We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay... annoying constant beeping noise from reception”
Review of Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manchester Hotel
Ranked #65 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average stay... annoying constant beeping noise from reception”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After staying at the hotel as part of a hen weekend i can say the experience was average. The rooms are in need of a good refurbishment but the cleanliness was ok. When sat in the lounge / bar area checking my emails a constant beeping could be heard from behind the reception desk from what looked like a fire panel. I could see yellow lights lit up on it when checking in which concerned me as it seemed to have issues with it that staff ignored. On our departure i could still hear the beep which was still being ignored by staff. I have since spoke to a friend who also stayed at the same hotel as part of a group more recently and they also experienced this very annoying continuous beep. Apart from this the stay was what we expected and required, i hope if we return to bournemouth the hotel is still standing and not burnt down due to a faulty fire alarm ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    23
    17
    50
See reviews for
16
21
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is located in a pretty quite place with easy access. Room was okay, well equipped, not very large but not smaller than what we expected. The staff was very welcoming and really friendly and none of our request was a trouble for them. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had an ok stay at the Manchester hotel we found the staff friendly and helpful the rooms were in desperate need of modernising but the cleanliness was acceptable. When sat around the public lounge and bar area checking emails etc a loud beeping could be heard which turned out to be very annoying and quite worrying that for some reason staff ignored it. For the whole length of our stay the noise was heard and after speaking to friends who have recently stayed there they also witnessed this.A good budget hotel with easy access into town apart from the very annoying beeping a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hotel is quite well located however the service and rooms were not very good by anyone standards on the ground floor. The reception fire alarm panel was beeping with high pitched tone and this was every 20 seconds I could not figure what the annoying noise was. We asked and were told this had been going on a while the keys were in the panel I dont know if it was working or not. We asked to be moved to another room which was noisy and the double bed did have a double fitted sheet which was so tight it didnt fit it was like sleeping on an elastic band.. The breakfast was awful the dining room smelled of damp. The whole experience was a nightmare

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesbruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHOTELBMTH, Owner at Manchester Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

The beeping was due to some guests (Rm14/Rm22) having removed smoke detectors, which the panel identified. We are a non-smoking hotel and some guests try to smoke by covering smoke detectors or removing them. The problem is always caused by the guests in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked in to the hotel last minute. Nice friendly staff always ready to help. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. There were stag parties there but they were no problem. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHOTELBMTH, Manager at Manchester Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is in a good place at the top of the long hill next to the beach. Really good location which made the trip so very easy. Everything was in walking distance. The hotel was good, the staff were happy, dedicated and always ready to help with any queries. We can't thank you enough for your tremendous welcome and excellent service!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

firstly, stag/hens be prepared to pay a £300 deposit!!

ROOM
we had a party of 16 ladies staying in the hotel. we had 4 rooms of 3 and two of 2. the room I stayed in was very big had a double and two single beds. my bed was horrendous, the springs had gone completely and when i laid on it it fell to the side, very uncomfortable. the other two beds where fine. there was enough plugs and a full length mirror. the bathroom was big however the shower was a dribble and was not enough to wash in at all!!. the room had tea in and an old style TV but the remote is an extra ten pound deposit.

LOCATION
The hotel is in a good place at the top of the long hill next to the beach. close the windows at night though the street noise from people coming home to surrounding hotels is loud!!

REST OF HOTEL
this hotel is deffo a party hotel and i would not have stayed there otherwise but for what we wanted it was ok, i wouldnt stay there again. The whole of the hotel was like a maze so hard to find the way around, we would go up one flight and come down another!! the lift was broken and enough room for two people squished together it opened once at a brick wall and once at a wooden door before returning to the ground :/. it is a very old hotel a little updating would go a long long way and make this hotel good.

BREAKFAST
it said buffet breakfast on our itinerary but it was not buffet it was one plate with one egg one sausage one slice of bacon and one french toast. the juice was unlimited as was cereal. the food was however ok.

PARKING
based on first come first serve and cars are crammed and parked behind each other, however we where able to find spaces at all times.

DURING THE STAY
there was a stag do whilst we where there and other hen dos but it seemed mainly these types of groups. Whilst we were there someone did a pooh on the stairs.. it was tidied quickly but it was not nice!!

STAFF
apart from one rude women the men were polite and helpful at all times.

this hotel could be good with a re-vamp!! i also heard that some people paid 80 a night -NOOOO WAY!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebbecca_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHOTELBMTH, Owner at Manchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
This guest appears to be a reporter and detailed surveyor. This is an old building and one cannot make it look like a newly built Premier Inn.
We do table service for breakfast, I think the writer is confused about the buffet because she has been writing reviews for so many hotels.
Parking is Free, if there is not enough parking customers should park in the street or a pay and display car park, we charge for bed and breakfast and parking is not included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#48 of 66 in Bournemouth
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Hotel

Property: Manchester Hotel
Address: 56 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manchester Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing