We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cakes in Bournemouth”
Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
Ranked #10 of 18 Dessert in Bournemouth
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best cakes in Bournemouth”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The cakes are great and there's a lot of variety. I've not tried all the food but it's continental style and what I've had has been fine. Coffee and tea are fine.

Service is good and firendly, prices are reasonable given the quality of the food.

The down side is the restaurant space which is small and the tables are jammed together so, when busy, it's not too relaxing and can get noisy.

If you want to chill I'd avoid peak times.

There are some outside seats but they are always in shade and the outlook is one of the grottier areas of Bournemouth town centre.

Seems very popular with foreign visitors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidfzb78g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    19
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booking a room-only with our hotel, we were disappointed in the quality of the breakfast the hotel provided at additional cost. What a delight to find this little place - an excellent breakfast of poached eggs, bacon, a high quality sausage, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes, beans & four pieces of toast with butter, with coffee - all for a few pence more than our hotel was charging for a breakfast of inferior quality.

The staff are courteous, friendly & the service is very good. The menu is very good & offers other alternatives for breakfasts as well as pastries & light meals during the day. The premises are smart, well presented & very clean. The convenience is likewise very clean & well provisioned, lacking only the availability of an air-freshener.

Altogether, for a light meal, coffee, & pastry, or a breakfast this establishment is ideal, & we shall probably be returning again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrThundercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Class joint for a Sunday Morning !!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I found this place on Sunday morning and couldn't walk by after looking at the menu ! Its a great place for Sundays and I found the Girl inside very helpful with my choice ( She did look tired ) ..I'm very friendly and maybe this helps the waitress ! Maybe some people expect V friendly people without giving a smile themselves !!! Croissants and cakes Lovely ! Will go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pandasfromhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wow...just look in the window and your hooked,there's no walking away.These cakes are so moreish at a great price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vinny191252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a treasure! We love our coffee and cake, but we have been very surprised how lovely cafe this is! We vere just after something sweet, but end up having lunch and superb cakes :-) Place was very busy as you expect on Saturday, but soon as we came in, big smile, friendly chat and our table was ready in two minutes. Freshly made BLT and Valerie Club followed by chocolate cake and tart, great great great! Service was very friendly and even the place was full, they manage to keep everyone happy.
Will come back very soon, love it...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing