We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's alright, stayed in worse”
Review of Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manchester Hotel
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed August 23, 2009

After reading the reviews on here I was expecting a 2 star in Beirut. What's the matter with people? Yes it is dated and very basic, but I found it clean, the staff friendly, a 24 hour bar and excellent location. I would have to agree that I would not have stayed here if it had not been for the type of trip I was on, but take nothing away from the place, it will not kill you. The breakfast was well cooked, quick and sufficient. If I had assumed I was staying at the Ritz then I would have the king of all humps about the place, but all considering I though it would be a darn sight worse. Shame the pool was empty, all in all excellent 16 year old amenities on top of every thing else.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lokerlokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

What a dump of a place. Without exception this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, if you haven’t had a recent tetanus shot you might consider somewhere else. Most of the fittings in the room are broken and the hotel is over run with stag and hen parties at the weekend. The breakfast served in the hotel is inedible and is very clearly made from the very cheapest ingredients.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pz901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Very, very poor hotel indeed, even for a stag do. Bathrooms were hideous, so were the other guests, ridiculous times for food and for room cleaning.

I would only recommend this hotel to someone who is a big fan of the League of Gentlemen so he can live the dream for a night.

I definitely will never go back here, and I'm lost for words that this hotel is 43 out of 71, as it is surely not possible to have that many hotels which are worse than this one!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is a budget hotel, I would not stay here again. I thought it was expensive for what we paid. Very tired looking. Very basic looking rooms. The hotel was full of spanish students.
The pool outfront did not have any water in it. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shir4z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

This is my 3rd time at the Manchester Hotel and I must say it gets better everytime!
The staff are very efficient and friendly and the whole place is kept under control.
The food is very decent, nice selection at breakfast and dinner.
The location is superb! The beach is down the road as is the main town centre for shopping, bars and clubs.
The rooms are kept nice and clean at all times, the beds are comfortable and there is always hot water (we had a perfectly good working shower).
You cannot fault this hotel if you are looking for excellent value for money and location.

Many thanks to all the staff and management.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissOptom1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

A very poor and average hotel. Its like a rabbit warren, the lift was broken, the rooms are dirty and the bathrooms are very bad. Its a very noisy hotel.
The staff is nice and the food is good. But never again.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornelisVenlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Stayed here as part of a large group for a hen weekend away in May and the hotel was awful. Our room was shabby and smelled of damp (or worse) there was no shower in the bathroom and the bath was dirty. The staff were not friendly or helpful and you should be prepared to leave your room keys behind as you aren't allowed to take them out of the hotel. There is no system for checking ID on giving the keys back either, so if you have anything valuable DO NOT leave it there. We were also warned by the staff to lock our doors fully at night as often people who cannot find their room (and there are lots of them) just bunk down in the nearest one, The breakfast was just as bad, and seemed to be reheated (on the plate) to order rather than cooked to order, and even then came out luke warm. Ours was booked as part of a weekend package through an agent for hen parties and so we were massively ripped off. My advice, go somewhere else....there are hotels closer to the town for not much more money and it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brizzymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 66 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#34 of 66 in Bournemouth
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Hotel

Address: 56 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $69 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manchester Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing