We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby and very, very tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manchester Hotel
Ranked #66 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Shabby and very, very tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

I stayed here as part of a stag weekend away and to be totally honest, the company organising this trip made an absolute killing out of us when you take into account the accommodation costs they factored in.

In terms of location, it's hardly what you'd call 'central' if you're looking to visit the town centre or beach; you're looking at a good 20 minute walk. The hotel is tired, shabby and in need of serious modernisation - but if you're looking to spend some time in Bournemouth and you're on a budget then it might do the job for you - assuming you don't want to spend too much time in your hotel.

After checking in, finding our room was an experience in itself. Up to the top floor in the smallest, most out of date lift was quite fun. It was the kind of box elevator you'd expect restaurants to use if they wanted to move food from one floor to another! Once into the hotel corridors it's a real adventure...... the hotel layout is bizarre to say the least, with corridors leading down dead ends, doors which lead nowhere and room numbering which doesn't make sense. But in the end we found our room, somehow.

We had a triple room on the top floor which was spacious enough. The room had one double bed and two singles - none of which were very comfortable and the bed linen was clean but had definitely seen better days. The bathroom was beyond shabby - a bath with shower head attachment (so no shower) basin and a toilet which had a broken seat.

General decor in the public areas of the hotel screams out 1970s and could well do with a makeover. Can't comment on the standard of the hotel's restaurant because given the general state of the place we decided to give it a miss.

Outside there are plenty of parking spaces which is one good point to consider, if arriving by car. The hotel website shows a swimming pool and while it does have a pool, it probably hasn't been used for 10 years. It's a big fish shaped hole in the floor which is now caked with dirt, so don't take your swimwear unless you're heading to the beach.

Overall it's a large, out of date, shabby hotel which probably had its best days back in the 1970s. I certainly wouldn't stay here again and would only recommend it if you are short of cash - even then I don't think it's currently worth more than £15 per person per night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    23
    17
    50
See reviews for
15
21
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
holland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

Me and my family booked a complete trip tot Bournemouth from the Netherlands, so we did not get to choose our hotel.
We had a triple room, which, for us, was spacious enough. You can see the hotel has seen better days, everything is dated. The beds were a bit uncomforatble, due to old matrasses.

The food :we had breakfast and dinner there. Breakfast was nice, there were alot of cerials, and you can order toast, eggs, etc.
Dinner was average, we could always tell what kind of soup would be on the menu the next day, looking at the vergetables from the last dinner...

Entertainment:
We had lots of fun with the entertainment! If you are under 40 (like me and my sister) you should take into account that during the week, you will learn all about Neill Diamond, Elvis Presley and other 60's and 70's singers.

The staff was really friendly, they always want tot help you in any way they can. The friendliness made up foor the poor state of the room.

During the weekend alot of stag and hen parties check into the hotel, so prepare for noise.

  • Liked — the friendly staff and the entertainment.
  • Disliked — The poor state of the hotel and rooms.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

this is a truly awful stag do hotel, do not accept it if your agent books you in here unless you like hookers in the bar, bad tempered staff, dirty rooms with faecal matter in the toilet when you arrive and tesco valkue sausages for brekkie.

I would rather sleep on a park bench than go there again

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the filth
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thestonefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

A very average hotel that is large and like a rabbit warren and had a broken lift.

The rooms are not particularly well decorated, I had a single room and the ensuite was really small with a ceiling tile hanging off above the shower the ceiling tiles in the bedroom showed evidence of water damage. I have added pictures to give an idea of the hotel bedroom

On the plus size the bedroom was clean and a decent size. I would recommend getting a room at the back as friends who were staying the rooms overlooking the front of the hotel got very little sleep due to people screaming in the street and cars racing.

Breakfast was fine but looked like they did not spend much on sourcing the sausages and the coffee was terrible!

It is fine if you are looking for a budget hotel as it is clean or are a large group like a stag or hen party. I would rather stay at a premier lodge for the same price

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank 01Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

Have stayed at the Manchester hotel with my family several times over the past 5 years and have always had a fantastic stay. Have already booked again for next year!
- Perfect location: 5 minutes walk from the beach, 5 minutes walk from town and 5 minutes walk from all the main bars and clubs.
- Service and food: All the staff are very friendly and always happy to help. The food is excellent with plenty of choice and even a special menu for children. During our last stay, one night, my sister (who is a very picky eater!) didn't like anything on the menu and the chef was happy to cook her anything she wanted. Service is very efficient and cannot be faulted. Staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
- Rooms: Being a regular customer at the Manchester, we have stayed in numerous rooms which have all been very clean, spacious and comfortable.
- Entertainment: The hotel entertainment is great, especially if you like dancing as there are lots of singers and a big dance floor. Some nights there is karaoke, there is also a pool table and a very comfortable lounge area with a huge, plasma screen tv.

The hotel welcomes children so is ideal for families as well as younger people who just want to go out and have a good time. If you are planning on booking a stay there you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and great food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

I took my 6 year old son to stay at this hotel last weekend as a nice long weekend by the sea, as I'd stayed there a few years ago and had been recommended it, by someone else who had stayed there (also more than 5 years ago). This hotel has obviously changed management in the last few years, it seemed to be managed and inhabited by foreign students and was in need of considerable updating. The lobby and stairs smelled of gravy. Having read reports on Trip Advisor (after having booked it, unfortunately) we avoided the lift like the plague, and did not venture into the lounge to view the famous 'plasma tv'. Our room was ok but with paint peeling off and two very old and squeaky beds. The little UHT milk portions by the kettle were past their 'use by date'. The bathroom was fine, plenty of hot water, and nice deep bath. Just don't expect any luxury. There are a number of very nice looking 3 star hotels in the same road so next time I'll be going there instead, for an extra £10 a night. The Manchester Hotel has most definitely seen better days!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

Stayed at the Manchester with a group of 70 or so other generally middle aged travellers from our local club.

Initial reaction was of the cleanliness everywhere,- it appears to have just been decorated throughout -, and the exuberant welcome from management and staff.

It is a mish mash of corridors leading to some initial excitement in actually finding our room but the room itself was large, well furnished - one double and three single beds for the two of us! - with en suite shower room. The shower itself was a little small, but otherwise everything was excellent with daily cleaning and replacement towels as necessary.

We had breakfast and evening meal and neither could be faulted. Breakfast was cereal followed by traditional english - as many and whatever 'components' you wanted- or lovely kippers and the evening meal was of good variety with soup, fish or traditional roasts. All were served piping hot on hot plates by waiting staff of the highest quality - quick, efficient and extremely friendly.

The evening entertainment was run of the mill one man band singers adapting to the musical needs of the audience and the bar service was again good and reasonably priced.

With its location being some five minutes from the beach and about ten minutes walk to the town centre we could not fault the hotel especially given the very reasonable price we paid, although this may have been lower than normal due to the group booking.

Well done all at the Manchester.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Squeezing into the shower
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GeoffF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#10 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mayfair Hotel
The Mayfair Hotel
#43 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Hotel

Property: Manchester Hotel
Address: 56 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manchester Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing