We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Epic weekend in the perfect house”
Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
Entrance Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Front view
Entrance
Garden
Garden access
Cinema room view
Cinema room kitchen
Games room
Sitting room
Garden access
Dinning room
Main kitchen
Second kitchen
Jacuzzi
Balcony
Access
Grill zone in garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
12 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nat H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Epic weekend in the perfect house”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in BBM from Friday to Sunday, there was a big group of 20 of us and it was everything we needed and more.

The house is big, it's querky, but good fun and had absolutely everything we needed. The rooms were great, all sizeable and clean. There was so much space, a huge dining room for us all to eat in. The projector and upstairs kitchen was incredibly handy. The bathrooms are a highlight in that they have all been recently refurbished, there are plenty of them and they are all really nice.

The main highlight for us was the housekeeper Chris. He was THE most helpful person I've ever come across when renting anywhere. He went above and beyond and we have a lot to thank him for. It's that sort of service that makes the whole difference when renting places you've never been to before.

I'd really recommend this house.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank You to give us so good review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedalEngl...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for our 1st Summer School experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So, way back in February my MD suggested a new idea of taking 18 of us ( PR Agency) down to the coast to work and play for a week!!
After scanning the internet we found Middle Chine Manor. The agents supplied me with all the details I needed, however, as this was such a big 'ask' in the way of covering all needs I arranged to pop down before making a final payment commitment. I was suitably impressed, with the size of the house, facilities, location. It was obvious the owners had invested with all new bathrooms, and yes in places the house does show signs of being 'well loved' but this did not prevent us having a blast.
The house staff, Nadia and Chris were excellent and reassured me several times by popping over to sort a few requests. I would highly recommend asking Chris to arrange some cleaning, too many loos to clean!!
My only request would be to have some smaller dinner plates, the current ones did not fit comfortably in the dishwasher.
We had fun doing yoga in the garden and beach boot camp, plus a visit to the Aqua New Forrest Water Park- 30 min drive away- awesome!!
Thanks for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom and loft space
Liked least: Garden furniture
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Thank You for Your review, We hope You will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R
Weymouth, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A brilliant venue for a double 60th birthday celebration”
Reviewed March 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent venue for a special weekend house-party of 28 family and friends. A bit worn (which did not matter in the slightest - in fact, adding to the charm as the whole place felt lived-in), but clean and tidy (apart from the muddled contents of the kitchen drawers), masses of space, enough rooms and beds for everyone. The house was not pretentious in any way and you were not on your guard the whole time to prevent people from damaging anything - I don't think we did, needless to say! An eclectic mix of bedrooms, from the sublime (largest en-suite bathroom had its own balcony and separate WC!) to the tiniest (some rooms shared a bathroom/WC) - but we had visited twice before confirming our booking and knew what we were going into. Nadia who showed us around was very helpful as was Helder who let us in on the actual arrival day. Plentiful wood supplied for the log fire in one of the two lounges, a large dining room with chandelier lights whose table did seat all of us. Two kitchens (adjoining each other) were reasonably well equipped, but one dish-washer did not work (only a minor nuisance as washing-up is a social activity after all!). We'd recommend bringing with you your favourite kitchen knives and any special utensils that you need) - plenty of plates, bowls, glasses, cutlery supplied. A huge games room (with Wii, table-tennis (keen players should bring their own bats), 1/4 sized snooker table and table football, a large garden, mainly lawn; and upstairs, an even larger cinema room with projector and drop-down screen (bring your favourite DVDs to watch). A potentially chilly house (single-glazed throughout), but the radiators and alternative heaters worked well. The location was brilliant: less than 100m from the cliff-top and a similar distance to steps down to the chine with a five-minute walk to the beach - we were here in February and had some bracing walks, but summer visitors will be truly spoilt! There's also free use of a beach hut which we did not explore.
The only thing that might disconcert some people was the informality of the booking: just two BACS transfers (50% on reservation, 50% a few weeks before staying) but no paper contract, no inventory, just a brief email to say that the moneys had been received.
We self-catered and had a thoroughly enjoyable Fri-Sun weekend - all we need now is an excuse to do it all over again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, lots of rooms, open log fire, dining table seating 28; no-fuss informal booking
Liked least: Minor niggles: one fridge lacked shelves and one (of two) dishwashers did not work
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2016
Thank You for this report, we will go through this , we wish that
You come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliko101
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a long weekend with friends and family. 24 in total.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is in a nice quiet location 5 min to the beach
The house is huge and was very well equip t for large parties, it has 3 dishwasher, wifi, washing machine, massive kitchen , complete game room ,entertainment room on the top floor and self contained , 2 different sitting room with tv on the other . Everything you need so to speak. Yes it is a bit tired and some furnitures a bit dated but thats what made it so special. Definitely the bathroom are all modern and new and the jacuzzi which the kids enjoyed so much. The kids also loved the movie room /entertainment room! Coz they could be left to themselves ..of course. We all loved it's shabbiness because it meant we could all relax (even with 7 kids !) and enjoy our fantastic holiday! We can't wait to go back. We didn't realize there was someone living on the single flat next to the house but it was then explained that it was the caretaker for the garden living on it . It would have been helpful to make us aware initially but that didn't matter in the end because we had too much fun and they were not on the way at all . Thank you to Nadia who has been very helpful as well as the caretakers.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julie5516...
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for large family holiday”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

On arrival at the house we were met and given a tour of the house, were shown the contact number should we need to report anything. The house itself is quite spectacular, plenty of bedrooms, modern bathrooms, and the dining room seated the whole of our party in one sitting. Plenty of recreation/relaxation space, abundance of kitchen equipment and two large cooking ranges. Our party only consisted of 16 ranging in age from 19 months to 55 years, the games room seemed a real hit and 3 out of our 4 evenings were spent in there.
The location of the manor house is lovely and just a short walk down to the promenade where you are met by the fantastic beach - must be superb in the summer months.
`We didn't get to use the bbq or the beach hut, but had it been summer we would definitely have used both.
After booking our stay i read reviews for this property which made me quite worried and yes some things at the manor house could do with improving/replacing, i.e. mattresses on some of the beds need replacing, cookers could do with an overhaul as we were unable to read the dials as markings had worn off, in the games room we were unable to locate the controls for the games tv, the crockery in one of the kitchen cupboards could have been a little cleaner (actually they could do with smaller plates that would actually fit into the dishwasher properly). Twice we had to call the caretaker for small problems and both times they were sorted promptly. We never experienced any problems with hot water, the house was very warm with the exception of the ground floor bedroom. As with many holiday rentals there are areas that could do with upgrading but i can honestly say that there was absolutely nothing that prevented our party from having a good time - and we do intend to rebook in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thank You for stay at Bournemouth Beach Manor,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Middle Chine Manor is not just tired....”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
23
people found this review helpful

....it's exhausted.

The photos online are quite simply not representative of reality. They genuinely must have been taken 10 years and 500 family gatherings ago, when ivy adorned the brick-work and the 'games room' was actually a games room, not a burial ground for broken 1990s sports equipment.

The place is absolutely vast. I am fortunate enough to come from an immeasurably fertile family where the 17 of us were very easily accommodated. This place in no way lacks space, inside or outside; There are a huge numbers of bedrooms, two (or maybe even 3?) kitchens, an assortment of reception rooms, a giant garden and enough baths and showers to clean even the dirtiest of residents.

Talking of dirty, the place is in desperate need of a proper clean. The semi-deflated 'Happy 80th birthday Grandad!' helium balloon in the corner of the living room was a reminder of two painful truths; 1. That my respective grandfathers haven't been lucky enough to celebrate a birthday in quite some time and 2. That this place is simply not cleaned properly. There was enough food between the sofa cushions and under every inanimate object to feed half of our party for the entire stay.

Fancy playing pool? You can't – there are two sets of pool balls stuck inside the broken table (only reachable by an adult arm), neither of which have a cue ball. Fancy getting some fresh air in your bedroom on a hot summers day? You can't – the windows barely open. Fancy heading off to the beach to go in the house's own hut? That you can do – as long as you're prepared to clean up after whoever was there previously – people who appear to have a penchant for oreos, and a mild disinterest in disposing of their dirty tissues.

Don't get me wrong, we had a great time. If I was rating my family holiday, I'd give it 5 stars, but that really isn't the point. The house itself isn't worth the (very significant amount of) money they're asking for it. The booking agent acted in a very decent way after we complained, and gave us 25% of our money back.

Middle Chine Manor needs to get some sleep. It's owner needs to spend some money. And the cleaner needs to get some training.

Consider yourself warned....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size
Liked least: Cleanliness and quality of facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStamfo...
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Slightly run down large house - but fun”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This is a nice location near the beach and the town. Has its own beach hut. It is very spacious, multiple kitchens lots of kitchen equipment, nice garden barbecue area, lots of bedrooms. Sadly just a bit run down - don't expect smart. We had fun with friends and their family but don't expect luxury or sophistication. The house is a bit sad needs a lot spending on it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing