We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice break”
Review of Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manchester Hotel
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Manchester Hotel, for 3 nights.
The staff is excelent and very friendly. A family athmosphere.
good breakfast, lovely dinners follow with entertainment
The bar has very reasonable prices
The room was big and clean. The shower was nice and hot

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 591carmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is big, old and dated. Creaky uneven floorboards lie beneath the even more dated carpet. The rooms are basic but generally a good size. The beds are comfy, the showers are hot. The staff and inviting, friendly and amenable and there are tea and coffee making facilities.

I didn't, but a number of my party stayed in the bar after a night out until nearly 0530, the staff waited on them hand and foot, even whilst they had many more body parts on show than were strictly necessary for that time in the morning (some may argue otherwise!!).

Although the finer points of the hotel (behind the beds, mainly) could have done with a bit more of a thorough clean, this hotel is perfect for anyone who is just looking for somewhere to get a few hours kip after many more hours partying.

I don't need to mention that this isn't a "romantic getaway" location, it's been said many times before (...oh, I just did...), but then again I'm not in a position to say that what isn't romantic to one, isn't romantic to another, so I'll let you be your own judge.

One last point, make sure who ever is the head of the party has got their pocket's lined, if for only one night only, they will take a returnable deposit for the room as well as the fee - we had about 8 rooms altogether and the deposit was £300, so just make sure you have enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono88C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Me and 7 girls stayed here as part of a package deal for my hen night on the 11th.
First impressions were that the hotel is dated but we weren't there for decor!
Upon arrival to our rooms we were given 3 rooms in our own section of the hotel. They were much better than I thought they were Going to be.....a couple of broken plug sockets and no lock on the toilet door but hey Ho.
The staff made this place, all very accomodating, very cheap drinks and they kept the bar open for aslong as we wanted.
If your on a hen or stag do then its perfect to get your head down. But don't go booking your honeymoon here!
Were planning on coming back next year for a birthday!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Manchester for a stag night in May 2013. First impressions the place is very dated but also clean and the staff are friendly. The breakfast isn't bad and service is prompt. The bar is cheap, although there was no draft beer only cans, at least you know what you're getting in a can.
The bar stays open until about 5am but you can still get beer from the reception after this.
If you are looking for a romantic weekend with the wife, go somewhere else.
If you are looking for somewhere to get your head down and get a shower, then the Manchester does this quite well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oranguman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews below, our hen group were slightly worried about staying here... There was no need.
Very basic and in need of serious TLC but why bother when you cater for drunken Hen and Stag parties..
The staff were great and the kept the bar open for as long as we were happy to stay there drinking (about 4am both nights)
Breakfast was average but very quick service.
Would not recommend for a luxurious or romantic break but absoloutely fine for bigger parties.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our group stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. The hotel is old hotel, its huge and the rooms are just basic but clean. The hotel also have a bar and the drink prices are cheap!! The staff are polite and very helpful. The breakfast is just right when you have hangover. If you are looking for cheap and comfortable hotel i will recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Czarmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here as part of a package hen weekend in March 2013. After reading the reviews i was worried about what this hotel would be like as the bride to be can be rather high maintenance! However on arrival the receptionist, although quiet was nice.
The hotel was dated so the £200 deposit was quite steep but if you don't break anything you have nothing to worry about. (We took photos for our reference just in case but they were not needed)
I stayed with two others and our room was very spacious and cleaned everyday. Our room, probably because of the size was cold but when we asked for spare blankets they gave us two fan heaters (free of charge) and three extra blankets.
The breakfast was nice with a good range and the morning staff were lovely.
For the location and the price and for those who don't mind a dated look or a bit of wear and tare to rooms then i would recommend this hotel. If youre looking for a luxery break then i would not but then again what do you expect for the price?
All round a good hotel with friendly staff and I would stay again for a boozy weekend!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 66 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ullswater Hotel
Ullswater Hotel
#46 of 66 in Bournemouth
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#40 of 66 in Bournemouth
891 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Hotel

Address: 56 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $67 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manchester Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing