We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paul”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A very comfortable one night stay in this delightful hotel. The owners Dexter and Otilla were there to greet us and could not have been more helpful and friendly. It was interesting to see a house so beautifully renovated and very different from most hotels and so much nicer than a large chain. Everywhere looked spotless and we had an excellent breakfast. Certainly we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Chalfield Manor in a superior room and could not have picked a better hotel. The whole place was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated. The proprietors Dexter and Otilla have done a great job and could not have done enough for us and made us very welcome. Would certainly use again and would highly recommend to others. You could not want for a better hotel.

Mark Johnson

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night whilst visiting family. We have lots of hotel breaks away and can honestly say this is one of the best places we have stayed in. It could certainly teach some chain hotels how to run a hotel. The restoration of the building is outstanding and as a keen gardener I found the grounds very eye-catching. The room we stayed in was beautifully presented and very clean. The Black and Green mini chocolate bars(our favourite) were a nice touch. The bathroom had a huge shower which is a good thing - hate being in cramped cubicles! We were met on arrival and the check in was swift and we were shown all the public rooms which again were all beautifully decorated. The breakfast was very good and the coffee tasted like coffee, unlike in some high end hotels who provide dishwater masquerading as coffee! It was a pity we were there only one night as we were out with family in the evening and didn't have the opportunity to use the lounge and bar. when we were checking out I asked to see some of their other rooms. This was not a problem and was shown another double room and a suite. They were gorgeous! The owners have only been open a year and we truly hope that they make a huge success of their business. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed last Saturday evening whilst visiting the new forest. I am very fussy where accommodation is concerned and I cannot fault this place. The things that matter to me are cleanliness, peace and quiet, quality and comfort - all of which are top notch here. The ambiance is fabulous with no expense spared on the renovations. Such a lovely building. Lovely comfortable high quality beds and linen, walk in showers, proper sized TV;s soundproofing throughout and beautifully cooked organic breakfast. The hosts are friendly, helpful but not intrusive.

I was sorry to leave and will definitely return. Stay here - you won't regret it.

Sue Biddle - Henley on Thames

Room Tip: My room overlooked the garden which was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a great find, this new hotel has been open for just over a year and the couple who own it have restored this beautiful building with great sensitivity and imagination combining the best of the original features with the best a modern hotel can offer. The service was attentive without being intrusive; the husband and wife team are clearly dedicated to providing a 5 star experience but with that bit extra that can’t be achieved by a larger hotel (only 7 rooms) or part of a hotel chain. This is where I will stay in future when visiting the New Forest.

Room Tip: A couple of very restaurants within walking distance The Urban Reef and the Urban Beach, the hotel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAMTadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and would definitely stay here again. Our room was very comfortable and the walk-in shower (which we had requested) was excellent. The breakfast was delicious. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the weather wasn't very good so we weren't able to walk down to the beach but it was definitely near enough.

Room Tip: It is very easy to look at the hotel's website to choose the room you like the look of. They ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonkeentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I booked this hotel as we were travelling from Belgium to Bournemouth & back 48hrs later. I particularly wanted a quieter hotel than the Premier Inn we stayed at previously & the other write ups were all rated Excellent.
I would be happy to a good/excellent if it were not for the very nosiy No 7 room we had for the first night. The road traffic continued after midnight & I was woken after 0500 & slept only fitfully afterwards; The road is very close to this room & the traffic is passing at some speed.
We were moved after we complained & were given room 5. Noise much reduced but still audible.
The renovation of this house is to be applauded & our hosts were very welcoming but I would recommend taking hearing plugs unless your heavy sleepers.

Room Tip: Avoid Room7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Bolivar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wyvern Hotel
Wyvern Hotel
#50 of 132 in Bournemouth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsley Hotel
Kingsley Hotel
#25 of 132 in Bournemouth
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Denewood Hotel
Denewood Hotel
#39 of 132 in Bournemouth
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#7 of 132 in Bournemouth
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalfield Manor is an Edwardian villa built 1909 with original Arts & Crafts features. Fully restored and renovated in 2012, Chalfield Manor offers 2 Superior Suites and 8 Luxury Double Rooms with contemporary furnishings. The public areas comprise Bar Lounge, Dining Room, Library, Bar Patio and Gardens. Free Car Parking on site and free Wi-Fi are provided for all Guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing