We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Colcannon.”

O'Neill's Bournemouth
Ranked #278 of 742 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You'll always find a warm welcome at O'Neill's in Bournemouth. Ours is a place where you're free to go with the flow. Where great food and drink is always served with a smile. And where, no matter whether you're a regular or a newcomer, our friendly team will make you feel at home. Irish pubs are known for their hospitality - a point we love proving here at O'Neill's in Bournemouth. We are one of the best pubs in Bournemouth for Irish food, drink and atmosphere. Come and see for yourself - drop by for a bite to eat, to watch some sport, to enjoy our live music or just for the craic. Slainte!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Colcannon.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I called here recently for Lunch when I had a few days in Bournemouth.
The Ultimate Sausage and Colcannon was delicious washed down with a Pint of Smithwicks.
There was no Music when I called, I will return another time.
Great service from the friendly Irish barman.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuldJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    47
    20
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Brilliant friendly lively pub with live music sensibly priced drinks and a great atmosphere!! Would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good night out!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SiMclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe if they served us...”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I recently went to Bournemouth for a weekend away, we had a nice time around the town and at about 10:30 we walked up to the bar in O'Neill's to order a cocktail and a coke. 15 minutes we stood there attempting to get both the barman's attention and service. Both made eye contact with us occasionally but carried on serving other people, other customers were just walking up to the bar and ordering their drinks and getting served almost immediately but we for some reason were ignored! Sorry to say we won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James2898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Bar!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bar split into 2 area's. First area is a traditional bar with seating and TV. Second area hosts live music. Both bars are great, beer is kept well, great look and feel to the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to go for a great night out”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've never eaten here so this review is about the night life (although I have heard from colleagues it's lovely food-wise). This is one of my favourite bars in Bournemouth. I don't know what it advertises itself as but I would imagine it's a 25 and older age group. It's a great place if you don't want to be surrounded by messing youngsters and pop music. They always have live bands at the weekends and although some of them will never "make it" they are always good enough to dance and have a laugh to. There is seating or standing, whichever you prefer and although by the band can be quite loud and not great for chatting, there are other areas in the bar which are better if you want to go for a few quiet ones and a chat. I love the atmosphere here, very easy and casual and not in the slightest bit pretentious. Getting served is always relatively quick and the bar staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. I really don't have anything bad to say about the place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorggirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Neill's Bournemouth also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to O'Neill's Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing