We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Bournemouth
Post
Inbox
Search

“Unwelcoming and Disappointing visit”
Review of Conto Lounge

Conto Lounge
Ranked #14 of 97 Quick Bites in Bournemouth
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Conto Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went today for breakfast, on telling them my allergy they made it very unwelcoming. I am allergic to mushrooms and ordered the lounge breakfast, I understand that some items can not be guaranteed to be free of things, but I have never heard of a sausage, bacon, tomato, toast etc having mushrooms in it, I asked are they cooked separate and the lady just kept going on about how they can’t guarantee the sausage doesn’t have mushrooms in, such a deal was made by the staff I decided I would choose another option but felt I would get the same response so we chose to leave and go elsewhere. Would I return?? Probably not as the staff made such a fuss and made me feel informer if other customers that having an allergy was an issue. Go round the corner to the bay tree Better value and service!!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank zipster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conto L, General Manager at Conto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thanks for your feedback.

We train all staff to high standards and take allergens very seriously. We have a duty of care to go through our company policy in order to help you choose foods that are safe for you to eat, when ordering with an allergy.
We had no intention of making you feel bad and am so sorry that on this occasion it was not the experience you had hoped for. We pride ourselves on our efficient and friendly service and feel as though we have let you down.
If you would like to discuss this further please contact us at conto@thelounges.co.uk.

Hope to welcome you again soon.
Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 296 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

Good brunch menu and quick service, despite being a fairly busy time. The food was tasty, the only criticism would be that the poached eggs were soft but weren’t runny. Otherwise excellent!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Lilgem1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conto L, Manager at Conto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Thank you for taking time to review our Lounge, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and will do our best to improve! Hope to see you soon and we will get those eggs perfect for you on your next visit.

Conto Lounge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Great menu, nice staff and parking outside! Very nice, couldn’t ask for more from a brunch time destination.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank PortsmouthClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conto L, Manager at Conto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2019

Hello!
We are happy you are pleased with our lounge and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thanks for your awesome feedback!

The Conto Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Great food. Friendly staff. Amazing drinks. What's not to love about the Conto Lounge! Nothing!!!!!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contolounge, Manager at Conto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Hi Sharron,

Thank you for your amazing feedback!
We are so glad you love Conto Lounge and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

The Conto Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

We have been aiming to conto loubge for years and nothing is ever too much for the managers. Even when making a complaint it is dealt with quickly and swiftly (doesn't happen very often though) in a professional and empathetic manner. We bring all our friends and tell everyone about Conto!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank William5569885558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contolounge, Manager at Conto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Hi there William,

Thank you for the fantastic review, we are glad you love Conto Lounge as much as we do and we look forward to seeing you again!

The Conto Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conto Lounge also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Conto Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing