and therefore it had been allocated to you.

I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast and friendliness to staff.

Again thank you very much fro your feedback, and please give us another chance in a different room.

Kind regards,

The Orchid Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Property: The Orchid Hotel
Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing